We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott vs. Westin ??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Marriott vs. Westin ??”
Reviewed July 28, 2004

CasaMagna vs. Regina
Just returned from three days at the CasaMagna, a wonderful property with large pool, comfortable rooms, and great location near the Marina. We arived about 10:00 p.m. and were greeted with express check-in upon arrival - no need to even go to the front desk!

As others have stated, the food there is expensive. We went to the Deli to get refreshments - two 7-Ups and a bottle of water - and our bill was $13 American (we hadn't exchanged money yet). After returning to the room I double checked the receipt, and we had been charged for two large bottles of Evian, not two cans of 7-Up. I went back immediately and explained the "error" which was corrected (?) - we were given 50 pesos in return (seemed about right). Caveat emptor also applies to the taxi ride from the airport - we were charged $10 for what should have been about a $3 ride. (Make price known prior to getting in the van.)

We also stayed one night at the Westin, near the Marriott in the Marina area. It had a more free-flowing pool with numerous palms, a larger room, a wonderful balcony, but a very aggressive time-share sales staff. It also had much better beach utilization with interesting lounging and eating areas.
The noise from Niki Bar DID awaken us about 1:00 a.m. As my husband said, "What good is a great room and bed if you can't sleep?" (I'm a sound sleeper, and it didn't bother me.) If not for the noise, I'd recommend the Westin, hands down. We found that the Marriott IS tomb-like (or peacefully quiet, depending on perspecive?) after hours, at least during our stay there.

One other point of comparison - our Marriott room had a separate WC, which would be good if more than two people were to share a room.

A trip highlight was seeing a large sea turtle laying her eggs on the beach at the Marriott. (Both hotels have areas that serve as turtle nurseries for eggs that are gathered during the evening!)

Helpful?
8 Thank SuePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,045
    847
    188
    64
    49
See reviews for
1,020
1,160
103
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2004

This place was spectacular! I’m not sure why it is not considered one of the ‘JW Marriotts’, because it is definitely top class accommodations. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the rooms are a decent size (and yes the beds are firm, but not cheap) the bathrooms are all marble, the location is in the Marina area so it is surrounded by other upscale accommodations, and the crew there were absolutely WONDERFUL. They are so attentive and try to do everything in their power to make you happy. From the time that you arrive in a taxi, they already have everything taken care of, and whisk you directly to your room – no need to check in at the front desk. The swim up bar is great, the water volleyball is terrific, the daily activities are fun and the drinks really hit the spot. We loved most of the food, even room service was great – setup just like restaurant table, only in your room – plus it’s really quick and costs the same as a restaurant. The only restaurant we hated was the Japanese Mikado restaurant. I really liked Mikado at the Marriott in Desert Palms, CA, so we were really looking forward to this experience. Simply awful – a mixture of Mexican/Japanese cuisine – nearly inedible. Plus they couldn’t keep our orders straight (asked three or four times and still messed it up). The cook thought that I had order steak only, but when he found out that I ordered steak and scallops, he pulled my plate back, scraped off some of the steak back onto the cooking surface (after I had been eating off the plate), and served it to other patrons. I couldn’t believe it … but this was the ONLY negative thing that happened and I don’t find it at the fault of Marriott. One thing that did not happen to us that I kept reading about at other facilities are timeshare naggings. We never were approached at the Marriott and were only approached once in the Marina area. The marina area is a close walk from the Marriott and has over a dozen restaurant choices to choose from. Also, the downtown, Centro and South area are all a 20-25 minute taxi cab drive and costs only ~$5 - $6 USD. We took a cab each evening downtown to eat dinner and go disco dancing. Just close your eyes in the taxi – they drive like maniacs, love to honk their horns and there are no defined driving lanes. As for the Marriott, we look forward to going again soon! Also note: I had read several reviews about construction noise. On our visit we had a top floor facing the construction -- 15% view of construction, 85% view of the Ocean (beautiful). Most of the heavy construction facing the Marriott is over. Mostly stucco, painting, etc. I don't think we ever heard any construction noise.

Helpful?
3 Thank MikeDSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2004

Just got back from the Marriott we were there from 07/16-23/04. The hotel is very airy and beautiful, the staff is the best. Outside of the hotel on both sides is construction going on, we had to change our room on the first night. Puerto vallarta is very pretty but also very very hot and humid, the hotel had more locals than actual tourist which surprised us. The pool was always very crowed with local families and as a result we didn't use it. The beach is wide and long but not to inviting. Be very careful with time share people, they come up to you and offer cheap well known tours to get you to buy time share. Food at the Marriott is not really expensive but you may do better around town. Overall it was a nice vacation, but because of the beach we didn't give it higher marks. P.S. We always go to the caribbean islands and who can beat those beaches??

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playhardtravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2004

We stayed there last year, loved it, we went with our 2 children, customer service was great, rooms are very clean and close to the transportation areas, we were all very pleased!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2004

Second time we have stayed at this resort. On both occassions we found the hotel staff to be exceptional in everything. Freindly, helpful and always willing to give that little bit extra to make your stay truly worthwile.

I have stayed at many Marriott hotels within the USA and internationally and this particular one has to be in my opinion one of the best

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2004

I just got back from a four night stay at the Casa Magna. The pool is great and for the most part service is good. I do recommend that you get an ocean view room. There is construction on both sides of the Marriott and I had to change room three times my first day because of the construction. After several complaints I was upgraded to an ocean view room and that was a very nice room. The food is a little pricey at the hotel and for the most part just average. Overall it was a very good stay at the Marriott.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrander, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2004

Except for the somewhat small rooms, this place was a great getaway. The super-large pool is a blast with a nice swim-up bar with iguanas on the island and a basketball hoop for the guys. Beach is great too but keep the kids out if the blue flags are up. Very good buffet - even noticed an older couple stashing/sneaking food for later munching in their bags it was soo good (of course against the rules) but gave us a laugh. Easy access to just about everything...don't miss out on the beach merchants; unlike most sidewalk sellers, we still have some great items that still work...
ALSO, the day-cruise to the islands and snorkel trip is a blast. Saw plenty of whales and turtles and visited a nice sucluded beach - this trip was better than any of our Hawaii mini cruises.

Helpful?
6 Thank SirLunchAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,594 reviews
7.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,871 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,685 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing