We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They've got it all”

Playa de los Muertos
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.00*
and up
Puerto Vallarta Day VIP Beach Hopping Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Deadmen's Beach," named for legendary pirate raids on the nearby village, is one of the most-frequented beaches in Puerto Vallarta.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They've got it all”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at a condo up in the hotel zone, but decided to spend the day at the beach at Los Muertos. What a hoot. My husband enjoyed the fresh oysters served on the beach, we had margaritas at one of the many beachside restaurants, and dealt with the MANY vendors that peddle their wares. That annoys some people, but we enjoy the game of it all.......just be careful of what you buy....make sure the silver is stamped, and don't buy from the first guy....as someone later will have a better price....no matter how much you haggle with the first guy ....you can always find it cheaper as the day wears on. It is a fun place to hang out and people watch. We had some good food at various places, and STRONG margaritas everywhere we went. We always go in November so heat is not as bad. I can imagine that in the summertime, this place rocks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelgal998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    269
    113
    20
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

You cannot go to PV and not visit this area. It has more restaurants on the beach and great cafes. The best part is that if you like people watching this IS the area to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouIenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Since 1967 the beach has shrunk but still FUN!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lots of activity. They are building a new pier there now but it is not finished. I think the new pier blocks alot of the whole bay view but that is just a fault in the design. The water there is not as clear as it used to be . The beach is crowded in winter and summer. Lots of beach bars and cafes. La Carreta and Fidencio's are the two Playa de los Muertos favorites on the south end. El Dorado is too stiff , since being remodeled and too new age for me. Langostino's on the north side of the pier is great beach scene and cafe . Nice walkway all the way from the Rio Cuale all the way down to the South end of Los Muertos beach. So a good stroll is waiting for you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank contessapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to people watch”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Love all the beachfront restaurants. Just pick one, plop down, order a beer and/or some food and spend some time people watching.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ehaslam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“interesting part of town”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lot of small bars and restaurants in this location. Unique area. We enjoyed shopping in Playa de los Muertos. The Happy Hours are plentiful. 2 for 1 at most Happy Hours. Can't beat it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheryl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Muertos also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Playa de los Muertos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing