We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So, So”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #34 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I'll start by stating for the most part, we enjoyed our stay. This was our second time at Barceló Puerto Vallarta, and third vacation at Barceló Hotels. We have always stayed "Club Premium."

There were a number of issues though that detracted from our enjoyment.

•upon check-in we wanted to make reservations for dinner at El Quijote, and at first we were told that it was not possible. After insisting that a party of two could/should always be accommodated, this is the hospitality business, and after being upset, a reservation was finally secured. When we arrived, promptly, for our 8:30 reservation at no time was the restaurant more than 50-60% occupied. Why the aggravation?
•at no time during our stay, a week, were the amenities in the bathroom(s) replaced. This should be done daily.
•at one point the coffee for the machine in the room was not replaced, leaving nothing but decaf, something we do not drink. We went to the "Club Premium" lounge around 7PM to request coffee be sent to our room, upon our return around 10:00PM, no coffee had been sent to the room. We resorted to calling the concierge to have some sent, which finally occurred. I admit my Spanish is not the best, but the next morning when leaving the room, I left a note for housekeeping "Por favor, necessita mas café, pero no decafe, gracias." No coffee, again.
•it had not occurred to us to ask, nor is it a big deal, but we were surprised to learn upon checking out that there should have been bathrobes for our use - there were none.
Little things add up.

Room Tip: Club Premium has the best oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 4,765 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Everything was great with our vacation until our last day of check out.
Our flight was not till 5 pm so we checked earlier in the week about the checkout of the hotel.
We were advised by the Sun Wing rep that arrangements had been made with the hotel that we and our friends would check out of our rooms at noon. We would not turn in our arm band and could use the facilities for the remainder of the day. We could shower and change before leaving for the airport in the spa facilities.
When we went to check out the hotel would not honour the arrangements and advised us that we would have to pay additional $38.00 per room to use the arm bands for the remainder of the day and we would still have to check out of our rooms
This was very disappointing since one of the other couples in our group did not have to pay and 2 couples did pay. We pursued this with the manger and after 5 hours he decided to give back the $38.00 to 1 more couple. This still left 1 couple out the $38.00
It seemed that the hotel had different rules depending on who u talked to and it left a very bad taste in our mouths after a week of relaxation.
It wasn't the money as much as the principle.

Room Tip: Not advisable to pay the premium $25.00 for the premium package. The rooms are larger on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

I acknowledge receipt your comment posted on February 11th, 2013.

We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments. I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology to not have met your expectations at the end of your stay because for Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve, as we want they back home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

We regret your feelings about the service you received from Front Desk, assure you will be corrected immediately because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

We trust to have you here again and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We hestitated booking here due to prior issues we had read about regarding illness , but can say we are glad we decided to come to this resort .

We started our 2 week adventure back to PV with lateness due to issues in Varadero and windiness... c'est la vie . We did not arrive at Barcelo 11 pm ish . We were quickly and efficiently booked in and arrived at our room in the North Tower 8th floor 10 minutes later , Club premium room - well worth the extra dollars . Bags were brought quickly to the room within 20 minutes As we were late , with a call to the front desk , we are able to to get some food and wine to our room in short order - can not thank them enough for this . It made the start to our visit memorable.

If your travelling with Sunwing , your briefing as you boarded the bus to your resort , or next day de brief does not encourage you to use Sunwing services , I will leave it at that , as that is not a Barcelo issue, and I will communicate to Sunwing directly . We are self sufficient souls... so no worries .

With a quick tour of the resort on your own , as it is small- a good thing , it is easy to get your bearings , pools/ buffet for breakfast / ala cartes and evening bar . Ala cartes are all in one spot in one hallway near the north tower . With Club premium it was easy to get booked when we wanted to and the time we wanted to , as I booked after my run in the morning at approximately 830-9 am . Only one day were we unable to book an ala carte and ate in the Buffet - food was great there as well .
Our favourite Ala a carte was a toss up - Spanish or Italian . All Staff worked hard to give a great dining experience .

I did get ill for 2 days after eating a burger at the Lunch snack bar, and had not eaten off the resort , and taken precautions to ensure this would not occur . I cannot say for sure the illness was absolutely due to this , so want to give them the benefit of the doubt .

The Mr.Tequila Shop is right up the hill from the resort in the village of Mismaloya , and would recommend you take the time to get your Tequila education there , as well as some great entertainment . Also in Mismaloya , if looking for a diversion from resort food, chow down at Juan and Only's , great variety . It is relatively new, spotless, and great food and inexpensive .

A few kilometers south of the resort is a good restaurant called the Cliff's ( I think LOL ) . A bit pricey, but would be a great place for an evening drink.

If going into PV to shop or have fun on the Malecon, its 130 pesos by cab or approximately 8 pesos by bus . Do your self the favor and take the bus and , walk thru PV from south to north .... a ball .

If dining off the resort , we were impressed by La Palapa , and a great sunset dinner . Limon Teatro was great as well. Conceirge will make reservations for you .

We would recommend the Las Caletas / Whale Watching tour . We were lucky to see alot of whales . Las Caletas offers snorkeling , paddle boarding , kayaking or just plain old relaxing . The luncheon was quite delicious . This tour is through Vallarta Adventures and departs from the Marine terminal .

The beach at the resort is unfortunately receding , our one disappointment , and is suffering with sand fleas . Many guests suffered with enourmous bites . Even with OFF spray or liquid , these bites still occured . It affected adults more than children . There was a louder (party pool ) and a quieter pool , depending on your mood , each were a ton of fun . A swim up bar at the party pool is great. The waiters however are walking around the pool to take drink orders all day . If your prefer , you can walk to the Snack bar area , they have a bar as well .

The maid service was outstanding, and we did tip every day - they deserve it , as she ensured our room was immaculate and complete no later that 130 each day that we observed .

The Club Premium Lounge was great for a quick breakfast in the morning , munchies before dinner or a quiet after dinner drink . All staff there are to be commended - they understand the Barcelo brand and deliver on that promise .

I will give the Evening Show staff an A for effort , however, perhaps Barcelo Maya Beach team should share their secrets to a great show with all other Barcelo's . It would be interesting to see a local perspective encorporated into the show . Providing a dedicated "comfortable" venue like the Barcelo Maya Beach does might be beneficial .

We had a message at the SPA , oh so good !!!! We did hear that messages we available on beach near the resort .Apparently for 25-35 dollars , they were amazing .

A great morning walk out to the point prior to or after breakfast to get the day started or for some photo ops is a great thing !

The Front Desk , especially Claudia were very helpful throughout the day .

The Staff were having some sort of management visit while we were there , but the service before and after or during were unchanged , it was consistently FANTASTIC .

Thank you again Barcelo for another great 2 weeks of R and R and we are glad we came back to to this beautiful area.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, however, the north tower is away from the evening bar entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andy_macSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on February 9th, 2014.

We thank you very much for your kind comments and also thank you for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home, this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers.

Our main goal is to give to all our guest the service which we build our reputation and return home with the desire to visit us again and recommend us to their friends and family, this is the best promotion and marketing program that we can have, because we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Barceló.

We hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

After reading all the mixed reviews I was unsure what to expect of our week at Barcelo. Overall it was great, I was relaxed and enjoyed it. I would most defiantly return to the resort. I believe the mixed reviews are depending on what you want from the holiday and stay.
.
The food was average, we weren't expecting immaculate meals and the meals we had were good.
.
The rooms were amazing, we were in tower two with king size bed. Had a full ocean view and beautiful balcony. The rooms are highly recommended if traveling with children as they are spacious and have a separate area with own TV for children. There was no shortage on space. The beds were comfy but did cause some back pain but nothing out of the ordinary for a hotel bed. There was noise from the bar at night but nothing that kept us up. We enjoyed being able to view the pool are open space.
.
We never had an issue with service in the restaurants. The beverage service around the pool and bars was not top notch but we weren't tipping all the time and it didn't hurt us to walk up to the bar once in a while.
.
Although the resort is a 30 minute cab or bus ride from town we enjoyed the quietness of it and the fact that we could choose when we wanted to go into the hustle and bustle of town. We loved the fact that there were local tours available. We went on the local boats a number of times. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND "happy fish" Marine was great and took us were all the big tours go without having to be on the crowed boat. We also enjoyed the off resort spa and local vendors. After the first day of being out and about the locals left us alone and we were able to just approach who we wanted when we wanted something.
.
The beach is small but we are not huge on swimming in the ocean or laying on sand. We were still able to swim and snorkel but don't expect a massive beach.
.
The pools are great, we especially enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings.
.
I would return to Barcelo. I enjoyed it being a smaller resort and not having to walk 10 minutes to get to the bar or the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on February 8th, 2014.

We thank you very much for your kind comments and also thank you for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home that make us feel very special and motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers..

Our main goal is to give to our entire guest the service which we built our reputation and return home with the desire to visit us again and recommend us to their friends and family, this is the best promotion and marketing program that we can have.

We regret your feelings about the service you received, assure you will be corrected immediately because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

In Barceló Puerto Vallarta we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Puerto Vallarta and Barcelo.

We hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the end of October for 2 nights. Short Review, bad service ask for a king bed they gave us 2 queens, even when king was available, food disgusting no flavor, buffet restaurat is the worst, no beach. Jacuzzi in swimming pool dirty. Will never come back again, honestly there are better places with all inclusive in Puerto vallarta ans Riviera Nayarit. If you book minimum 3 nights you only get to choose 1 a la carte restaurant and only one opens every nigth and the buffet.

Room Tip: If you get a room with 2 queen beds, ask the maid to put beds together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This property is located about a 25 minute bus ride south of the town. It is surrounded by green and the water is fairly clear and warm. Service was spotty. Average at times and often very slow with meals for two persons being served about 15 minutes apart on one occasion at Los Arcos Grill. It was hard to get service at the buffet at times as well, despite not being that busy. Several times we found many of the food trays were empty. Smoking was apparently unrestricted in any of the outdoor areas including restaurants and poolside. We saw people actually smoking IN the pool, as well as while sitting with legs dangling in. There were no ashtrays in the pool. Say no more. On the up side, we were given a courtesy upgrade on check-in and enjoyed sleeping with open windows to the sound of the surf. The property is very pretty and relaxing. The beach vendors are there but not too aggressive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BubbaLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment posted on February 6th, 2013.

We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments. For Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve, as we want they back home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

Your feelings about the service you receive will be corrected immediately because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

We trust to have you here again and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautiful grounds, large swimming pools. Good, positive animators. The food is good, lots of choice. But good service only for the tip, if you do not pay, the dirty dishes are on the table, they do not pay attention to you. But this all-inclusive hotel?? Maybe waiters salary increase? Then they will work well ... Smoking throughout the hotel, it is a disgrace! The beach is nice, but many local pestered to buy something. Not very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sportom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment posted on February 4th, 2013.

We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments. For Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve, as we want they back home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

Your feelings about the service you receive will be corrected immediately because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

We trust to have you here again and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.1 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
849 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,000 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,458 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,820 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera a Barra de Navidad Km. 11.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $174 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing