We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great boutique apartment hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Anita y Corona del Mar
Ranked #54 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great boutique apartment hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Anything but standard, this property is a collection of apartment style suites built high into the hill overlooking Banderas Bay in ‘Old Town” Puerto Vallarta. Every suite is a unique space and is appropriately furnished with comfortable seating and bedding. Anita #4 is located one level above the reception desk. It has a private entry area, an adequate bedroom space, full kitchen, spacious bathroom with shower and a generous living area opening onto a balcony.

The property is an older property but the maintenance team are always busy with pre-emptive preservation to keep the property looking as it did the day is was built. The cleaning staff are dedicated and proud of their efforts. This property is spotless but not to the point of perfection which would negate the ideal of staying in a boutique hotel

The reception staff were very helpful, and knowledgeable, they helped me book several excursions, carefully drew maps to help me with directions, had supplies delivered to my room and arranged my airport transfer. I purchased a very large beach towel for a reasonable price, and rented a lock for the ‘in room’ safe.

Location is perfect, everything you will want, or need to do, is within 10 minutes walking distance, The beach, banks, restaurants, shopping, dry cleaners pharmacies, and groceries are all within your reach yet you are far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of ‘old town’

The famous continual complaints of ‘major highway’ and ‘too many stairs’ astounds me. There is a two lane road at the street level of this property. It has cars, busses and trucks. Cars, busses and trucks sound like cars, busses and trucks. If you normally live in a city you won’t even notice or be inconvenienced by the traffic. There are no cement sidewalks, but the shoulders are solid and adequate. I personally felt less safe dealing with the streets in town. As for the ‘too many stairs,’ I’m a 60’s something senior and never felt stressed by the number of stairs in the complex. Going down is easier than going up but without a little effort you would have missed the experience that is called ‘Casa Anita & Corona del mar’

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    177
    45
    24
    16
See reviews for
52
171
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in a well appointed Studio Room (15) at Casa Anita for 7 weeks and enjoyed EVERYTHING about it. So much so, we have been missing Victoria, Kenna and Sacha, resident pets of which we became so fond! Sonia, Geraldo and Rogelio were a delight to interact with every day... always courteous, helpful and genuinely friendly. We appreciated the generous hospitality basket, the water & beer delivery to the room & the thorough cleaning of the room by Adele. The Wednesday BBQs with complimentary margaritas are such a great idea....Bill and Anita are great hosts and the event offers you an opportunity to meet your neighbours. We enjoyed the book exchange & appreciated the lightning quick service when a problem arose with the ceiling fan... it was fixed in less than 20 minutes! (no need for AC....the ocean breeze is so much nicer)
The views are spectacular....and the balcony was a perfect place for our daily breakfasts and lunches The new sliding doors were so soundproof that we did not have any problems with the road noise... you do get used to the daytime traffic noise after a few days....We enjoyed our well stocked kitchen ....The king sized bed was firm...and just as we like it! Nice to be able to use their washer/dryer instead of lugging it into town....
...and Sonia, thank you for coming to say goodbye when you were off-duty...we REALLY were touched by your thoughtfulness! We will visit again for many years to come :) See you soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisetteB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-de-Matha, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had a wonderful stay; Corona #6 was very clean and the maid service was excellent. Large apartment including all kitchen appliances and a slendid view of the ocean from the balcony.

Room Tip: Visiting the web page: http://www.mexdev.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsim925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Just returned from a nine day stay at Casa Anita, and we couldn't have had a better time. The hotel is exactly as described on their web site, and the owners and staff are just as friendly and accommodating as everyone has said in past reviews. We stayed in room 18 and absolutely loved the views from the huge balcony.
It's true that there are 132 steps from the parking lot to the room, but they were a breeze, after the climb from town (there's a work out, in 85 degree sunshine, after spending 5 months in the Canadian winter weather.) We wouldn't have traded a thing, for one of the "wall to wall people" type of hotels down on the waterfront. As more often than not, at great little places like Casa Anita, the people that we met here felt like friends that you've known for years, after just a day or two.

Thanks soo much to Bill, Sonia and and everyone at Casa Anita

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_and_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The staff is friendly and knowledgable, when you need something they are able to help you. The view, you cannot get enough of, just fantastic. The rooms come with everything you need,very comfortable. Its located so close to the beach, the walk is nothing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our stay at Casa Anita was great. We loved the fact that we were within walking distance to the beach and great places to eat and drink. Everyone at Casa Anita was very friendly and helped us find fun acivities to do while in Puerto Vallarta. They arranged for us to go Zip Lining in the jungle and arranged for us to take the "Rythems of the Night" cruise. We stayed in Casa Anita 18 and the view was incredible-especially the evening sunsets. The maid service was great-very clean. I can't say enough about the great hospitality we received. There are alot of steps to climb but worth it because of the beautiful view that you have. This place is charming and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at Casa Anita for 13 nights in January 2012. We loved it. The view is just to die for, however there are lots of stairs. We were in Anita 18, and from street level to our room there was 132 stairs !! If your not fit, you won't like this place. The room was great, clean and quit large. The bed was confortable. The maids are great, our linen were changed daily. The room is well furnished, however the cookware is poor quality and the non-stick pan had seen better days. The staff is great, the Wednesday BBQ is also fun. The hotel has 2 pools, both are in the shade most of the day so the water is cool. The climb back to the hotel from Zona Romantica can be quit challenging. Lots of stairs and all uphill, plus you have to walk for about 100 feet along the main road, which is pretty "rustic". After 2 days of that, we took a taxi for the remaining of our stay, around 40/50 pesos. But we still had 132 stairs to our room.

Will I go back? No, too many stairs. It doesn't remove anything from the place. The hotel is great and clean. The staff is friendly, the view is amazing. But the stairs are a big draw back.

I scored 3 stars for the location because of the stairs. But the view !!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#47 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#38 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#61 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Anita y Corona del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Anita y Corona del Mar

Property: Casa Anita y Corona del Mar
Address: Carretera Barra De Navidad No 601, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Anita y Corona del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are located in the Romantic Zone in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco. Our suites are just a 5 minute walk to Playa Los Muertos beach and a 10 minute walk to the center of downtown. Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are also close to grocery stores, restaurants, hospitals, pharmacies, bus routes, and shops.We offer 28 suites that can sleep 2-6 people. All of our suites have a fully equipped kitchen (with refrigerator, stove, microwave, blender, coffee maker, toaster...) T.V. with cable, alarm clock radio, private balcony with a view of the bay and the city (except Corona del Mar #4), purified drinking water, daily maid service, telephone for local and long distance calls, a safe and free WIFI. If your reservation is 7 nights or more, you will also receive our free Welcome food and drink package when you arrive. Hotel amenities include: 2 swimming pools (Corona del Mar #7 also has a private pool), 3 patios with view and a hammock, free parking with night security, and 3 shared BBQ areas, 24 hour reception desk, trilingual management (English, Spanish & French), a tour desk and in house spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Anita y Corona del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Anita y Corona Del Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing