We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Time In Barcelo and all the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #32 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Laguna Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5th Time In Barcelo and all the best”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been in this resort 5 times so far and i am planning to go Back there Again and Again ,I always taking our friends with us and every time i take different friends with us they love it too and they want to go back again ,the bell boy Cain was super helpful actually they are all good and helpful ,Front desk ,Bartenders ,Cleaning crow ,Waiters and waitresses all good and helpful ,I always have super good time there ,i had a junior suit booked with my package and when i told the manager that i have been there 4 times already and this is my 5th time she upgraded my room to the beautiful master suite no charge and that was very very nice of here,i am recommending to every one to go to this resort ,This is one of the best , super clean and luxury hotel in puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: All the rooms all nice specially the Master Suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,921
    1,337
    527
    345
    271
See reviews for
1,579
1,595
51
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Most terrible experience we've ever had. Hotel obviously offers great discounts for weekends, so natives come in hordes. There is no siesta, music and drinking until 2 in the morning. Smoking permitted in the rooms. Air conditioning is pulling smoke from other rooms. All in all it is impossible to get a good night sleep: noise until after 2am, and then smoke from 4-5am. All rooms except Master Suites are facing the pool and the Bar. No place to hide from noise. Complaining about it is meaningless. During our stay they hosted Dirt Biker/ATV Convention. Dirt and dust everywhere, drinking and shouting until 4am. During the week service is greatly altered. Food is worse during the week,
The only respite is the Ocean if you consider swimming in it.
We will never come back to this resort.

Room Tip: Only Master suite is appropriate if you want to slip at night with balcony open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexaander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest:

Above all I would like to thank you for your time to share your comments and I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology for the non-intentional incidents that you experienced during your stay.

Regarding the food I would like to say that our Buffets are liked by the majority of our guests so they let us know in the surveys we carry out in the resort. It is unfortunate that your family did not enjoy our cuisine in spite of the variety of meals offered in our Buffet Restaurant.

Throughout the year our hotel receives different kind of national and international tourism, such as couples, families and groups, we regret that the recent group has disturbed your tranquility and relaxation.

I am very sorry since we didn´t meet your expectations because for Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve.

We trust to have you here again the next time and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Barcelo of Puerto Vallarta is a nice, well kept hotel. Guess it was built over 30 years ago, but since they maintain it constantly it looks really nice. The rooms are upgraded with marble and tiles, and are specious. The view is breathtaking! jungle and the ocean literally together. The rooms are mostly junior suites so they are comfy enough for a family of 4, may be even more!
The staffs are friendly and courteous. Everybody tries to help, if they can.
Mr Cain Pena, greeted us before entering the lobby, and helped us every time we needed to get a taxi, helping you get in and get out of the taxi. Over all if you are a nature person , you will like the place. And by the way, it is very family oriented too. Hope they keep it that way.

PS: we stayed at suite # 1820, the view was absolutely gorgeous and Juana kept our room always tidy and clean, and couple flowers on our table, Nice touch Juana!
Bobby and Nadereh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I, along with 2 other couples, just got back from a great week at the Barcelo. This was our first time staying at a Barcelo property and we were not disappointed!! We've stayed at many all inclusive resorts and this one was one of the nicest.
The pools are amazing!! We never had any trouble finding a chair in a great spot and there were 6 of us. The resort was pretty empty though since it is the off season. The beach isn't the greatest but not nearly as bad as some people on here have described it. It is a bit small and the sand is a little rocky but it really isn't that bad. The worst part about the beach are the people selling stuff. They are ruthless and won't leave you alone.
But for us, the pools definitely made up for the lack of beach.
The rooms are very nice and very big. We didn't do the upgrade and honestly we didn't feel like we missed out on anything,
Check in was smooth and we didn't have any problem with the staff. They were all very nice to us. However, we booked with Funjet and right now they are running a promotion where you get unlimited a la cart dinners and 2 days free internet. I had read on hear that they acted like they didn't know anything about this so I made sure that I printed out something that specifically said that we get that. Sure enough, they acted like they had no idea what we were talking about. Luckily I had that paper and they honored it for us.
The food at the buffet was pretty good with a good variety. The a la cart dinner's were also good. The steak and seafood was our groups favorite!
One thing that we didn't like were the shows. We were in there with other families that had young kids and the first group to come out were wearing practically nothing with see-through tops. It made us uncomfortable being there with so many young children that we left 5 minutes into it. We decided to give the show another chance and it was the same thing! It felt a little trashy!
This hotel is about 30-40 minutes from the airport and down town. We took a bus in to town that picked us up right across from the hotel and it was only $1.00 a person. Way better than paying $30.00 for a taxi. (each way) The bus ride wasn't that bad either and it picks up every 15 minutes or so. We also visited the zoo across the street. It was $10 a person and not worth it if you ask me. It was pretty run down and you can tell the animals aren't very well taken care of. They have baby tigers you can hold but they charge $40 and they have them chained up in a small holding area. It was pretty sad! I would not recommend going to the zoo.
Overall, we had a great week at the Barcelo and we would for sure stay there again! It was very relaxing with amazing pools, beautiful grounds, great staff and spacious, comfortable rooms! If you don't have a good time here there is something wrong with you!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and had a great view of the pool and ocean! Anything on the upper floors wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irek5374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I actually took notes from prior reviews to be best prepared. Based on the reviews, we were pleasantly expected. We visited Barcelo from September 1 through September 5. It is off season and was only occupied by around 25% so it was not crowded at all. No problem to find lounge chairs (we had our pick) and reservations at the restaurants were so available. A negative of which we can fully understand due to it being off season was that not all of the full-service restaurants were open each night so our choice was limited. As so many mentioned, the food in the buttet was just okay (not memorable) but for this price, it was a great value. The food in the restaurants (although not fine dining cuisine) was a step above the buffet. As so many mentioned, the rooms were very spacious and clean. Service throughout the resort was great. I have to agree with the majority is that the only place that the service was less than stellar (not very friendly or accommodating) was the front desk. Barcelo should get that corrected as this is where first and lasting impressions are made. This was our first all inclusive and we will definitely do it again. Next time, we will go for an adult only. I am not quite sure what people are thinking of bringing infants to a place like this and have them screaming during dinner, etc. Seems a bit selfish to me and the infants are too small to enjoy or even know that they are at a resort. The only other recommendation for Barcelo is to enforce a children-only pool. There were children in all of the pools.

Room Tip: No need to pay more for a premium room but ask for a room above the 4th floor to get above the palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElDoradoHillsCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

4 nights at Barcelo, Puerto Vallarta! Great hotel and wonderful views from our Grand Master Suite! Great service and staff! Loved the Premium Club, well worth the extra cost. Rooms and views could not have been better!

Room Tip: We were in the Grand Master Suite in the South Tower. Awesome views and extremely large. (over 1500...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dejackson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Went to Puerto Vallarta for my birthday. Experience was great. Very laid-back atmoosphere and very relaxing. Had a Premium Junior Suite which is the way to go. Rooms are very large, terrace with table and chairs and awesome view of the Bay of Banderas. Best specialty restaurant was Don Quijote (Spanish food). All the staff was very accomodating.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the city, this is not the place to be. It is at the far end of the hotel zone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleannElPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,556 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#39 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,649 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#48 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,642 reviews
8.7 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#61 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,516 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing