We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view, the view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Anita y Corona del Mar
Ranked #54 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The view, the view!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Had a really pleasant stay here over Christmas. The suite was roomy, very comfortable and clean and the staff was excellent and helpful. Our balcony view was incredible and we ate all of our meals there, enjoying one of the world's real gems, Banderas Bay. Was particularly impressed in our original booking by how easy it was to contact the owner with questions while booking online. Her reply was quick and friendly. There is no denying that there are stairs to climb here, and we were a bit daunted on the first few times up and down, but returned home feeling a whole lot more fit then when we arrived in Vallarta. Nice little walk to the beach and the old town. I'd stay again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahorse_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    175
    45
    24
    16
See reviews for
52
169
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Spacious, comfortable well equiped suite with daily maid service. Owners and staff arae friendly and very helpful. The views can't be beat. There is a semi hosted bbq on Wed. evening. Lots of fun visiting others but watch out for the margaritas! There's all those stairs after. Excellent website. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: choose a lower level if stairs are a problem. their web site is excellent and will give you excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljb2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is set beautifully into the mountain and the rates are cheap. It is actually 2 hotels side by side. The staff are warm and pleasant. It is on the main highway going south out of town so the noise level at night can be bad. Busses using air breaks etc. It's an easy walk down to town, only 4 or 5 blocks but the walk back is all uphill of course and there is about a block where there is no side walk and the traffic is always busy. When you arrive there are about 80 something stairs to the main reception and pool (which is NOT heated and doesn't get sun) which is freezing cold. They provide laudry facilities in the adjoining hotel but it's all the way down to the street level and up another 30 or so stairs. It was 115 stairs to my room and the one day I was sick I thought I would do laundry.... they changing almost killed me.

The suites themselves are quite pretty and there are book exchanges on every floor. The kitchens are complete and the views are lovely. The beds and linens are not nice, and although the look of the rattan kitchen chairs and sofa is nice, their is no padding so it's like sitting on bars.

They also sell beer for those who don't want to walk to town, but you must buy a case at a time so if you are alone, or just want a beer, you must walk to town.

Another odd thing is the tipping. They tell you how much to tip the staff and then they tell you NOT to tip the cabs that get you there. My uncomfortable couch had crumbs all over it. I tip for service. If I get good service I tip very well, if I get bad service I don't tip at all.... cabs included.

If you are allergic to pets, you may want to consider somewhere else as well. They have a large dog and a soon to be large bouncing puppy as well as a lovely parrot or two. I don't mind aniimals but I know some people would mind.

Anyway all in all a 2 star for comfort. The best thing about this place is the view and the complete kitchen. I would not stay here again after trying a dozen or so hotels in Puerto Vallarta with comparable prices, much better location, and great linens, beds etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank equinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This hotel has much charm, great view of the city and Banderas Bay, 10 min walk to the beach and Zona Romantica. We had room 17, with king size bed and there were about 120 steps to reach it. There is no elevator. Good size room and very clean. The main road is right by it but the noise was not a big issue as it would be in hotel in the middle of the city. Has a kitchen, with limited utensils and had a microwave. Great and attentive staff. The only downside was that there were problems with getting adequate hot water and on the last day we had to take a cold shower. There were no "Do not disturb" signs to use on the door. If you order the case of beer be warned that you cannot take it you if you are moving on. We stayed for 4 nights and when we were taking the beer as we were moving to our timeshare we were told we could not take it as the bottles had to be returned. The staff had most of the 24 beers on us. We very definitely would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I along with my son and his girlfriend spent a week at this villa. it is truly amazing. The rooms are kept very clean. The view is undiscribable, the sunsets over the ocean where just spectacular, we also went during rainy season and watching the storm from the balcony was cool! the balconies are huge. Lots of stairs to climb but you get used to it.very close to the beach. we are going again in 2012 and will stay again at our favorite villa. also has very reasonable reates.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyncadieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This review is long overdue but the staff deserves an excellent review from me. My boyfriend and I traveled to PV in March 2007. We wanted to avoid the hotel/resort zone and stayed in Old Town/Romantica zone. Casa Anita was perfect! They're located about a 10 minute walk from the beach and all rooms but one have an ocean view. We stayed for 7 days and at that time (they may still have that deal now), if you stay for 7 days or more, they provide you with a complimentary welcome basket of food and drinks (Pacifico). We made breakfast daily from that basket so it helped cut down a bit of the cost of dining (not that dining in PV is expensive...you can get a huge amount of delicious food for very little money). The staff was very warm, friendly, and helpful. We were never without our giant bottle supply of potable water for cooking/drinking. The room was always clean and tidy. We booked their cheapest/simplest room for the week but when we arrived, we somehow got upgraded to their junior room (#5!). It was a very large room with its own bathroom, a huge closet, and kitchen. There was a balcony that we sat on during our morning breakfast routine. It was very relaxing. The bathroom was dimly lit and the only window opened to view the stairs that people use when they exit/enter the hotel. Not a biggie but just a bit weird for those of us who freak out about privacy. You wouldn't be able to see in from the stairs but still...However, not enough of a disadvantage for me to rate them lower. This is a great place for those who want comfortable, affordable, local accomodations. If you're really into luxury and all the comforts of home, I'd suggest something in hotel zone. Two important things to consider--1)there are no elevators in this place so if your room is higher up, you'll have to hike up a lot of steep stairs to get there! Our room wasn't high up but still, the stairs are a pain when you have to carry luggage or after a day of exploring and your feet are tired. And 2) getting to/from the hotel at night. You could walk down the road straight to the beach or town during the day and it's not a big deal. Just be careful of the cars because they go fast and the road is curved with no sidewalk. You'll pretty much be walking on a little gravel lane next to the road and on your other side is sometimes a big ditch so be careful! We walked home the first night and it was really scary in terms of visibility. There are very few street lights so it's hard to see where you're stepping and with the cars, it's just scary. After that, we always took a taxi home at night. They also have a pool there but we never used it. Our room didn't have A/C but with the ocean breeze, it was fine. All in all, the place was exactly what we needed and fit right in our poor college student budgets (if I recall correctly, for that week there, we spent about $400-500 for lodging for 2 people). It was wonderful and if we ever go back to PV again, without a doubt, we'd stay at Casa Anita!

They're making me fill in when I traveled and it doesn't go back as far to March 2007 so ignore that part of review. I need to stop being so lazy when it comes to writing reviews..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chubuchu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Anita's is always clean and the beds are great, but the views are outstanding!!!

Room Tip: make sure to buy the return tenders from Anita's, it saves the hassle of the Taxi. When you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradnLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#33 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#38 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#24 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Anita y Corona del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Anita y Corona del Mar

Property: Casa Anita y Corona del Mar
Address: Carretera Barra De Navidad No 601, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Anita y Corona del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are located in the Romantic Zone in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco. Our suites are just a 5 minute walk to Playa Los Muertos beach and a 10 minute walk to the center of downtown. Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are also close to grocery stores, restaurants, hospitals, pharmacies, bus routes, and shops.We offer 28 suites that can sleep 2-6 people. All of our suites have a fully equipped kitchen (with refrigerator, stove, microwave, blender, coffee maker, toaster...) T.V. with cable, alarm clock radio, private balcony with a view of the bay and the city (except Corona del Mar #4), purified drinking water, daily maid service, telephone for local and long distance calls, a safe and free WIFI. If your reservation is 7 nights or more, you will also receive our free Welcome food and drink package when you arrive. Hotel amenities include: 2 swimming pools (Corona del Mar #7 also has a private pool), 3 patios with view and a hammock, free parking with night security, and 3 shared BBQ areas, 24 hour reception desk, trilingual management (English, Spanish & French), a tour desk and in house spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Anita y Corona del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Anita y Corona Del Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing