We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time there and we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2nd time there and we will be back!”
Reviewed February 20, 2005

This place is beautiful! Our rooms were so comfortable as always.I slept so good. service excellent! This was our second time there. The grounds are so beautifuly landscaped. gorgous architecture.We ate mostly at the marina while at the marriott. the food is way overpriced at the hotel. But, if your starving at poolside and are willing to pay 9.00 for a hamburger..go for it. They were the best I ever had.We found the best inexpensive place to eat right up the road from the hotel as your walking toward the marina, stay to the street and walk down a couple of blocks to a place called..TACOS and BEER. Unbelievable shrimp tacos and fish tacos for 1.50. guacomole, a huge bowl with chips 2.00. Thats less then I pay for an advocado here in Calif. Hey, dont pay attention to the gripers who post bad things about this place. I figure, life is what you make of it. Enjoy the vacation and quit the gripin. ya, so there was building going on next door. big deal! never even bothered us. there's always going to be someone who will find something to complain about. Whiners.....anyways, The pool is huge and was never overcrowded. although it's a very good idea to find a spot EARLY. just go to the pool and check out some towels and place them on a chair. then go back to have breakfast or to your room . Thats what we did. it was all good to me. we will return there thats for sure.....oh ya, Take a bus or taxi to Wallmart and buy your liquor, drinks, snacks. It will save you a lot of $$$$$.

Helpful?
16 Thank patagoniamaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,932
    818
    180
    62
    49
See reviews for
966
1,105
95
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2005

We stayed 4 nights at the Marriott in February and not sure why the last reviewer had a filthy room. We didn't find that to be the case at all. We had a gardenview room and although it seemed small, it was very clean. The towels were big and fluffy, and the robes were great. The maid left flowers in the room and always made a special decoration out of the towels. We did leave her $2 each day, if that helped. The people at the hotel were all so nice and gracious. Even though the hotel was sold out, we never had a problem getting pool chairs. And we weren't pestered by time share or other vendors. All it takes is a smile and "no, gracios" and they leave you alone. Didn't care for the Mikado restaurant. Service was lacking. Make sure you go downtown and eat at La Valentinas for an authentic and awesome Mexican dinner. La Palapa was great too. Cabs are so cheap, 50 pesos to downtown, which is about 4.50. I would stay here again, although would love to get a villa next time. One thing I would never do is stay at an all inclusive. Too much to see and do and eat outside of your resort.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 13, 2005

Grounds are nice but cleanliness in the rooms is non-existent.

We should have stayed at the Westin or the 4 Seasons in Punta Mita.

Best atrribute is the pool and the beach.

Beware of panhandlers and timeshare sharks.

I know its Mexico but Bed Bugs and bacteria don't cut it at these proces.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 10, 2005

We went during Thanksgiving 2004 and, although the construction of another building was very near, that didn't bother us at all. We were totally mesmerized by the outstanding service. The staff is the best I have ever seen, eager to please and totally service oriented. The rooms are big and beautiful, our room was done twice daily, which was a grateful surprise. The hotel is not located in downtown area, but it is very accessible by bus (very cheap and you have the possibility to meet locals) until very late at night. It is not worth to use taxis in Puerto Vallarta with the good (but old) bus system. I will definitively return to Marriot Casamagna.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 9, 2005

We were highly disappointed in our experience at this resort. Billed as a four star, we were dismayed to see the room with an opening in the bathroom to the plumbing, dirty vents, and chipped furniture. Our balcony contained only one chair, and our garden view was dismal. We tried to get another room, was shown another room, and when we said we wanted it we were then told it wasnt available. We felt we were treated very dismissively. The pool area was pretty, however the construction noise was absolutely horrible! I could not imagine relaxing over the din of jack hammers, saws, and torches. We escaped the next day, going to the Fiesta Americana which we thoroughly enjoyed--it salvaged our vacation at the expense of one day.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2005

This was my 3rd trip to PV, and this hotel was by far the best I've stayed at. My wife and I loved it. First of all, the construction -- I just got back on Jan. 2nd, and we heard the construction OCCASIONALLY, but with the music playing poolside, we barely noticed it. The rooms were very nice - ocean view rooms on our side of the hotel were basically ON the beach. Nice new beds. The pool area is nice and very relaxing, but since it was high season, we had to get up by 8:00AM to secure a decent location at the pool. The poolside breakfast buffet had very good food, and great lunch food at the poolside cafe (try the Red Snapper sandwich!). The service was 5-star all the way -- everyone went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Very nice sushi joint (Mikado) on site. Our other favorite restaurants in Puerto Vallarta -- Cafe Des Artistes (in town), La Palapa (ask for table on the beach), and you must check out Le Kliff (translation: the Cliff!) -- this restaurant is a long cab ride from Marriott (about 40 minutes) on the south side of the bay, but it is worth it -- the restaurant is built into the cliffside and has one of the most beautiful views I've seen in PV -- this is the type of place you would go to "pop the question" -- VERY romantic.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2004

Spent a great week in Dec 2004 at Casa Magna. Rooms were great-clean, new beds (ie Westin Heavenly Bed) and rearranged to face the window and the ocean. Food around the pool was good, varied and reasonable. Staff and consierge service were fabulous. Weather was great. Every morning there was free coffee in the bar and a NY Times summary. Mikado rest. was good but pricey. Champs bar a good place to snack. The only negatives--poolchairs were tight, there were always chairs but you were on the lawn or beach if you weren't up early, also there is construction of a large timeshare project next door which made some noise. All in all minor negatives.
In summary--friendly staff, very clean hotel with great room and good food. You can't go wrong and I'll be back next year.
PS--consider the Canopy tour for something to do, it was great and I don't even like heights.

Helpful?
7 Thank doc4cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,790 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,233 reviews
4.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing