We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, no beach access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are looking for a beach resort - don't go here. The beach is rocky and the sand is very rough. The rooms are outdated and moldy, and the food is bad. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and helpful - with the exception of the swim-up bartenders. I agree 100% with DarrelRiley's review. Oh yeah, and I should add that my daughter and her friend (both mid-twenties) were robbed twice during our stay BY THE POLICE in downtown Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear guest from Colorado:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

In the meantime, please allow me to address a couple of your concerns. We are currently doing the necessary geological studies in order to help Mother Nature and improve the beach appearance in front of the hotel, hopefully by the end of the year our guest will find a more attractive view. We are also pleased that we could be of help to place your report to the police while were still in the hotel. Local authorities are conducting an investigation in order to prevent recurrence of similar events.

If you have any further questions or concerns, I would be happy to help however I can.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,982 - 1,988 of 3,769 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

all rooms have a nice view of the water. staff is nice and pretty fast. room sevice was also a nice treat during our stay. good location and good food not great only sunday brunch is great, but over-all I give it 8 out of 10

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The experience i had at this hotel was quite pleasant. Staff is friendly and courteous. Rooms are clean and roomy. The only bad experience i had this time was that we never had clean towels. When the issue about the towels was brought up to management's attention they claim that they were not aware of any issues. According to the housekeeper they were really behind in bringing towels because one of their machines broke down, how can management not be aware that the equipment broke. I don't blame the staff but management. This happened three days in a row, management should be prepare to resolve this type of issues in a timely manner. Other then this the food is great and the hotel is super clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuchicuchi4u69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear visitor from California:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Resort.

We appreciate your recognition for highlighting the staff's friendly and corteous service, for the room comfort and strengths of our facilities to fully comply with our guest expectations. Our staff will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.

We deeply regret the bad impression you have from the lack of clean towels delivered to your room in a daily basis, which despite our operating issues, shoul be provided according to our standards, please accept our sincere appologies.

Your feedback is indeed welcome as it benefits our impulse to increment and maintain top quality service levels, guest experience and staff performance.

Tnahk you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincererly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have just returned from my 5th one week stay at the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort Club (Timeshare Section). The last time there, 4 years ago, the place was the exact same - but the food service was quicker. The main issue with this place is the food was average and it took 1/2 hour typically to get the meal. The facility seemed to be geared to the buffet, so ordering from the menu took them time. The general service was inconsistent - at times excellent and at times poor. And the rooms could use some refurbishing. But it is pleasant, has a lovely Botanical setting and is close to town. The front desk and Consierge were excellent and most staff were congenial. Would I recommend it - yes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orchidart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is in the perfect spot. you can walk from there to anywhere in puerto vallarta. the staff was amazing and my kids had a blast at the kids club. i do recommend families to stay at the resort.  

Room Tip: Try the sunday brunch it is great and you can enjoy maricahis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Mike:

Thank you for sharing your family experience with current and future Tripadvisor's readers who might have Vallarta in their travel plans.

Our resort has being recognized to provide warm and personal guest services to contribute to achieve the expectations of fun, relaxation and the perfect natural environment to satisfy each family member.

We appreciate your special recognition for our Kids Club services.

Regards from sunny Vallarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for five nights and it was fantastic. My kids loved the kids club. Its our second time we visited puerto vallarta so we decided to get something near town this time. The bartender at the poolside was amazing. I had an excellent and comforting experience at the spa.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night at this hotel in July 2012. This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta. So did not know where to stay. Since I am Platinum with SPG decided to stick with this brand. There is this Sheraton and a Westin to choose from. We were there for 3 nights. So we decided to split our stay between these 2 properties. Because of some negative reviews such as bed bugs at the Sheraton, booked 2 nights at the Westin and 1 night at Sheraton. Sheraton ended up to be the better property, because of the recent renovations and location.

Because of some bad reviews, we were not expecting much from this property. As soon as we walked into the lobby we were impressed. We were upgraded to the Club floor. The suite was huge with an open room for sun tanning that you enter from the bedroom. Everything was in white, including the curtains. Room looked like brand new. View was amazing. Bed was a bit firm, not as comfortable as the Westin. Linens and towels were high quality. Becuase of the high temperatures the A/C was not adequate. I could not bring the temperature below 27 degree Centigrade. Lounge breakfast and snacks were not as good as the Westin. Internet was very slow. Location was perfect. Easy to get around. Staff was very efficient and friendly. I would choose this hotel for my next trip to PV.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rajukarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Spg member:

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are currently doing renovation to our guestromm and we are glad to see that our efforts are worth it.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,630 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
778 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,852 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,352 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $116 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport, our resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico offers many opportnities to appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon or enjoy easy travel on a business or leisure trip. Stay with us and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church. Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing