We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THe boat ride there is fabulous !! VIEW heavenly!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quimixto

Quimixto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great place for snorkeling south of the city.
Galveston Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“THe boat ride there is fabulous !! VIEW heavenly!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

There is a nice resturant there, very rustic but good food. There is a beach , but it is not so hot but serves as a beach, small. They have a waterfal that you can walk to. Lots of kids there that locals provide shoes and toys for at Christmas. Any boat ride down the coast ,,,to Los Animos , Yelapa are all terrific. Still Wow's me after doing it for 45 years ! The last view of paradise !! And Caletas ! the view of the shore from the water gives you views of Whales now for 3 months and fabulous coves and mountains ! Gotta love it !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank contessapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    12
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good beach stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food is great either with a group or by yourself. Beach chairs and drinks are part of your fee. Some snorkeling away from the beach and boats.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Berenice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“snorkel cruise to Los Arcos, Quimixto and lunch on Los Animas beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I can't find the company/ship name of the cruise we took a few weeks ago. The boat traveled to Los Arcos for snorkeling. It might be the time of year but the visibility was bad. They chum the water so fish come to you but you could only see a foot down and there were maybe 3 kinds of fish. There was a dead pelican in the water; luckily I saw this when I was back on the boat. Bring motion sickness meds with you if you are prone to that. There is a guy who will film everything from the boarding of the boat to the end so you can buy a video if desired. There is an open bar on the boat. They don't cut you off at any time. From Los Arcos we travelled south past PV and docked at Quimixto. A man with the biggest iguana I've seen in person was on the dock for pictures. I didn't realize this was not free until he asked for $10. I gave it to him thinking nothing of it but then saw he really doesn't treat his pet very well as we walked into the town. You take a horse trail up to the waterfall. Don't take the horses, they are not healthy and the one couple who did take the horses said they were scared because the terrain was so uneven and steep. The waterfall is beautiful. They sell beer at the cafe there. The people here are very poor and you can only get to Quimixto by water. I bought 2 necklaces and overpaid for the 2nd, willingly giving the man too much. He thanked me profusely and told me how much it would help his family. The last stop was for lunch at a very cool cafe on Las Animas beach. The cafe bathroom was so pretty I thought I was back in San Francisco. The food was good and they have cononut or mango mojitos. Be ready for a ton of street vendors to approach your table selling pie slices, jewelry, chatchkees and the young boy who wants to take your picture (for a fee of course) with his pet iguana. Quimixto is apparently where Madonna recently held a private party. Our guide didn't see her but spoke with people who did. I guess she owns a condo somewhere in PV.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It its a fishing village without roads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

however it relies as much on the tourista as the pescado. The falls is fine.  
Highly recommend the moderately strenuous hike from Boca de Tomatlan. Then comida and cervaza and a water taxi home

Helpful?
7 Thank BillybobMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool little town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We rode horseback up to the waterfall and went swimming in the pool beneath it. It was part of the Sea Safari by Vallarta Adventures. Excellent!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quimixto also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Quimixto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing