We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches! Avoid this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Palmas by the Sea
Ranked #30 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at Las Palmas May 12-22, 2014. I consider myself well travelled, having stayed in both lower end hotels and pricier five-star resorts in many different countries. This "resort" fairs at the bottom for me & is, by far, the worst hotel I've stayed at.

The first room they attempted to give us was small, out of date, resembled the type of room you'd receive at a $12/night hostel and contained hundreds of little ants. We complained about the ant infestation & the hotel staff did move our room.
We were moved to a garden view room on the ground floor, complete with a patio (room 12).
The room was much nicer than the first, but was lacking in cleanliness (there was what appeared to be dirt on the shelf in the closet, the light fixtures were down right disgusting, the shower was deplorable - and broken, we couldn't close the shower door for fear that the glass would break further & fall out- the plaster wall appeared to be "flaking off" adjacent to one of the beds & was leaving a pile of white plaster dust on the floor, the air conditioning didn't work & we slept without blankets (and with cold, moist bath towels) most nights just to be comfortable, and there were still ants, though very few.
We made the best of it.

It was on the third day that the cockroaches appeared. We were told by hotel staff that they had fumigated & the insects were "coming up to die" & they insisted that the resort did not have a bug problem. But the insects didn't stop - spiders, cockroaches, ants, mosquitoes, moths...all found in our room very much alive. We ended up buying our own insect spray to deal with the problem as the hotel staff was less than helpful. Though they did deliver a plate of cookies and a written apology for the insects, but the ants got to the cookies before we could.

The day before we left the resort, there was a knock on our door by "pest control" and we were asked if they could fumigate our room - while we waited inside! We politely declined, given the obvious heath concerns from breathing in whatever chemical they were spraying. We left the room for a few hours to sit by the pool, but the entire resort smelled of chemicals within a very short time & we both ended up with migraine headaches, forcing us to leave the resort until late in the evening. We also noticed a rodent trap had been placed outside of our room on the patio that morning.
(If they had fumigated just prior to our stay, as we had been told by the hotel, why would they need to fumigate again? And why weren't there already rodent traps on place? I definite feel like we were not told the truth in this situation)

Aside from the condition of the room & the bugs, we found the hotel staff to be less than friendly. Every other time I've travelled to Mexico, I've found the staff at other resorts quite friendly, helpful & easy to talk to. Not at Las Palmas (with the exception of three of the wait staff in the dining room, who were awesome). Most of the staff struggle with or do not speak English, so if you are planning to stay here, brush up on your Spanish.

The adult pool was consistently full of families and young children, which went ignored by most of the security staff. By day 5, the staff got much better about trying to keep children out of the adult pool.

The pool itself is nice from a distance, but is in noticeable disrepair once you're in the water - tiles falling off, a large crack down one side in which moss is growing, etc. Still, none of this kept us out of the pool.

The food was mediocre and the drinks are much the same as you'd find at other resorts. Expect to stand in line at the main dining area unless you eat early - there were long lines of people waiting for dinner each and every night. We purchased the "all-inclusive" package initially (at an extra $45 USD/ day per person) but gave it up after 5 days, opting to eat & drink outside of the resort. Not only did we save money, we enjoyed flavourful food and could actually taste the tequila in our drinks.

The service in the dining room & at the bar was generally good, though we noticed most of the staff appears as if they'd rather be somewhere else. If you're looking for friendly staff, quick service and drinks served by the pool, look elsewhere. Never once were we (or anyone else) approached by the pool for drinks. You have to get up & get your own, which is fine, but not what I would expect or have experienced from an all-inclusive resort in Mexico.

I will not be returning to Las Palmas. I've stayed in hostels & in two star resorts in countries less developed than PV and received better service & nicer amenities.

My advice? STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Crystalceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

We generally go to Las Palmas by the Sea for our vacation in Mexico, probably twice a year. Yes, there are tours to go on, which we have all done in the past. They are wonderful and informative, but this time we just picked three tours, of which, one was free, because we booked the two. That's nice too. Meanwhile, the other days, we just hung around the pool, and socialized with others, and had drinks from the bar. We could shop from the venders on the beach, and some shopping done in the evening -set up on the walkway. It's not far from the WalMart store or the Marina. Go the other way, it's not far by bus, to go to the Malecon and flee market. Back at Las Palmas, one can see the Malecon all lit up, and we see the Pirate Ship lit up and its fireworks. Really nice. I sit on our balcony and watch all this - it's sooooo nice :-)

Room Tip: There are two styles of rooms - one faces the back, the other faces the ocean. One generally picks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ehollist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our stay was March 4-11, 2014 . I am late in submitting my review .
Our group consisted of 4 couples , range in age from mid-forties to mid-fifties and one couple had been to the region several times. We, and the rest of the group have been to several other parts of Mexico, but first time to Puerto Vallarta. We chose this resort for location, price, and basic amenities to fit our vacation plans.

The POSITIVE points.
The town of Puerto Vallarta is extremely interesting to see and tour and the ride to the resort from the airport was only about 15 minutes.
We loved shopping and sight-seeing in the town, visited the cathedral on Ash Wednesday and enjoyed some night life and dining on several occasions.

The PRICE- Inexpensive, but not worth the food or beds. spent extra to eat elsewhere.

CLEAN and FRIENDLY
The most positive point about the resort is the cleanliness. We encountered cleaning personnel at all times of the day and evening taking care of common areas and pool areas. Another positive to this resort is the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. The front entry security guys even take note of which taxi number you are going into, and you report your name and room number when you arrive back by taxi and they record the cab number. This proved to be extremely helpful when a member of our group realized just as the cab pulled away that she had left her wallet in the cab. They were able to call the cab company immediately and locate it, send her and her husband in a cab to retrieve it. Happy ending to what could have been a real bad deal. We booked the pirate ship dinner show which was extremely fun and also a horseback ride tour and supper which was amazing. We booked these excursions through our transport company and not the resort tour staff.

The NEGATIVES
The food was , in most cases , unidentifiable. Except for the great made to order omelets at breakfast. Some of our group enjoyed the chips and assorted sauces served at each meal time. I am not an overly picky eater, but I honestly could not find much of anything that looked appetizing. This area and resort attract a good population of families of Mexican Nationals ( much like we north Americans going to Orlando) so consequentially, there are many ,many young children accessing the buffet and not using very good food serving “etiquette”. Such as “double dipping” and reaching into the serving dishes with their hands instead of using the utensils. Also, as mentioned by others, the population of pigeons in, and around the dining area is unsightly and annoying. One evening we ate at the ala carte restaurant and had a nice selection on the menu. Some items were an additional cost. Everyone enjoyed their selections. We dined in town 4 times, rather than eat at the resort.
The beds were EXTREMELY HARD- even for Mexico resort standards. I like a firm bed, but it was almost impossible to sleep on these.
The LACK of seating on the sun deck, in the lobby, and especially around the pools. We had to resort to sitting or lying on the sun deck sea wall on towels every day for lack of seating. There were simply not enough seating for the guests, no chairs and table in the lobby to enjoy the shade and relax, and every beach chair was “taken” by 7:00 am. The one day that we did get pool loungers, we “borrowed” 4 of them that had towels on them who’s towel “owners” never did arrive to use them.
LATE NIGHT NOISE AND RUDE CROWDS A large group of college students, mostly guys arrived and basically ruined the dining experience one evening by standing at the grills and taking food with their bare hands. No instructions from the dining staff to them about the “line’ or the need to be seated. The worst time was when a loud fight occurred right at the bar and the fighting guys were allowed to keep yelling at each other and the “security” staff basically stood and watched them and even joked with them. We felt very uneasy during this. Every night after they arrived there was LOUD yelling and door slamming all hours of the night with no correction from security.
Our FIRST room was POOR . The first night we had to stay in the first room that we were assigned. Unlike our other friends’ “standard room” , ours had only a plastic curtain on the shower that let all the water onto the rest of the bathroom floor. There was a patio door and NO patio, just a wall to look at. Disappointing ! We did end up paying extra for an ocean view room WITH a balcony, but it was worth it. They claimed there were not any other standard rooms available and we would have to pay for an upgrade room type. Only fault was it over looked the kid’s pool rather than the adult pool. Very noisy all day and unable to really relax sitting there.
The beach is small. We did know this ahead of booking.

To sum things up, I would love to visit and tour Puerto Vallarta again someday, but would not return to this resort for the following reasons.
Disliked the food and the birds invading the dining area.
Not anywhere to sit and relax, inadequate seating by the pool and in all areas.
Inability for security to control unruly, obnoxious “guests”.
OVERLY hard beds.
If commonly a family resort for small children, I would prefer a resort with less small children and more adults or families with young adults/teens.

Room Tip: If asking for an ocean view, be sure to over look the Adult pool and not the kids pool if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank farmersfrommn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

When i came there were mostly Mexican and a handful of Canadians. Perfect-sized hotel so you can get to know most people staying. Beach was kind of small. The activities team were amazing and beach volleyball and water polo was so much fun.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

were not hoity toity people and we went there with an open mind but this place makes PV look bad.
not much of a beach lack of palapas
no beach chairs. they dont serve drinks or food and you arent allowed to take food from the snack bar or the restaurant.food was blah and a lack of meat. dont pack only sleeveless t-shirts like I did cus they wont let you in to eat. they got time share people positioned perfectly ready to snipe you out no matter which way you come from upstairs
just a tip she is not your consierge and you dont need to see her for an "orientation" of las palmas. your only allowed two drinks at a time from the bar make sure u get two cus there in little plastic cups and when you get to where your going guess what...all gone! turn around and repeat. 9:00pm Lights Out! no tunes no dancing NO FUN!
so stay somewhere else

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank willysteck77 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Worst Hotel I've ever been in :
- Old place with very small beach.
- Very noisy all the time even at 4 Am.
- Worst food and drink service.
- Not clean at all.
Wasn't worse the money at all! I could find way better hotel with the same amount of money in that area. Stay away from this Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Awab G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are not picky travelers. We were pleasantly surprised by the clean room and though it did not have an ocean view, it had a nice view of the Sierra Madres. The food, while never stellar in the buffet area, was just fine. The over-use of hot dogs and sliced deli ham was odd, but we chose other dishes. The fresh fruit selection was awesome. We tried to sit in the same area each day and I guess we lucked out by never, ever, in the whole week were there, having to wait in any line. Yolanda and Pedro took such good care of us. We tipped them at the end of even got a hug from Yolanda. Our one "formal" dinner included in our package deal was REALLY good. The waiter started our a little crabby but was fine by the end of the meal. We did not come to PV to spend our time sitting by a pool so if there were issues w/ towels and lounger availability, we missed it...on purpose. The activities pool was full of children and their parents listening to cheesy techno music. This we avoided as well...on purpose. Our free time, when not eating and enjoying the ocean view while chatting and sipping cocktails was spent exploring the area. We learned the bus system and used it to its fullest going by bus to El Centro many times, the Malecon, Boca de Tomatlan, then a Water Taxi to Yelapa and back and to Sayulita by bus...twice! We avoided being roped into the 'adventure tours' b/c we could do much of that on our own, as well as avoiding the offer to give us each $100 to do a timeshare tour. "No, gracias" is something we did get REALLY sick of saying. The beach vendors are incessant and honestly are the only things that seriously took away from an otherwise wonderful trip. The beach in front of the hotel was nice and we spent a lot of time pecking around for sea glass, shells, worn tiles, etc. We found quite a bit. I guess I don't understand why you would go to PV and want to spend all of your time at your hotel. We avoided both pools and the, in my opinion, lame "shows" every night and opted for off-premise options. For internet, we went a block to Office Depot. 6 pesos for 15 minutes. Another place we fell in love with was Camarones Express, a little taco hut two blocks from the hotel. We didn't have to work too hard to escape the children or getting sucked into tourist trap stuff. The beds were firm but not "hard" as some have stated. The vents in the restrooms are open to the outside. Close the bathroom door. Problem solved. Plenty of hot water. Who cares about tiny ants around the sink, you're in the tropics! Buy a case of cheap bottled water at the liquor store on the corner. If the only noise complaints I have revolve around the occasional slamming door and the parrots near the entrance squawking fairly early in the morning, then that's pretty impressive. I am seriously glad that we missed the spring breakers. I'm sure it'd be a whole different review. The children present were bad enough. Nothing against them, we're just not children people. Can't imagine being caught up in the mess that is Spring Break.

Room Tip: We stayed in 442. No ocean view, but a great view of the mountains. Early squawking parrots includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#68 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#52 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Mar...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas by the Sea

Address: Privada Pablo Picasso Zona Hotelera Norte 126, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $95 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most refreshing way to vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Unwind together in our oceanfront Jacuzzi with panoramic view. Play in our two sparkling pools. Enjoy our beach club, with its wide range of activities. Indulge in a soothing massage. Treat your palate to delicious cuisine and cocktails at our restaurants and bars. Check out our nightly shows. At Las Palmas by the Sea you will enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Palmas by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Sea Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Resort
Las Palmas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing