We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,275)
Filter reviews
5,275 results
Traveler rating
2,436
1,546
616
377
300
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,436
1,546
616
377
300
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cantinala jollaclub premiumspanish restaurantdon quixotebug bitesgrand master suitesnack barpremium roomno see umsfamily suitefeed the animalsbaby tigerssand fleasspecialty restaurantsel edenbring bug spray
Filter
Updating list...
2,835 - 2,840 of 5,275 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed here Nov. 17th through Nov.21st.. We are already planning our trip back. I have read previous reviews about people getting ill, and I have to say the whole time we were there - we never heard one case of anyone getting ill. The fact of the matter is...that when you travel to Mexico from the United States, there is always a risk you may get ill. I think everyone knows that. To blame the resort on a bug that you may have caught through who knows what, is ridiculous. Only drink bottled, filtered water and watch what you drink or eat when you go into town. Hello folks............you are traveling to Mexico. don't renounce a resort because you hear people tell horror stories of how they got sick. It's unfortunate that they did, but that's not a reason to not visit this resort. It's a reason to not visit Mexico.
This resort was wonderful for us. We were celebrating our 5 yr. anniversary and everything exceeded our expectations. Food was delicious.....especially breakfast. There was every fruit you could imagine. All of the restaurants were very good. If you want to get liquored up, make sure to tip a dollar and ask for a double. They will gladly accomadate.
Get a couples massage to the left of the beach. When you walk down the steps make a left and ask for Laura.... I think her name was Laura. It was $50 or $60 for a couples massage and it was AMAZING. You listen to the ocean (and your husband's moans) as they so delicately work you! It is awesome- you need to do it!
Also, do the pottery....it looks kind of lame, but it is really great. You paint the best you can, and then the attendant corrects and perfects over what you did and makes it look like a masterpiece!
The rooms are already huge and amazing.....but if you wish to upgrade for your anniversary or honeymoon - bring your marriage certificate! BRING YOUR MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE!!!! It willl make a difference:-)
If you want to go snorkeling...ask for Ralph. He will not only take you on a fabulous snorkeling extraveganza, but a very interesting tour.
This is a wonderful place for a relaxing time, but keep in mind, if you have kids or dont have kids and are looking for a place for freedom and quietness, this may not be the place for you. There are many children--------and they dont just stay in the family pool, like they are supposed too. No one enforces for them to stay in the family pool. Which - of course they should......but anyway ,....stay at an adult only resort if this will bother you.
A lovely and delightful and clean place overall! We will come back!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank perkmurf718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

my wife and i stayed at barcelo puerto vallarta Jan 1 thru the 5th. The hotel is wonderful, the staff was very friendly and attentive. we never had to wait long for drinks by the pool or in the bars. The rooms were huge we never even turned on the tv in the sitting room. The drinks were plenty strong and if you wanted a double all you had to do was ask. We ate at two ala carte restaurants, the italian and the steak and seafood, both were excellent and when my wife couldn't make up her mind if she wanted filet or lobster, the waiter suggested she get both. We traveled alone as a couple and met some great people from canada who helped make the trip even better. I suggest a bus trip into town, and a walking trip to the zoo, for better or worse it's worth the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookedoncancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I almost switched to another hotel at the last minute for fear of the illness other reviewers wrote about. My husband and I must have said a hundred times over the course of the six days we were there, "I can't believe we almost missed out on this!" The location is spectacular; words can not describe the beauty of the jungle surrounding you. The service was good, a little slow sometimes but always friendly. The food was good, not spectacular, but there was always plenty to find that was tasty. Drinks are very weak, but no big deal, just ask for double alcohol. We went to 2 of the evening shows, and they were just awful. The only awful thing about this place. Just skip them and enjoy the live band in the Cantina nightly. The specialty restaurants were very nice; my husband and I agreed that Don Quixote was the best. We had a great massage at the spa, I would recommend it. Do the free kayaking and other included activities during the day. Absolutely walk to the zoo. It was an incredible experience not to be missed. We had dinner at Tony's which was good and worth doing since you stay so close. Mismaloya is very safe for walking through, even at night. Yes the beach is small, but we found it perfectly charming. Not too many vendors, and they are very low key. Take a walk over to the abandoned set of Night of the Iguana. Very cool. Above all, DO NOT be afraid of this resort! It is very clean and very beautiful and there is absolutely NOT an illness problem here (or beg bugs as I also read about. And the beds are fabulous by the way). There will be minor annoyances. We could never get anyone to bring the bathrobes that were supposed to come with our room, even though we asked repeatedly. We could never get anyone to come get our dirty laundry for washing. Little things would pop up that made the trip imperfect, but did not ever keep it from being wonderful. If you are not extremely high maintenance and difficult to please, you will fall in love with this beautiful place just like we did. I did not want to leave, and I can not wait for our return!!

PS: Bring bug spray!! I doused it on every time I left the room and did not get a single bite! My husband forgot a few times and did get a few bites.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiileHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is a very clean, very nice hotel with great staff, food and entertainment. We thoroughly enjoyed this visit from Christmas to New Year's and would do it again in a heart beat. We selected the premium package which allowed us to eat in the special restaurants each night, but the food and quality of the drinks across the board were excellent. We enjoyed great excurions, especially loved the Outdoor Adventure through Vallarta Adventures and the Whale Photo Safari... Nicky was our guide and she was brilliant. Great Trip!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosPokos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here at the very end of November & early December (sorry for the delay getting this on, but Christmas got in the way!) This was our first stay at a full all-inclusive and we were pleasantly surprised. From the moment we arrived in PV we were greeted with helpful, smiling people. Check-in was a breeze and we were up to our room within about 15 minutes. ( We verified that the in-room fridge was stocked at no extra charge.)

Tour company representative Felipe was extremely helpful and even went out of his way to find tours not listed in his own brochure. He also pointed out the tours that left, or had pickup, from this hotel thus saving the cost of travelling into PV - saving 200 peso's each way. Puerto Vallarta Adventures was the tour company we booked thru - San Madre South was a great day - thanks Juan Carlos for all the laughter and cultural information, including variousTequilla toasts! The tour to San Sebastian makes for a long day, but again the tour guide - Gustavo this time - makes the day go smoothly. Again plenty of laughs and information. And yes, the lunch he raves about as being one of the best on the trip, actually is. The only somewhat disappointment was the day trip to Las Caletas, trained birds flying from trainer to trainer, and a relatively small and crowded beach. The small children there that day seemed to really be enjoying themselves so not all bad. Food again was great as was the free flowing beverages...!

Food at the resort we thought was great - in the buffets. We did two of the A La Carte restaurants - presentation was beautiful - but after each meal one of us, or people we ate with, did not feel great.... We also did get great service when on the beach, with drinks and snacks.

The grounds of the hotel were very well tended to - always clean and tidy. Never saw any litter around at all. Room was spotless every day. Bar tenders were always trying to please and if they did not have something in stock - they eventually found it! There was never a shortage of available drinks. The pool was very clean, and cleaned every night. The shows in the evening were cute - but after seeing a couple they were repetative. Have to give them A's for enthusiasm though. The hotel quietened down fairly well while we were there , but it was before high season and the place was not full. The front desk staff were also extremely helpful with information and currency exchange.

By all means if travelling into town take the local transit - cheap at 9 pesos each, and you never know what kind of entertainment you will have along the way!! When walking around town we always felt safe, and the locals were helpful if you looked confused or lost.

We would definately stay here again - and bring friends!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank syriswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews