We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Clemente, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean and close to town”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is clean, beautiful, and a close walk to town. I have been to Puerto Vallarta 6 times. 3 of which at this hotel. They provided my family with two joining rooms as well as many options for things to do. The staff got to know us personally. I need to be close to a city and attractions and this hotel fit the bill. The only negative for this hotel is the push for timeshares. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StacyR815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    1,084
    438
    174
    148
See reviews for
1,072
1,181
125
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here from March 30 to April 6, 2013. Vacation with my wonderful spouse. All inclusive but we dined downtown on several occasions, just for fun.
Service was 5 star, food 4 star but every effort made to be creative with what was presented. Entertainment was as expected. Breakfast was my fave, with so much fresh fruit and individually made omelettes that were perfect.
Downtown was exciting, great restaurants, awesome service, interesting people to watch, but watch for pickpockets, and be very curt with the damn time share sellers. Heck, even the PV 'visitors' ambassadors (these folks were stationed at Mega which is sort of a WalMart clone) are pushing timeshares.
ADVICE: Take the evening sail, visit the marina, visit the main church downtown, wander any and all downtown streets, shop, bargain, enjoy tequila, watch the numerous street performers...all of which are a blast. Roam at night to various pubs and bars. (Cab back though as evening driving seems worse! Cabs are cheap!) Always be careful of traffic...unreal driving making it necessary for pedestrians to be overly cautious. And sorry to say but check for bed bugs at the Sheraton. I have numerous physician certified bites. Yes it can happen anywhere, but that does not make it any less gross.
If you are wondering, yes, we would go back to Puerto Vallarta in a heartbeat. But likely to stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view. (Check for bed bugs though.) Pick a higher floor so you can hear the ocean i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC800CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest from Edmonton:

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

In the meantime, please allow me to address a couple of your concerns. Please know that we have rigorous hygienic controls performed in all our guest rooms and public areas, to guarantee the best confort to our guests. I would like to add that all visitors to tropical environmental destinations, such as Vallarta, often explore and visit sightseeing attractions to be in contact with nature and are exposed to insects, unfortunately, not always are protected against mosquitos or other insect bites, I do apologize for your experience.

I will certainly review the overall performance of this service to ensure we are able to provide the best service possible to our guests.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We caught a good price ($89) and decided to return for three nights after having stayed at this Sheraton 20 years ago. We remembered back then they were renovating and many things were new. I don’t think they have updated anything since then. Nothing was really bad but there was not one single thing that was above average. The hotel is badly dated and you can see it everywhere. My guess is that money is being spent on the timeshare section next door and a lot of the good reviews are people who are staying in those buildings. As everywhere in Mexico, you won’t get ten feet from check-in before the Sheraton timeshare hawks are swooping in and they will circle you the whole time you are there.

There is only one floor with verandahs, which we booked, and the railing on the water view side was a solid wall so when sitting inside or outside you cannot see the beach. All of the other floors have no balcony rooms at all.

Housekeeping was average (there is only so much cleaning you can do). Breakfast buffet had a large variety and was OK. Dinner was lousy. The wine pour was maybe 5 oz. The pool chairs were old, cheap and uncomfortable. With all of the hotels in Puerto Vallarta we can not find one good reason to return there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheraton in PV from March 20-27. We have stayed here many times in a relative's timeshare, but never as a hotel guest. We had a junior suite and absolutely loved it. With the private veranda and shuttered windows that looked out onto the veranda, it felt like a private cottage rather than a hotel room. Incredibly private, beautiful views - could not have been happier and absolutely plan on doing it again next year. Don't believe some of the poor reviews or stories of constant hassles from timeshare sellers. Just firmly tell them no the first time and you are done. The hotel is older but still spotlessly clean and gorgeous grounds. Awesome pools and great drink and food service while by the pools too. We like it here because it is not a party atmosphere, but instead attracts a wide variety of ages and types. Very comfortable. Best of ALL, the location is the best in PV. You can walk everywhere you need to get to, including the romantic zone and the Malecon. Or the taxi rides are cheap from the hotel. We never stay further out than this. PV is all about the friendly people, safe surroundings, diversity, food, variety and culture. Staying trapped at a resort farther out and doing all inclusive is such a waste - and such a trashy American way to vacation. Not for us. If you want luxury while close to the culture and fun, no place better than here. I guarantee. We keep coming back. Thank you Sheraton Buganvilias staff, for always treating us so well.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank minnehaha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was surprised to have such an unwelcoming experience at this hotel. The staff at this resort desperately needs training on improving their social skills. We were checked in by a woman with a frown on her face. She looked angry for the entire check in process. But the staff working in the restaurants had the worst attitudes, especially to English speaking guests. Once seated at a table, they seemed to forget about you. The food seemed to be thrown together on the plate and you had to always flag the waiter down to request more coffee, water, or a utensil. On my last day I had the most unpleasant experience when I heard the waiter refer to me in a disrespectful manner. I had to call the manager to my table and tell him how unprofessional his staff was. This experience completely diminished a vacation that I was looking forward to for months! I do not recommend that you choose this hotel for an experience that you want to be able to remember with a smile and with pleasure!

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms have a nice view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seashell640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear visitor from Chicago:

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. The restaurant service attitude and troubles you encountered during your stay are not typical of the service we offer, and I regret that you were unable to address these concerns prior to your departure.

We will review our current costumer service approach procedures and check in training practices to convene with our guest expectations. Appropriate action will be taken to correct our miscalculation and prevent recurrence to any of our respected guests.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been coming to PV for the last 15 years.I own a timeshare at the Sheraton Buganvilias.I enjoy the two pools.The food is good,and the service is great.Hostess,Maria Urteaga,always greets me with a smile,and helps me with my limited Spanish.Thanks Maria!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceman0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for a week vacation, from Saturday to Saturday. Beautiful ocean front suite, with updated appliances, comfortable beds and very clean. You can see the cleaning staff at all times.
Everyone is really friendly and helpful. The vacation club people helped us organize all of our tours and gave us great discounts on everything. I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davido307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,616 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing