We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, just as nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from our second visit to this property about a year apart. This is a great location for relaxing, they do have everything you need to chill out right at the resort, and there are plenty of options for activities from the resort. For us (traveling with 2 children ages 6 and 3) this is important, we don't want too much friction or stimulation - just get us to the pool and feed us! This trip was a little less successful that our last visit, but the hiccups did little to detract from our overall experience, and the staff was accommodating, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: The junior ocean view suites in tower 1 are great. Music from outside the hotel can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nschaumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,847 - 1,853 of 4,684 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from a week's stay at the Barcelo with friends and family and had an amazing time. Great accomodations, food, weather, staff, and beach. Had read the reviews about the hotel before booking ,as well as after, and we are in agreement with the majority that Barcelo is a wonderful resort in PVR. No complaints!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Premium accomodations, as it is definitely worth it...free WiFi, premium beverages, perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki110175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Barcelo Puerto Vallarta is tucked away about 1/2 hour south of Puerto Vallarta. The rooms and views were amazing. We enjoyed all the restaurants- especially Los Arcos in the afternoon for nachos and guacamole, Capri restaurant for their lasagna and El Patio for a great breakfast buffet every morning. I highly recommend upgrading to club premium as you get a great view on higher floor, free wifi, and room service (for coffee every morning). We enjoyed a romantic dinner served on our balcony overlooking the ocean which was wonderful! It is away from the hustle of Puerto Vallarta but for us it was truly relaxing and beautiful destination. The spa was a wonderful experience - we went twice!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club Premium for higher floor, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RandRTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

August was our third time back in six years. Barcelo has maintained the property and level of service very well. We love the atmosphere and location for relaxation. Might go back again for the fourth time next year.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Barcelo Premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rongregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at Barcelo properties in other parts of the world and they never disappoint me. A friend and I traveled to PVR for 5 days this past week and we loved the hotel!!! Since it is an all inclusive it is very convenient for when you just want to relax on the beach or by the pool with a drink or two in hand! Food was good, some days better than others but all in all well worth it.
The hotel is a little far from the city; it can be a good 30-40 min taxi drive and costs about 180 mexican pesos so it would be good to keep this in mind for your travel. I guess from what everyone told us it was just their winter season so the road is VERY VERY bad and is under construction.
But if your looking for an all inclusive, and a nice hotel that does not need to be in the city, I would recommend this one!! Beautiful hotel resort with good staff!!

Room Tip: On either tower I would recommend rooms that are towards the corner on the beach and on higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eddiepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were there in January and will be there again very soon. We love it so much, when we got home we book another trip right away. We were treated like kings and queens from the minute we arrived. We got the primium package, with private check-in and was greeted by Gabrellia, and she up graded us to a grand master suite, it was the prettiest room with a gorgous view. The food was incredible, and the Chefs are amazing. The entire staff was wounderful. the resort is simply beautiful, and truley it is paradise. Thank you Barcelo for the best vacation ever,and we can't wait to return. We are sure it will be as amazing as the first trip.

Room Tip: The higher the floor , the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our third trip to the Barcelo and we are already planning our trip for next year. The grounds, the rooms, the restaurants - they are all amazing. What makes this place special is the people who work there. They all work so very hard to make sure our vacation is perfect. I hope the management truly appreciates the wonderful people who give so much of themselves.
The only thing I would change would be to provide free WIFi to the guests. I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Slynne021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.1 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,967 reviews
9.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,792 reviews
9.1 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#48 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,840 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#35 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera a Barra de Navidad Km. 11.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $201 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing