We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for, and a little bit more...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Palmas by the Sea
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at this resort along with my nineteen-year-old son during the week of August 9-16. If you keep your expectations in check, the Las Palmas can be a good option. On the one hand... It's a tired- looking resort, overdue for a major facelift. It's also a smaller resort and doesn't have as many amenities or activities as other nearby resorts. The beach isn't very big, hardly wide enough for a volleyball court; nor is the swimming very good in this area. There is only one a la carte restaurant and the buffet restaurant often has line- ups. But on the other hand... The resort is clean, safe, and well maintained (keep in mind that if it were renovated you probably wouldn't be going there as it would cost a lot more). The intimate size of the resort makes people more inclined to socialize--my son certainly had no difficulty finding nineteen-year-old girls to talk to--and if you didn't already know that three-star people are nicer than five-star people, you will by the end of the week. As for the beach, you can walk just north of the resort and find a much better beach. The resort is also close to downtown; you can walk there in 30 minutes or take a 50-cent bus ride from the street in front of the hotel. As for the food, I enjoyed my meal at the a la carte and had no problem finding things I liked at the buffet. My son enjoyed the hamburgers and pizza at the snack bar.

The strongest feature of the hotel is its staff; they definitely provided five-star enthusiasm and effort during my stay there. I have been to three other resorts in Puerto Vallarta and I would rate the staff at the Palmas as the friendliest and most helpful.

In conclusion, if you are looking for a romantic week with your significant other, full of upscale amenities and a la carte restaurants, then you should probably spend the extra money and go elsewhere. But if you have family with you, or if saving money is an important consideration, or if you simply want to get away from the real world and relax and have fun for a week, then the Palmas might be the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the front parking lot. No balcony. Not a great room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank straight_arm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

this was the worst experience i have ever had. unless you are from mexico, or speak spanish you are at a mojor disadvantage. we were not treated well by many of the people working on the resort, as well as other people off the resort. the food was awful, there were very few choices, lots of flies around the food, also piegons in the dining area, and poop everywhere. at breakfast they only served hot food until 1030 and continental to 1100, if you came at 1020 they wouldnt serve us, however the mexican guest they would. drinks were always poured way way way to strong, and they would only allow 2/person. the show they put on at night was only about 30 mins, long and that was it for entertainment on the resort. the bars stopped serving at 11 so we would walk down the road to the liquor store.
the rooms were ok ( we paid extra for ocean view) the rooms, had a small tv, no clocks, and no mini fridge. the beds were like sleeping on rocks, lumpy and hard. had to pay extra for a safe, and put a deposite to have a remote for the tv. our a/c didnt work and we we arrived our friends room was having theirs repaired, so check in was delayed. and then we returned to the room after where the a/c was supposed to be fixed, and it had leaked and got water allllllll over the floor. when our rooms were made up, multiple times there was no fresh towles, and no new water bottles and when we called for someone to bring towels it would take 30-45 minutes, and maybe another phone call or 2.

we wernt allowed to put the lounge chairs in the pool, were asked not to have our tops undone while tanning our backs, and they didnt have clean beach towels, there was always a wait.
the beach was clean, but had many vendors who wouldnt constantly hassel you. even when you werent on the beach.
for entertainment we went into town, walked around went to a few bars, and ate. we decided to go to a local bar Ru, there it was fun they treated us well, and so we decided to stay and order bottle serivce. we paid a portion of the bill up front and the rest on our way out, however they then told us we paid nothing.
it turned into a big ordeal, no one knew who we gave the money to and all of a sudden no one spoke english, and deceide to call the police, at that point the police arrived ( 15 of them to us 4 canadians) the bar manager started telling the officer what was going on in spanish. finally after about 30 mins of arguing and trying to figure it out, we found enough money to pay our bill twice, in order to avoid going to jail.

all in all this isnt a trip i would advise anyone to go on. i had fun because of the people i went with, but it wasnt quite the vacation we had dreamt of. beautiful sunsets, and quite the thunderstorms, the wether was nice but that was about it.

Room Tip: pay the extra $40 or what ever for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mackenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Food was good, staff had positive attitude and it was clean. Opportunities for improvement in details like turn around of the towels at the pool or not allowing street vendors getting into the private beach. Would return for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you've never been to Mexico or like a basic hotel with the bare minimum you MIGHT like this hotel. I would suggest not eating the food, it's simply not good. The rooms are very basic, hard beds, television sets are old and have no remote, bedding is cheap, pillows are flat, rooms are okay but not exceptionally clean. After checking in we thought we'd give it a chance - we just got off a very bad flight and were cranky to begin with... We went to the limited buffet for dinner but everything we sampled was either cold or simply not edible. The food looked as though it'd been sitting for days - everything was settled and flat. Decided to eat out for dinner and walked to a restaurant off the resort. We tried to justify staying but just could not. We ended up calling the agency we booked the tour with and switched hotels after 1 night. I would not stay here again nor recommend this hotel to anyone. We booked this trip on a last minute deal (cheap) but even for as cheap as it was its simply not worth it. When we met with our travel rep the following day we ended up upgrading to another resort and no complaints about our transfer. I've stayed in 3.5 star hotels before and LOVED everything about them. I honestly think that if Las Palmas is in fact a 3.5 star hotel that the rating system needs to be revamped. I should also mention we're not the only guests who transferred and even our cab driver who dropped us off at the hotel said it wasn't the greatest.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterD1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel. We got a fantastic deal and was looking forward to staying somewhere new in P.V., as this was our seventh trip to the area. The staff for the most part were very nice and accommodating. The hotel is in desperate need of an update. The air conditioning barely worked and when it was on, the room had a terrible musty stench to it. We had booked an ocean view room and when we arrived were told that there were none available, but would get one the next day. The room was tiny, dirty and blinds were broken. The next day we were told the same thing - no ocean view rooms available and to come back the next day. After spending most of our second day trying to rectify the problem, our tour rep. at the hotel managed to get us moved. There is one buffet restaurant where the food was so-so. The snack bar hamburgers were raw, and the lunch and dinner buffets were always the same, bland fare as the day before. We ate outside of the hotel many times. Bring your own liquor and wine. The ala carte restaurant was good, but you can only eat there once per all inclusive stay. The beach area was small, and difficult to get a chair at unless you were there at daybreak to reserve. There are two pools which were small, but okay. To top off our shortened stay (we moved hotels after 3 days) the power was turned off for 4 hours one afternoon. We have stayed at budget hotels in the P.V. area in the past that have the same rating as Las Palmas and have had a much more pleasant stay. We will not return here and cannot recommend, even as a budget hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just returned from at week w/RCI at this resort. It sits on beach,nice views, but poor food quality- w/ only 1 buffet,and limited snack bar use. Other exclusive resturant could only eat at 1x- w/ all inclusive pkg. and unsure of what some of dishes were. Gounds/buildings need major work. Rooms are very dated/bedding is old, as well as the furnishings. Beds are very hard. Pools small- with 1 adult pool- and other for kids. It was very crowded, no lounge chairs on the beach, and vendors hang around the resort too long. No pool staff seen to keep glasses picked up- and someone had thrrown up in pool and no one cleaned it. This resort is very small-probably great for college kids/locals, but is substandard for those who dream about a nice quality trip for months before going. Checkin /desk help average-we will not return here.

Room Tip: north bldg above adult pool- 3 or 4th floor fairly quiet/nice views of ocean/pool resort. AC worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhunt3398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Las Palms by the beach was a excellent hotel it had many unique experiences to offer. The staff was very friendly and inviting and always made us feel important and just like family, and the service was outstanding. The cleanliness through out the hotel was very exceptional and the housekeepers where good. The food was very satisfying and well prepared, and pool was one of the best part of our experience where lots of entertaining events took place. The entertainment was spectacular and an good way to end the nights. I am glad I could share this experience with my family, and with out Las Palms it couldn't have happened. -From the trustworthy Fijians (:

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neharaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,082 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,905 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#50 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#67 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#35 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#22 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas by the Sea

Address: Privada Pablo Picasso Zona Hotelera Norte 126, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $113 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most refreshing way to vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Unwind together in our oceanfront Jacuzzi with panoramic view. Play in our two sparkling pools. Enjoy our beach club, with its wide range of activities. Indulge in a soothing massage. Treat your palate to delicious cuisine and cocktails at our restaurants and bars. Check out our nightly shows. At Las Palmas by the Sea you will enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Palmas by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Sea Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Resort
Las Palmas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing