We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
MARTENSVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

For ease of reading, I will try to put this in point form.
First, the pros:
-Location is incredible, walking distance to downtown, great views of all of Banderas Bay from your room.
-Hotel is extremely clean and well cared for, housekeeping does an amazing job.
-Beautiful pool area and grounds, well maintained and clean.
-Food choice and quality is outstanding, service in buffet restaurant is great.
-Lulu (concierge) and Paula (Air Transat rep) were great, gave us lots of tips about taxis, buses, tours etc..thanks ladies!
-Hotel manager was very accomodating; gave us a great deal on our last day there when our plane didn't leave until 2am the next morning. This was not part of our vacation package so we would have had to pay full price for another day..thanks Paula for setting it up.

Now for the cons:
- When your flight leaves at 2 AM and checkout is at 11 AM, maybe the hotel and transat could get together and include that last 12 hrs in your package as a way of saying "thanks for staying with us..here is a courtesy to you." Just a thought.
-THE TIME SHARE WRANGLERS NEED TO STOP!! We arrived at 3am; when we stepped off the elevator at 10am for breakfast we were stopped by what we thought was the concierge desk. Next thing we knew, we were roped into a timeshare presentation (sorry Paula, this is why we missed our orientation). What was supposed to be 90 minutes max turned into 5 HOURS..they wouldnt take no for an answer. Maybe ask yourself if you feel like wasting half a day of your holiday for a presentation your probably not going to buy.
-Some of the staff were not friendly and did not seem like they liked their jobs. Some were rude and not accomodating. Pool bar staff..
-Wifi was terrible although they have been working to fix this, you had to basically hang out of your window to get a signal. (not terribly important since you are on holidays right?)
-We bought an all inclusive package that included Club Level services, but not all the services we paid for were included.
IE: Butler service was included in package..did not exist any longer. (not like we needed one but we paid for it..Transat should take it out of their package details.)
ALL inclusive should mean just that. Not to be told certain drinks are not included in a very expensive ALL inclusive package.
We were led to believe we were getting an upgraded room on the club Level. (floor 23). We did get a room on floor 23, but it was not upgraded. When we asked we were told those rooms were on floor 21. What is the point of paying for club level? Be aware when you look at rooms online they do show the upgraded rooms, doesn't mean you will get that room. That being said our room was clean and sufficient.
Bar fridge was paid for to be used and restocked daily. The attendant would come in, look in the fridge...leave it open like he was coming back with drinks...and never returned..MORE THAN ONCE..???

Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful hotel with overall great people and great service. Some of these issues are daily pains of running a big resort and you can't please all the people all the time. I am not trying to pick the place apart, but the only frustrating thing is when you pay ALOT of money to vacation, you hope you are going to get what you are paying for.

Room Tip: Top floor boasts great views and further away from noisy bar area. Ask for a master suite if availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WARREN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guests from Martensville:

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

I appreciate the credit you have granted for our service and facilities pros and, specially, for the recognition you give to our concierge Lulu, she will be proud to hear your compliments. I'll certainly review the overall performance of the service provided by the lobby sales staff to ensure we are able to provide the best service possible moving forward.

We deeply regret your dissatisfaction with some of our services that you encountered, I appreciate the comments that you have shared and we certainly look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,734
    1,122
    450
    180
    155
See reviews for
1,132
1,228
127
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed one week at the hotel, other than the wifi. The hotel was great, staff were great especially Lulu who was very kind and patient, gave us a whole lot of tips. PV is very safe and would return.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view - very nice, wanted to upgrade to a balcony, if we did it would not come with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa60119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

if you are a family, this is a decent, typical sheraton. i was on a very high club floor and the room had a beautiful view of the ocean.

the club lounge is a stingy, lame, embarassment to the sheraton brand. their offerings are very poor. not enough food, the food they do have is cheap and unappetizing.

the hotel clearly has an employee fraud problem. for example, posters are placed throughout the property explaining that no cash is accepted, anywhere on the premises. of course, while eating at the pool restaurant, our waiter offered to give us a discount if we paid in cash instead of a credit card. obviously, the waiter is pocketing the cash. (typical of american-heavy tourist towns in mexico, really. just about everybody down there sees american green in their eyes and they are motivated to profit somehow from it.)

pool restaurant food was pretty decent, unremarkable.

the pool area is nice but it's a typical "family" pool, full of shrieking kids. fun for your wife and kids, not so much fun for the single traveler who has to listen to them all, instead of having some peace and quiet.

the RATE is what really stood out here. if you book directly on the MEXICAN site, and not the US Starwood site, you will find a significantly cheaper set of rates, that suddenly make this "okay" property actually quite attractive.

another benefit to this property is its location - it is further south than most of the big chain hotels, so if you want to go into town a lot, instead of hibernating at the hotel, it's convenient for that. the Westin PV is a much, much nicer property, but it's further north, toward the airport, and coming to/from the Westin takes much longer in a cab.

the WIFI is TERRIBLE. there are very few places where you get a good signal. you absolutely CANNOT get work done, while staying at this property. at best, the wifi is good enough for some very basic, very very slow, social/news surfing. if you have an actual need for legitimate internet access, do NOT stay here, although you should also know about PV, that internet access seems to suck all over town.

also the hotel security is pretty aggressive, they do not let people in and out of the lot very easily, so be warned, if you plan on inviting visitors over, etc.

they also try to make you wear a tacky white wristband while you are staying there. i refused, and carried the wristband with me, instead.

Room Tip: higher floors mean a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovestayinginhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest from California:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about your insatisfaction with the club lounge available service and for the your comment about the situation encountered with the pool staff – we would like to be able to correct this immediately. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel's email so I can investigate this further, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

we have been coming here for over 8 years spending as much as 8 weeks a year . we are treated like family from the moment we arrive till our departure date. every staff member goes out of his or her way to make you feel like you are the most special guest in the hotel.the front desk manager staff and concierge are wonderful. we stay on the club level and the breakfasts and cocktail hours are first rate. the rooms are large bright and well maintained. the butlers go out of their way to give wonderful service. housekeeping makes everything clean and bright. the pool area is beautiful and there are enough chairs to keep people from fighting over space as often happens at hotels of this type. all in all we love the sheraton and hope we will be able to stay there for many years to come on our trips to puerto vallarta.

Room Tip: one should stay on the club level and opt for the junior suite with a lovely lovely large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton Buganvilias several times and each year is better than the last. Great location, great service at the pool. We do not eat at the hotel - always go downtown or up in the mountains. The beach is rocky so if you love a soft sandy beach this isn't the place for you. We actually love the pool and the view of the beach from the pool which is great. We will be back in the fall!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been going here almost 20 years and really enjoy the experience. They have a very good staff and maintenance is also good. Also the security is very good! Generally Puerto Vallarta is very safe. We saw many police and para military groups all thru the town. They have completely redone the Malacon area and increased the sidewalk area by closing part of the street. Well done!!

The WiFi is weak but they are rewiring for improved connectivity. There are IT people available 24/7 to help you get hooked up. I noticed a marked improvement this year but you have to stay near the windows to stay hooked up. That should improve with time.

Food comments:
We ate at the gourmet restarant twice this time and had good food/service both times. The other food venues are buffet oriented and pretty expensive abt $20/person. You can order off the menu at all locations.

The food is on the buffet was plentiful but expensive for the quality. The fruit is very good but the meat choices are just average. But you are just a few blocks ( $5 taxi ride ) from the town with many good resaurants of all types. Or within walking distance from several good restaurants across the street behind the soccer field.

The following applies to the Vacation Club Only:

They are currently working on redoing/modernizing the top 9 floors with a major recontruction or the 25th floor with bigger units, more luxury and, of course, more cost. The 17th floor is being worked on now. The new units on the 7-24 floor are not going to be bigger but they will be rebuilt with new appliances and tvs. The units in floor 1-6 are getting no upgrades but they will replace a tv with a newer tube type unit if you ask.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely property.

Lulu the concierge is a wonderful asset. Contact her for all your planning, and trust her suggestions.

Beds are super comfy.

Food choices and quality so so. But we went out to downtown restaurants mostly, and there are plenty of them.

Wifi access was a huge problem the first few days, but got sorted out after many complaints.

Time share folks can be quite pesky...keep your spine stiff and don't fall for the amenity trap.

Keep track of your various paperwork...towel cards, VIP cards, etc

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cirenrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. I will pass on your kind comment to Lulu, she will will be proud to receive your commendation. It is rewarding for us to be recognized for the positive experience of our guests and visitor, as important as your feedback about the sales staff performance, which we will review to improve on for the future

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards from sunny Vallarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,594 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,607 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,816 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing