We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little detour from the Malecon” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Cuale

Isla Cuale
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.00*
and up
Puerto Vallarta Adventure Tour: Ziplining, Rappelling and Tequila Tasting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Island on the River Cuale overlooked by Gringo Gulch.
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little detour from the Malecon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

At the south end of the Malecon, as you pass over a bridge toward Los Muertos beach, look down to your left and you will see Isla Cuale, a small island in the middle of the river. Take the steps down to find a small museum of the area's pre-Columbian cultures, as well as some restaurants and shops (all touristy). The foliage and the "hidden" nature are attractive, and it is a nice break from the rest of touristy Puerto Vallarta.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dallasbobtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    95
    37
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over the road is a treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

When walking the River Cuale keep going up the hill, across the road and away from the tourist area and you will find several special boutiques. KoKo's is an awesome shop with women's clothing, shoes and jewelry. I go to see her as soon as I get into PV as she will tailor clothing for you...at no charge! I loved a dress but I prefer sleeves, she put on the Peek-a-Boo sleeves for me, perfect. Something was too tight, she made it bigger for me. I have several pair of shoes from KoKo's that women on the street in the US will stop and ask where I got them. I cannot say enough good things about KoKo's, everything is handmade and of a great quality. There are several other shops on that side of the Isle of Cuale of good quality and higher end gifts. Walk all they way to explore the gardens and cross over one of the swaying bridges, it's fun!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DreamingMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try to check it out if you are in the area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Neat location, with some good potential for a cool little island neighborhood. At the moment it's only full of vendors, but if you enter the bigger shops there are some unique trinkets you can't find at many of the more mainstream shops on the Malecon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Third World atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Extremely dirty area and river is depressingly strewn with trash and human waste. Low-lifes hanging around.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madcapmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Trinkets? No gracias.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Need Kitsch? go here and the flea market to stock up. The walk up the island is nice and it's full of cats at night. the highlight by far are the swinging bridges.

Helpful?
1 Thank mrkickit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Cuale also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Isla Cuale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing