We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First trip to Puerto Vallarta although we have travelled to many locations in Mexico. This is one of the few locations in Mexico where we were encouraged to walk into town and to take the local buses.
The resort was super clean, very well maintained and the service was excellent. Tips never seemed to be expected but there was a lot of appreciation when given.
We were there on all-inclusive; there were probably more guests staying in time shares and we met many of them. Made lots of new friends. My 18 year old son met people of all ages with whom he got along including a number of university students all of whom were on Reading week like he was. I would venture to guess that unless it is a school holiday or summer break, he would not have met others his age as the hotel seems to have an older clientele due to the timeshares.
We did not go on any excursions this trip. Luckily for us, we saw whales right off shore on a number of days.
Our room had a gorgeous ocean-view, the nicest view we have ever had. The room was large and the beds very comfortable. There were never long waits for the elevator (believe me, that is an issue in some of the larger hotels).
Requests to attend time share presentations started right at the airport but as my 18 year old said, don't make eye contact and they leave you alone. Too funny!
Food was excellent too. Sunday brunch was amazing, mariachi bands and all. They do have 2 restaurants in addition to the buffet plus they held a Mexican night out on the patio. Only complaint was that they did not serve mojitos (my favourite). We were told there was no mint.
The gym was very well equipped and the fitness activities were very good. They even offered yoga.
A final bonus: you never had to scramble for lounge chairs. They were plentiful and always available both in shade and sun anytime you wanted to lay out.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it. Even my 18 year old marvelled at the view every morning.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,706)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 3,706 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Truly a fine property. We've visited a number of properties over the years and this one is near the top of our list. Really, from the airport and customs to the inexpensive taxi rides to and from town. The whole hotel check-in experience was stress free. We were seeking relaxation and warmth in a pleasant environment. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and that anything we might need during our stay would be available at a moments notice. The view from our club level room was over whelming as we were able to see Gray whales in Banderas Bay on several mornings, as well as taking daily pictures of the sunsets that were just as inspiring as those we've viewed in Hawaii. If you are looking for long and wide expansive beaches this probably isn't the place for you but the beach is more a walking and shell or sea glass hunting than sunbathing. The whimsical sculptures lining the malecon were a charming contrast to the classic board walk we imagined from the brochures. Overall a wonderful experience.*****

Room Tip: Any thing that faces west. The view of the resort is just below you and the view of the bay just be...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice, clean, reasonable price and walking distance to the Malecon. But, every room faces the ocean and has full glass exposure so the contant, loud nightly music outside lasting until wee hours of the morning make sleeping soundly a problem. Would not go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz_friendtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear guest from Oklahoma:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you.

I deeply regret your dissatisfaction due to the pool noise at night, we appreciate your insight and you can rest assured, I have forwarded your comments to the the person in charge of controlling the music during events to prevent disturbance at night.

We appreciate your sharing your comments with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Everyone was very nice. The concierge was very helpful. We did not go the "all-inclusive" route, and were surprised that we were charged for the bottled water left in our room everyday. There was no indication that we would be charged for the water...we thought it came with the price of the room. Guess we will ask next time! Beautiful hotel, good location, decent price!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

First trip to Puerto Vallarta. We loved it. The area is a good blend of Mexican culture and beach/resort community. I'm not a major beach person so I appreciated the local culture which did not appear as impoverished as some locations we've visited. The weather was magnificent and we felt relaxed and yet exhilarated in this community. The Sheraton location was excellent for us as we tried to station ourselves between the old town and the beach activity. We were able to walk to town which was nice. A location closer to town may be better but the hotels are not as well known so were more difficult to select via internet. Lots of restaurants, shopping and activity nearer to town. The Sheraton facility and rooms were outstanding....comfortable, good size, immaculate,beautiful view of the ocean. The regulars, basically the time share holders, said they loved the Sheraton. The only downside was that inside the hotel we were inundated with requests to attend time share presentations. We were approached at least 20 times inside the hotel and another 30 when we were out and about. I would go back to the Sheraton though because the hotel was that good!

Room Tip: Request ocean side and balcony
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good food, good people, perfect weather, great company, great tequila,great first time,but definitely not my last!! pipi's was fantastic!!!!!! The party from Canada was having a great time,the lady's birthday. I just had to go back a second time the food was so good,but most important the whole place was having a great time!!! It felt like home, but in a blurry way. HA! Every day the temperature was about 80-85 degrees the pools were perfect! This ole white boy got a great tan! Long time since that happened. Old town was my favorite place to spend time other than the pool! Please TIP when and if you can a lot of creative people. A PROUD and sobering AMERICAN!!!!! HA! but I'm thankful to MEXICO for such a great people. GRACIAS

Room Tip: just have fun!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

everyone at Buganvillias sharaton was awesome. and the bar tender Rafeal was the best .the service was great, the beer was always cold and service was perfect.everytime i wanted a beer they were always ready with a fresh one. they were making the best rum punch, they were hard to refuse. .............the whole ordeal of the resort ,.the games the events were awsome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,677 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,877 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $111 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport, our resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico offers many opportnities to appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon or enjoy easy travel on a business or leisure trip. Stay with us and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church. Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing