We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside restaurant was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beachside restaurant was great”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our first day of arrival at the Casa Magna Marriott Puerto Vallarta was so welcoming. In particular, after we settled into our room, our whole family went to the beachside restaurant on the property. We had ceviche along with fish tacos that were outstanding. We also had cold Pacfica beers that hit the spot. Our waiter, Efren, was especially friendly and helpful at our table. He helped us with our Spanish and made a great reccomendation on his favorite tequila, Don Julio. He even gave us a sample to try. We even met him later that evening when we were on our way to the Marina and helped us with directions. Efren made our first few hours extremely fun and enjoyable. Try to seek him out when you are there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Director General at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Brent,

What a great feeling we have when we get to read reviews like yours that are an excellent example of the service provided by our amazing staff.

I am very pleased that Efrain was such a great help on your first day here and I will make sure to pass your message to him, he will be absolutely thrilled to know about it.

The staff and I hope to have you as guests once more very soon for another fun and enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Demetrio Maduro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    847
    188
    64
    49
See reviews for
1,021
1,160
103
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The entire staff was very helpful and knowledgeable and the rooms very clean. The restaurants are very reasonable and the food is great. Try the Lobster Taco at the outside restaurant, it is delicious. It is just a short walk to the Harbor which has several restaurants and a Starbucks.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms are very scenic especially on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo99x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Director General at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lorenzo,

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you had the opportunity to visit the Marina Vallarta harbor, it is indeed a very nice place to take a walk in the afternoon and just a few steps from the hotel.

Thank you as well for your kind comment about the Lobster Tacos at Las Casitas restaurant, I am glad you liked it as it is one of our specialties.

I hope to see you coming back very soon again and for your next visit I want to recommend you to try our brand new Catch of the Day activity where every Friday and Saturday a fisherman arrives to the beach in front of the Activity Center with a variety of fish and seafood from which you can choose and we will happily cook it for dinner.

Kind regards,

Demetrio Maduro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel June 22-28, 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff was very polite and the hotel grounds, common areas, restaurants and the pool were always clean. We did not encounter any problems with our stay. It is only 1.5 miles from the airport and across the street from the Marina Vallarta golf course and one of the marinas where we had excellent breakfasts (La Torrezza) every day for half the price the hotel charges. The marina has various shops, spas, pharmacies, liquor store located inside of Super Mini and a light house where you can go to the top and have drinks and I think they serve food. We ran out of time and didn’t get to make the light house. It is about 10 miles from downtown so if you want to be in the heart of PV and walking distance to a lot of entertainment, restaurants and shopping you will need to stay in town. We go to Mexico every year so we didn’t want to be in the thick of everything. We found a taxi driver that we liked and ONLY used him daily to pick us up and drop us off anytime we needed to go somewhere. We just called him up and he was there within 10 minutes or less to pick us up. The hotel has taxi’s that are “zoned” for a specific pickup area and our guy was not zoned but we used him anyway and the hotel did not have a problem with it. However, the other taxi drivers were not too happy about it. :o) You don’t have to stay at this hotel for him to pick you up. He can pick you up from any location. If you want to try him out his name is Guillermo (nickname: Memo) and his cell number is 322-180-8261 or simply find a driver you like a stick with them. FYI - a lot of the restaurants in town give the taxi drivers a kick back, usually 10% of your bill if they bring you to their restaurant so use the concierge instead to find a good restaurant with the food, atmosphere, location, etc that you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stacy_kolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Stacy,

Thank you for giving us your review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed each one of the days you spent in Puerto Vallarta and that you had the time to visit Downtown area.

I would love to have you back as our guest very soon.

Kind regards,

Demetrio Maduro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We chose this property as part of a vacation package through Delta, and were not disappointed. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms clean and well appointed. We enjoyed the pool area every day, which provides a great view of the bay, while keeping you close enough to have drink service at your chair. The restaurants were good, and every member of the hotel staff that we encountered were extremely polite and helpful. Do not hesitate to stay here - we will definitely return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your recommendation.

It makes us very happy to know that your first trip to Mexico resulted on such a great experience and that we were a little part of it.

I would love to know you are planning a second visit to Puerto Vallarta and to have you once more here.

Kind regards,

Demetrio Maduro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a family trip we took and we were pleasantly surprise that all of our expectations were met. The hotel is beautiful and the staff all of them are amazing I want to said thank you to Reyna the waiter for giving us a wonderful service every time and to the famous Raul the bartender please give him a raise he is so nice and respectful. thank you for everything we had a great time

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Patricia,

It has been our pleasure to be able of providing you and your family with a enjoyable vacation. I gladly will pass your thank you message to both Reyna and Raul.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Demetrio Maduro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Our large family loves to vacation under the sun, by a beachfront pool. Time and time again we find ourselves at a Marriott resort. But Marriott Casa Magna is the friendliest and most sincere service. Every one there aims to sincerely please. But there is one that stands out amongst all others, one who makes it so enjoyable that we keep going back. Raul Gonzalez treats you as though you were in his own home. He adds so much to an already great place to be.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicaindanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Monica,

I am sincerely grateful for the kind words that you used to describe the great service from our staff and I will be more than happy to extend these to the team members, including Raul Gonzalez who is an extraordinary example of the unique Marriott service of this property.

The team and I will be thrilled to receive you once more here.

Kind regards,

Demetrio Maduro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The title says it all. Our family (w/2 teens) stayed at CasaMagna during Spring Break this year and had a wonderful time. The service was always spot-on. We were struggling with our Spanish and they were all fluent in English (except housekeeping - who were also wonderful btw) and helped us out quite a bit. They were always friendly and attentive. The grounds are beautiful and always spotless. We purposely stayed at the resort almost the entire vacation because we truly wanted to relax and not have an agenda. This meant we ate almost all our meals onsite. The vast majority of the food was delicious, especially the breakfast buffet at La Estancia. Champions was a bit dull, but it is based on traditional American Bar and Grill food so that's probably why we felt that way. The staff there was also extremely friendly, but the food was just average. The vendors that walk the beach are not allowed up on property and were very friendly, even when you indicated you weren't interested in their goods. It is also super close to the airport. We didn't use the spa, but did utilize the fitness facilities (more than adequate) which were next door. The spa looked very peaceful and we plan to try it on our next trip! (I accidentally rated it, but couldn't get it 'removed'.) The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 is because parts of it were in need of some upkeep (painting, etc). They were clearly working on this while we were there and I know it is a continual process down there with the humidity. There is a nearby marina (10 minute walk) that has additional shops and TONS of dining if you want to go off site without a car / taxi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellebellere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor, I am truly delighted reading your review and knowing that your vacation went so great.

I appreciate the kind comments you wrote about our staff, they are a wonderful team taking care of our guests and showing how much they love their job.

I definitely recommend you a visit to our Ohtli Spa for your next trip as I am sure you will find yourself even more relaxed and refreshed after taking any of our special treatments, like the 80 minutes Fire Opal Balancing Stone Therapy in which the therapist will clean your body and spirit through the placement of healing fire opals and basalt stones.

I will be looking forward to your upcoming visit.

Kind regards,

Demetrio Maduro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,595 reviews
7.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,872 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,687 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing