We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best! Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #34 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hope, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best! Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned this morning from our all inclusive vacation at the Barcelo in Puerto Vallarta. One week was not enough. Upon arriving we were awestruck by the absolute beauty of the palatial estate. Carlos Valesquez at the front desk made sure we were checked in & had great rooms. They were spacious, beautiful & clean. The cleaning staff were great & accomodating. All drinks were mixed correctly & no watered down alcohol as some resorts appear to do. The food was varied & very good, the specialty restaurants were awesome also. All the servers were very friendly & we especially liked when they interacted personally & we had some very good laughs. I wish I knew the serving staff's names that were so professional & were so pleased & proud of their service they provide their guests. No problems with food, water, drinks, sleeping, rooms or service. This resort will definitely being seeing us again. Wonderful pools, hot tub areas, the grounds are so well designed, it is so relaxing. The entertainment was great. The Cantina was a wonderful time with their entertainment as well. No problems sleeping even if others are partying at the pool or Cantina, just turn on the air conditioning, if you don't like it cool just put it on low! There's more good stuff, just can't remember it all. Great job Barcelo!

Room Tip: If you are more into resting than out later at night having drinks stay at Tower 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    1,262
    489
    336
    265
See reviews for
1,433
1,531
49
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many Resorts and I have never seen an operation so well run from cleanliness to Service .Vinicio the front desk manager was very kind and always took the time to answer any questions.Angel Godiness, one of the waiters was very proffessional and attentive to detail. We noticed all the servers and cleaning staff were pleasant and most helpful.Franciso from the Italian restaurant went out of his way to fit us in for dinner when we forgot to make a reservation. Overall we were very well looked after. I highly recommend this resort to any body wanting a getaway. The setting is amazing..Anywhere you look its mountains or water..This is by the best place we've stayed.. vaughn











Francisco Lopez, the manager at the Italian restaurant fit us in on short notice when the place was full already. Really went out of his way .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaughn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our stay at the Barcelo has been excellent! Overall the staff are very friendly and helpful,however there are two staff members in the dining room who truly went out of their way to make our holiday the best ever.
Special thank you to Samantha Mariscal and Jose Tafoyo!!!
They are certainly number one! We found the resort to be very clean,the food awesome and the entertainment is great, Carlos and Aleiandro at the front reception desk have been very accommodating and have provided great service as well. They listen to your comments and concerns. We highly recommend the Barcelo for your next vacation!!
One of the nicest sunsets you can enjoy is at the patio restaurant at the Barcelo,

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the ocean and the pools!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dourez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this lovely resort from 2/21-3/2. We couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to stay for our first full-time visit to Puerta Vallerta. Have been checking this resort out for a number of years and always was impressed with the setting and the resort itself. We have visited PV twice off cruise ships and 5 hours is not enough to enjoy the city and its surroundings. We upgraded to a master suite in Tower 2 (2819) and it was worth every penny. The food is plentiful and good. We tried all three specialty restaurants (enjoyed the Spanish the best). We stayed away from the main pool because of the music, swim up bar, and activities . . . enjoying the quieter pool in front of Tower 2. The staff couldn't be nicer to us! Everyone from the groundskeepers, housekeepers, waitstaff, bellstaff, and bartenders were always friendly, attentive, and accommodating. I noticed that other postings gave this resort a "bad rap" due to illnesses allegedly caused by "something." These bad reviews are far from representative and of note: many people eat and drink off property and will blame the place they stay, while many mix many drinks, as well as, eat and drink to excess. We were in the hospitality business for over 38 years as owners-managers, the management at the Barcelo have a spotless property and have done everything to prevent the spread of "Montezuma."

On to other matters, you can catch public transportation (bus) for a 7 peso ride into town to walk the Malecon and enjoy the bustling city. A short walk from the resort will bring you to Mismaloya and the Zoo. Additionally, we met amazing people, who like us, enjoyed the resort immensely. All in all we couldn't say anything but positive about our experience as I write this the day before I return to work. We will definitely return to the special place. Shoutouts to: Antonio Rodriguez (Cantina), and Maricela (Front Desk). - - - Suzanne and Greg - Arizona

Room Tip: Avoid lower rooms in Tower 1 near the center of the building (noise factor). Also the higher the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent the end of Jan. beginning of Feb. at the Barcelo. We heard about all the people being sick and even talked with a few.....was a bit scarey hearing about all the sickness. We enjoyed our stay and ate the food and enjoyed the drinks. The problem is not cleanliness, it's the Norovirus.....you can get this anywhere, even a hospital. The resort is VERY clean and well looked after. NO BED BUGS, as some reviews claim, if you have bites, it's from the outside. My legs were covered in bites, but that's what happens when you stay close to the jungle area and walk around.....I could feel them biting. I just read an article on the news of the Norovirus hitting people at a resort in Puerto Vallarta.....I could tell it was the Barcelo. I'm sure it won't be long and other places will be hit. I think the travel agents should put out a warning and maybe the Barcelo should be shut down, so this virus can be controlled.
Now, the only thing that would keep me from returning to the Barcelo, is the location.....a bit far from downtown Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Stay in Tower 2 and bring bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tammy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week at Barcelo. The place is real nice, great views, but no one was there... The resort has a food issue. I did read about them before I went, assumed it would have passed by the time I got there. Made it to the last 2 days there before I got it.

If you go, and want to fish, sightsee, find a guy named Martin. He has a boat, snorkeling, great whale watching all at great price...

Great place, just would have preferred the sick part...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

February 22 - March 1, 2013. Four of us traveling together - what a wonderful vacation. We loved the resort. The staff was incredible-very accommodating. The pools/hot tubs were fantastic. Low occupancy when we were there, so no problems finding beach/pool chairs. Buffet was good. Went to the three specialty restaurants-all good food and very nice presentation(s), with very attentive waiters. Rooms were spacious and clean. Whole resort was clean. Our room was on the 5th floor and close to the ocean (tower 1). It was a wonderful location! Went to a couple evening shows, enjoyed them. Bands at the Cantina were good (maybe a little loud). Booked a couple tours at the resort. Easy bus ride to town. All the employees treat you right. Special thanks to Juan at the Buffet and Marcella at the front desk. It was great!! Jim and Valerie - Minnesota

Room Tip: Higher for a better view-and teen numbers to be closer to the ocean. (we were in 1517 - it was aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimvalMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
9.4 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
7.9 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing