We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best vacation ever!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mountain Ranch, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best vacation ever!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were there in January and will be there again very soon. We love it so much, when we got home we book another trip right away. We were treated like kings and queens from the minute we arrived. We got the primium package, with private check-in and was greeted by Gabrellia, and she up graded us to a grand master suite, it was the prettiest room with a gorgous view. The food was incredible, and the Chefs are amazing. The entire staff was wounderful. the resort is simply beautiful, and truley it is paradise. Thank you Barcelo for the best vacation ever,and we can't wait to return. We are sure it will be as amazing as the first trip.

Room Tip: The higher the floor , the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    1,264
    491
    337
    265
See reviews for
1,437
1,532
49
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our third trip to the Barcelo and we are already planning our trip for next year. The grounds, the rooms, the restaurants - they are all amazing. What makes this place special is the people who work there. They all work so very hard to make sure our vacation is perfect. I hope the management truly appreciates the wonderful people who give so much of themselves.
The only thing I would change would be to provide free WIFi to the guests. I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slynne021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

As a family of four we all really enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo in PV. If you want to spend time downtown I would suggest something a little closer, but for great relaxation, service, food and entertainment to go with superior rooms with views you can not beat this place. Very easy to reserve the al a carte restaurants even if they are a little slow and only average food is still a great experience. The buffet were above average compared to the 8 other places I've stayed in PV. We went in October, so we expected it to be a little slow with respect to people and entertainment, but the staff did a great job keeping us entertained with sports and the nightly shows were again above average. The beach is small and we did end up with sand flea bites, but the snorkeling out by turtle rock was great and we don't spend a lot of time on the beach anyway. If you like the beach I would suggest Neuvo or Bucerias as the beach there is great.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor for a better view. We had floor six and it was great. Floors 8 @ 9 are fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryT252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and it was wonderful! When we arrived we were promptly greeted received a warm welcome. Staff was very kind and accommodating. We were upgraded to a family suite but had only paid for the junior suite which was fine with us (Granted we never really ventured into the second room) when we got to the room it was nice and clean, comfortable beds. They have "El Patio" which is the buffet area for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Now here, I must be very candid and express that the food was good but by no means was it great. Breakfast was good, lunch as well, but dinner wasn't nice for me. So for dinner we avoided really going down simply because food selection wasn't impressive. There is a "Snack Bar" area where you can dine anywhere from 11am to 6pm. That place was WONDERFUL!! They had a full menu to choose from, you ordered appetizers, main entree, and desert. They give you chips and guacamole when you sit and take your drink order, so it is really nice because you can just sit and enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean. I would head down around 5 to have dinner.

Staff was always wonderful and very kind, now we did have an issue one night, because both my husband and I woke up the next morning with bites on our bodies, so I went down to tell the staff at the front and the women there ( Claudia Arces) was very nonchalant about the situation, didn't seem to care we had a concern and dismissed it. She never even asked for the room number or for common courtesy extend an apology and much less say she would look into it. I had to tell her my room number and ask her to please have someone look at it. That is what made my rating go from 5 star to 4 star. It's understandable that it wasn't her fault it happened, we were never rude at any moment, so I didn't understand her behavior. It was really a "turn off" as a customer receiving this treatment. I hope that this issue can be resolved so that future guests don't have this same situation repeat itself of having staff be lackadaisical. I hope the manager (Rodolfo Pacheco who checks these reviews) looks into this.

Overall, nice resort, nice views! Great staff, very friendly and accommodating to our needs!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raquel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hekelingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our stay was s.u.p.e.r. Very kind, helpfull and friendly people, always walking around with a big smile. Good food. Excellent service all over the place. Nice and clean. Perfect room. Clean swimmingpools.

Room Tip: No tips need: everything is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was amazing from beg to end, the view of the room was amazing. We had dinner at the restaurant the first night and it was better than average. The only problem was the distance from the airport, I dont usually like long taxi drives. But besided that I loved my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longlifeahead s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, it's about 45 min from airport, $25 taxi ride. The food is average, the specialty restaurants were a step up. Enjoyed our dinner there. The sand is rough, not unwalkable but not smooth. There are plenty of places to sit by the pool, in the shade, and enough of the beach. Going down to the beach you have to deal with people offering you goods and services, but they are not overly persistent. English spoken with no problem. 3 different bars to get plenty of drinks, they'll make almost anything. Night entertainment was not for us, there was a talent show, a dance show, and a circus. We were just wanting to escape from everything. It was a good place to be low key.
We walked to the zoo for a fun little adventure, no problem. $10, the animals are used to being fed so come right up to you. Nothing amazing, but fun to be so close to all the animals. Everyone was friendly. Balcony is nice you get a view of courtyard and ocean. Really enjoyed the shower in our room.

Room Tip: Tower 1 has the cantina on the 1st floor, which plays music until 1am. Loudest on Sat. night. If thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
9.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
9.4 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing