We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
san diego
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Loved this resort, one of the more beautiful ones I've been to. Stayed 9 days in a Club Premium Jr. Ste on the top floor, definitely worth the upgrade for the views, computer access, and access to top shelf liquors (Club Premium members have their own separate room area on the first floor complete with bar, computers, snacks, TV). Rooms are huge, bathrooms are huge, and balconies have lots of space with great views of the resort and the sea (the higher the room, the better the ocean view). Main pool area with swim up bar is fantastic for socializing--pool shelf is great for hanging out and dozing--bring your own blow up swim toy to relax on. Chairs around this area can be hard to find after 10 a.m. in the slow season, but you can always find a chair around the activity pool just steps from the main pool area. If you want a chair just to relax and enjoy the ocean view (steps from the ocean on a grassy area) look for them on a small hill to the right of the Don Quixote restaurant. Walked to downtown Mismaloya (10 min walk) and saw Mama Lucia tequila factory (tastings included) as well as the local zoo. Admission is expensive ($50 p/person incl. bags of food and opportunity to handle animals)--the "baby" tiger and lion are not exactly babies anymore and can play quite aggressively which may alarm some individuals, especially children. The resort provides opportunities for guided walks and activities (to the tequila factory as well as Saturday night jaunts to popular night spots in Puerto Vallarta), so if you're hesitant about venturing out alone there are alternatives. Loved this resort, and will be back as soon as I can swing it financially--many individuals spoke of getting great deals on the internet to this resort, and it definitely offers more for what you will spend.

Room Tip: Club Premium offers the best rooms, even jr suites have wonderful space and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mstess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    1,314
    515
    343
    270
See reviews for
1,516
1,584
51
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BG, KY USA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Loved it so much Oct 2010, went back Oct 2011. Food was very good and varied. Went in off season, still had tons of food choices. Drinks were plentiful and strong. Service was exceptional! Maybe we are not spoiled enough. The resort is old, but updated and modern. The beach is small because they didn't import sand from Australia.(do some research on sandy beaches, HI) Snorkeled at Los Arcos from boat captain hired on the beach. Walked to the best Zoo ever(petted a lion, tiger, and crocodile) kissed a giraffe. Took a VERY safe cab into town for fun shopping. If you want Lobster and snails at every meal, or your room cleaned 7 times a day, this is not the resort for you. If you want to be waited on 24/7 by a great staff, book it and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phopkins25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a week at Barcelo. This was our 4th stay at this property and again, I was very happy with everything. Our stay was the during the last week of September, the low, rainy season. I have never seen Barcelo look so green and lush. So breathtaking. There weren't very many people there at this time and that was also pretty neat.. We saw a few giant Iguanas in the resort, bullfrogs, crabs, lizzards..all sorts of creatures on the grounds. Never once did we see anything inside of our rooms! The rooms were very nice, seems to have been upgraded rather recently. We stayed in 1801 and had a beautiful view of both the ocean and the super tropical hillside.. Service at the resort was awesome, everyone was very nice and many remembered us from previous visits. Manager Ms Elisabeth at the front desk is always a great experience. She made sure things were running smoothly even though I broke a champagne glass all over the place as soon as I got there! Had fun catching up with Bruno and Jose, and the many others that it takes to make sure this resort stays as wonderful as it is!
We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Just returned with my husband from a 6-night stay celebrating our 10th anniversary. The goal of our trip was to relax and we definitely were able to do that at this resort.

PROS: every room is a suite and has a great view (the higher the floor, the better), beautiful pools, great drinks & swim-up bar, easy & cheap bus ride into town, fun activities around the pool during the day, staff are so friendly & cater to your every need, the evening show dancers had some decent talent, nice & quiet at night for relaxing, transportation to and from the airport was set up by the hotel and was really great.

CONS: food (we don't like seafood and from an American perspective, the steaks/burgers/beef were pretty gross and a lot of the food was greasy; the breakfast buffet was good though, and the lunch options at Los Arcos snack bar were decent.); there really is no beach at this resort (which we knew going there); the sand is rough, the beach is tiny, and despite saying no to every vendor walking around, we were constantly followed, watched and approached to buy things - VERY annoying! I wish the resort could keep the vendors outside of the roped beach area. The WiFi connection was awful - very inconsistent. I wasn't able to keep in touch with my kids via facetime or email like I had hoped. Oh well.

HIGHLIGHTS: Amazing massages down the beach (look for the green sign "Paradise Massages"; $20 US per person for a full hour massage - not affiliated with the resort), awesome pools!! Some local jewelry vendors set up their stuff in the hallway on Friday and Monday. You can barter and get some pretty pieces of jewelry for around $10 or $15 US. There are also some great jewelry finds downtown by the river - make sure to barter. (I bought a pair of earrings that started at $45 and within 30 seconds the price was down to $10 as I began to walk away; we also did the ATV tour with Canopy River Tours - TONS of fun!

Suggestions for hotel:
- Guests should be able to access a computer and printer for free to print their boarding passes before leaving (I've never stayed at a hotel that didn't offer this service)
- If a guest is put in a "Club Premium Room" but not given the other benefits of Club Premium, make that clear somehow at the beginning. (caused confusion around ordering room service thinking it was free when apparently it was not)
- Upgrade of the TV's to HD would be great, as well as an expansion of channels. We don't speak Spanish, and there was only a handful of channels we could watch.
- Definitely upgrade your router/internet connection situation!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views; have to upgrade to Club Premium in order to stay in the top 3 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nytravelerjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Took the family on a trip before the kiddies are all grown up. It was incredible. The staff were outstanding and accomodating....was attentive to your every need and aimed to please. The hotel was nice and clean and the room had a wonderful view of the bay and the pool area. We had the family suite with two bedrooms and it worked out very well. The pool area was nice also with a swim up bar in one pool. Children were allowed in all the pools and tended to hang with their parents at the pool bar....which was a bit frustrating....I would prefer the children not to be around the bar area and have their own pool. Also, the amount of pool chairs available is minimul....especially when it is busy. We had to come out early to be able to have a chair by the pool. We did not do any of the night life activities, but I know they do not offer too much. The dinner in the restaurants were nice but did take some time....a good hour. However, the food presentation was wonderful and the food was good. I would not say it was spectacular, but it was good. We did a couple excursions...the Outdoor Adventure-Zip line excursion was great and the resort made it all easy to get to and back. I would not recommend the free excursion to town offered by the resort. It was nice to see a bit of the town with a guide but overall 8 hours of going to places not of interest. The glass factory and silver store were nice, but I could have went there on my own. The tequila distillary was nice to see, but just not where i wanted to spend my time and the restaurant afterward was ok. I just felt like we wasted an entire day for nothing. If you want to tour the town, take the bus into town and walk around at your liesure...the hotel staff will tell you where you should go to see what you want. Overall it was a great experience. The kids had a great time (ages 16 and 17) and we would go again. Although I would be tempted to check out some other places also....but I would hate to be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeAnna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort and we were not disappointed. The room was huge, clean and quiet. It was just the 2 of us and the room was big enough for 4. The king size bed and pillows were very comfortable. The mini-fridge was restocked daily at no charge. We had a nice size deck with a beautiful view of the pool and grounds which were kept spotless. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - great variety and tasty and so much of it!! Huge buffets were served up at every meal and the "reservation only" restaurants were outstanding. We always had plenty to eat and the service at the pool constantly brought us refreshing drinks. We went the last week of Sept which is low season and we enjoyed the fact that there were less people so we always had our pick of several loungers by the pool and no waiting lines for the buffet. Even though it was rainy season it only rained in the late afternoon or evening and it was still HOT and HUMID! The last 3 days we had blue sky and sunshine from 8am till sunset and the sunsets were beautiful! We mostly lounged by the pool but did venture into the ocean a couple of times which was so warm and clear. The beach was not as nice as a Maui beach but the cove is still beautiful. Yes there are vendors on the beach but if you politely and firmly say "no" they will not bother you. We even had the awesome experience of seeing a sea turtle come up on shore and watched as it dug a hole and laid eggs! All in all this was a wonderful resort and experience and we would come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaggsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed in a junior suite with our 3 kids. The hotel desk staff wonderful. The transfers to and from the airport also were first class. We were supposed to have a king bed and a double Instead we got a free upgrade to a king, Queen and a cot in a 2 room suite! the in room fridge was stalked daily! There were no sign of bed bugs, bad food, sickness or any of the nasty stuff we had read on this site before we left Canada. The beach was small but large enough to relax. The pools were nice but there really wasn't enough chairs for the number of guests in thd hotel. Done ignorant guests would lay their towels out the night prior to ensure the best spots each morning. That was very frustrating and not fair! The buffet was simply awesome. Thd menu could be anything from western to Japanese to Italian. The kids were 7 10 and 13- there was something for everyone! We did dinner in one of the a la carte and none of us cared for it. Far too fancy and slow to make kids sit through. For us though having no set time and being able to show up at a time that we chose at the buffet worked for our family. If you are looking for a night life you may better look elsewhere as this lacked variety. We were there 12 days and we saw the repeat dancers nigt after might- just doing a different dance. That got old fast. Walking to Mismaloya is just 10 minutes. The zoo is also about 15 min walk through Mismaloya. The bus to town was about 3.50 and it went straight to town. VERY safe. We went in a few times then for about $15. US a can took all 5 of us back! Worth it cause getting a bus in was easy cause it only went one way. Even finding a bus to stop to take us back was impossible. For the sake if less frustration we would take the bus in and a cab back. Any questions just ask! Ljarratt@telus.net
We probably won't return but that would only bd because there are so many other new places to try that do have a bit more good variety and more nightlife. The hotel was a good 20 minute bus ride into town just to let u know. Grabbing a cab from the hotel to the zip line would have been less than half if what the tour guides fees were! If we had know it was only 5 min down the road we would have done it ourselves!!! Oh and there is no physical possible way that food in the buffet could come into contact with sunlight or spoil food! I cant see why that was ever written by another person. The total buffet is covered and the sun can't even get near it. We had 9 in our party in total and we were all different sizes and ages- none of us got sick. None got bites, sores or rashes either. So if you are looking for a nice quiet holiday with minimal nightlife then this is your place- the pillows were fine as well. Yes, the roosters do start in the morning as posted but we asked to be in tower 1 where they are not so loud- what do u expect though it's Mexico! Get up early and enjoy it. Have fun!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 5Canadiantravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,607 reviews
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#47 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,586 reviews
8.7 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#60 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,500 reviews
14.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing