We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Palmas by the Sea
Ranked #42 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
1 review
“Good times for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We found this to be a great location for our group of 9 kids 11 to 17 and 6 adults. Beach, pool, all day food and drinks all within 200 feet! It felt safe and provided all the sun and scenery that the winter weary Canadians needed at an affordable price! The friendly staff certainly endeared themselves to all our group. We found the rooms clean and adequate quite nice compared to camping at home in the summer in tents! We have been twice and as the Gramma in the group I can say its a great family place and I love it but it would not be for those seeking a quiet sedate luxurious spot.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BettyLou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    534
    335
    158
    135
See reviews for
520
456
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Team Canada! We have been twice now to this resort and never disappointed. Okay the beds are little hard. More than made up for by the amazing staff--from the moment we stepped off the bus and were greeted by the bellhops (who remembered us immediately upon our return one year later) to the recreational staff Sophie and Christian and Luiz to the bartenders and of course the dining staff. Clean, friendly and overall a very good experience for a budget resort. Thanks for another great holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenBa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent a couple of days in the PV romantic zone in April and had breakfast at Las Palmas on a Saturday morning around 9am. We were looking for a spot on the beach at one of the better restaurants and Las Palmas was on our short list. They have seating on the beach and in a covered area adjacent to the beach which is part of the hotel separated by the malecon (board walk). We chose to sit on the beach where they have tables each with an umbrella and right above the surf line are beach chairs side by side facing the water with a table in front. We sat there and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and food. One benefit of an early breakfast is that the vendors are not out yet (at least in force) so you can enjoy a bit of solitude without interruption. The food and service was excellent though expensive for PV. In this case, you get what you pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlfricke52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Clean friendly fun resort with lots of character! Activities crew led by Christian and Sofia were great. Our kids enjoyed all the sports activities such as beach volleyball, beach soccer and water sports. All staff friendly and fun. David and Carmen were awesome bartenders! Rooms clean food good and fabulous weather. It was our second stay here and we will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great. The staff, the food, the locals. Everyone was friendly and made you feel welcome. The activities crew were the highlight of the trip. Sofia, Christian and Luiz are all amazing, outgoing and friendly people and made my vacation one of the best i've ever had. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We thought we would give another resort a try in our much loved Puerto Vallarta, I must say I was a bit sceptical because I had read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor.ca but thought that it would be ok, oh my gosh what a mistake !! as soon as we got to the resort we thought it looks nice then we were shown to our "Delux ocean view room" which we paid extra for, we were shocked at the state of the room, it was old and run down, you could not lean on the belcony due to the old peeling paint and dirt that stuck to you !! the whole room was unclean and un-cared for the mirrors in the room had not been cleaned nor had the bathroom, we really did not want to stay so we went to front desk and asked for another room which they gave us, however the next room was just the same, so I asked for the Nolitours rep to find us another Hotel as we did not want to stay, which they did however due to it being Easter weekend they could not get into our usual Hotel until the next day, we stayed as we had no choice, the food in the buffet was ok and the pool area was nice but the pumping techno music and noisy party people till late, slaming doors people arguing late into the night did not make for a peaceful night. the only nice thing about this hotel is the staff who were very nice, my suggestion is if you want a nice relaxing holiday in a nice room (and we all like a nice clean relaxing room on vacation ) is do not stay at this hotel the owners need to up date the hotel and do renovations as the location is good, sorry to say that we would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont bother getting a delux room as they are awful the beds are hard you can get a foam topper if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 457stringbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have spend a few weeks in beautiful Las Palmas by the sea in February, coming home in March.
It is the most relaxing place, good food very attentive porters, waiters and front desk staff.
The rooms kept very clean and if you do not like something, just ask, they are more then happy to accomodate you.
This was not our first time, we keep coming back . because we like it very much, it is the best spot right on the ocean.You can walk to the city and the marina.
There is 24 hour security, we always felt safe there.
Their price is very reasonable as well. Peter and Maria

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Tules Resort
Los Tules Resort
#47 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
#64 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#36 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas by the Sea

Property: Las Palmas by the Sea
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most refreshing way to vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Unwind together in our oceanfront Jacuzzi with panoramic view. Play in our two sparkling pools. Enjoy our beach club, with its wide range of activities. Indulge in a soothing massage. Treat your palate to delicious cuisine and cocktails at our restaurants and bars. Check out our nightly shows. At Las Palmas by the Sea you will enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Palmas by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Sea Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Resort
Las Palmas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing