We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REALLY GREAT MARRIOTT PROPERTY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Let me start off by saying that I have been a Platinum member with Marriott for many years and have stayed in lots of Marriott properties throughout the world. Seriously speaking...this CasaMagna was a pleasant surprise. We only stayed 3 short nights, but had a great time and was sorry to have to leave. The rooms were clean, great views, staff was super friendly, excellent breakfast buffet, reasonable prices, good location...an overall 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,924 - 1,930 of 3,350 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first time on the Pacific side of Mexico and we were pleasantly surprised. The weather was a little rainy as we went in June but still beautiful. The food was quite good at all the restaurants as were the drinks. We usually stay all-inclusive so I'm not sure how prices compare but tequila shots were $19 a piece. Food seemed reasonably priced compared to other restaurants. The service was great, everyone was very friendly and accomodating. The ocean water was nice and there were a lot less rocks than we expected. We really spent the most time in the pool. It is huge and beautiful with an infinity edge overlooking the ocean. The water temp was very nice too. We enjoyed the spa and had multiple massages there. There are also local girls along the beach offering massages which are much, much cheaper, however, so we did a few of each. Vendors can get annoying along the water but if you just wave them off they usually leave. The overall location of the resort is great as you can walk to the Marina, where there are many areas for food and drink, generally much cheaper than the resort. We also took a cab over to the Boardwalk which took about 10 minutes, and cost $5. Overall, I would recommend this resort again. We don't have children and did not feel like this place was noisy or crawling with kids as some family resorts get.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view, with balcony. Gorgeous way to wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSD_22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The CasaMagna was a fabulous place for our first visit to Puerto Vallarta July 12-15. My family (2 adults, 3 kids) went to PV for the first time ever. We chose this hotel based on reviews and the fact that we were going with a second party, which did not want to stay at an all inclusive. At the last minute they cancelled on us! Our room was not available when we arrived around 1, but for a $20 a night room upgrade, a room was available. After a long day of travel with my kids, I took it...
Anyhow, The property is very beautiful, the pool is magnificent, and the staff by the pool was always very helpful and professional. Mauricio was always on top of things and providing the best service by the pool. The food and service at the three restaurants was also amazing each and every single time. My room was very clean and always well kept. Everything was almost perfect except for the fact that the Marriott made a mistake and billed my stay a second time. As a result my bank placed a hold on everything and I kept being told I had not credit when I ordered food or service. This was annoying, before I knew what was really going on. I went to the front desk in the morning and the staff at the front counter was very helpful, they connected me with my bank and we cleared everything up. Unfortunately, the Marriot, which was unbeknown to me kept charging me for my stay despited the fact that I had everything paid for ahead of time. In the evening I received a letter (the 3rd) to my room that I needed to clear things up again. This was becoming annoying. I went to the front counter in the evening right before diner with my family and the lady behind the counter kept giving me the run around. They refused to connect me to my bank and kept explaining to me that it was long distance call and that I needed to pay a fee, which I had no problem with; however, they kept informing me what the fees would be during the first two minutes, and every minute after that! What? I didn't ask for a summary I asked to be connected. After they refused, I went on line (thank God for my Iphone) and checked my account. I realized where the problem was. My bank was protecting me, the hotel had billed me for my stay a second time. When I informed the lady behind the counter, she seemed clearly upset and said she would close out my account. She showed me a bill and said this is what you owe. I soon realized that they were going to bill my stay a third time!? WHAT? I explained to this lady that I had paid for my stay prior to my arrival. In addition they had already charged me again for my stay, and were going to bill me a third time. She was not happy at all, she asked me to leave and take care of all this from the phone in my room, when I explained I needed to resolve this matter she asked me if I had proof of payment. I couldn't believe this?! Finally, after an hour they figured out that I had been way over billed. When I inquired about my refund, the lady said you'll have a room credit for now and we'll deal with your bank later. Have a nice evening.
I was very upset, but didn't lose my temper, this took well over an hour to resolve and did not want waste anymore time.
The next morning I asked to speak to the main manager, but he was too busy to listen to me so he sent a front desk manager instead. After I explained how I was treated by the evening staff, the manager; which was very nice, did apologize. All she said was we'll talk to our staff, thank you for bringing this to our attention, have a nice day. We'll send you a refund once your account is closed.
Yup, that's it. As I write this I realize that I don't want to come back to this hotel. I've been to different hotels, in different parts of the world, and it saddens me that I was treated like I was trying to steal or get away with something. I will come back to Puerto Vallarta, because we have family a couple of hours away, but I am not staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xxxlakerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and share with us your comments regarding your stay at our property.

I am pleased to know that you and your family really enjoyed our facilities and that you found the food and service amazing, I will be happy to share your message with Mauricio to let him know what a nice job he is doing when taking care of our guests.

Please also accept my apologies for the inconvenient with your bill; I have brought this to the Front Desk Manager attention, who will make sure to provide the staff with further training regarding this kind of scenarios to avoid these kind of situations from happening again.

We sincerely hope to get the opportunity to have you once more as or guests, in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me again if further assistance if required or if you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you. Please contact me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com, I kindly request you to please refer to this comment when contacting us.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The CasaMagna Marriott is fabulous! First time in Puerto Vallarta and the property is beautiful! We were just there from July 6-July 9.The entrance is gated, the service at the front of the hotel is amazing - asking if you need a taxi, do you need an umbrella, what can I do for you - outstanding! I told Freddy in reception upon arrival we were there to celebrate our 5th year Anniversary and he did a few special things for us while we were there! Thank you Freddy - you made our stay so enjoyable! Really, thank you it is so memorable because of your generosity. Horacio at reception also was wonderful and helpful answering questions. Many cute little areas to sit and enjoy the views. The coffee shop area had wonderful sandwiches and they made me a great iced coffee every morning! If you have a chance to get oceanview - gorgeous. If you sneak a peek very early in the morning, you will see the behind the scenes of all the maintenance and staff getting ready for the day - cleaning the pool, raking, cleaning tables/chairs, etc. Pool and hot tub area is super clean and very enjoyable! They do a great job making everything perfect for your day. Fitness center is very large and they have a great indoor pool for a late night swim. Spa looked wonderful, but did not have time to use. The business center staff was great when I needed to print my boarding passes. The room is great - huge closets to hang your stuff, clean, well designed. The staff is definitely a plus here - great location too to walk to the marina area for great restaurants like Mariscos 8 Tostadas, a great frozen yogurt place called Moyo and just cute in general. The downtown is just a cab ride away and many awesome things to do from a ton of restaurants, nightclubs, shops, outside market, street performers, great oceanview boardwalk, etc. We felt safe the whole time we were there - there is no issue in coming here if anyone is doubting a trip to PV. Wonderful experience! One of our best trips ever and we want to try to come back every summer for vacation here - definitely would stay at this property again - hands down, no question. Highly recommend especially if you are a Marriott fan - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a kind comment of your experience while staying at our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had such a great time, especially as you were here to celebrate a nice occasion.

It is very nice to hear that our staff helped to make of your stay a memorable one, I will make sure to share your kind message with them and to thank Freddy and Horacio on your behalf for the great job they are doing.

Also we are so happy to know that Puerto Vallarta seemed such a nice place to be and we hope to receive you here again.

Please feel free to contact me if you wish to share additional feedback or if you need any kind of assistance, I will be glad to help you. You can reach me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com I kindly ask you to refer to this comment when contacting us.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Expect to receive good service, splendidly comfortable beds and overpriced if convenient restaurants. Facilities are beautiful and the pool and beach area spectacular. The inside garden areas under the patios are also delightful. The food in all of the restaurants is overpriced. We ate at the Champions and at the bar on the beach. My three teenagers said it was visiting Mexico by never really leaving the US.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We immediately felt cared for by the sweet girl in the PV airport at their Marriott CasaMagna office that we stumbled upon. HOWEVER, do be aware that you will pay extra for the ride to the hotel from the airport they arrange. It cost us $18 US dollars for a trip that should have been less than half that and that seems to be a common rip-off point in many a travelers trips to Puerto Vallarta, even to other properties. Yes the cabbies pay for the fee to leave the airport, they say, but a trip 3 times as long was $120 pesos or $10 USD to the airport when time to leave once we knew what it should be. Knowledge is power people!
The restaurants' employees on the property are very eager to please and we couldn't have been more impressed by the manager of the restaurant La Estancia, Angelica. This restaurant does the huge breakfast, complete with fresh made green juice and other tropical fruit and juices every day of the week. Many delicious foods cooked to order. Being vegans, and me, gluten-free, we were extremely pleased by the variety and if you want something they have "veganized", just ask, they are very skilled and willing to do whatever you want and need to feed you to the point of being stuffed and happy! Angelica Naza was just a delight and we can't wait to see her again. She is the manager of the restaurant. She even made sure that on her day off we would be fed gluten-free and vegan from the buffet just as well as she coordinated it when she was there! Angelica is amazing and so sweet, friendly and capable!!
Marriott is lucky to have a bilingual and efficient employee as her!
The Mikado Japanese also had many eager to please employees and they even said that the day I was leaving they were going to be getting a gluten-free soy sauce tasting to order it and keep on hand for guests when needed. Oh well, at least I know for our return trip I will be able to have soy sauce on my food from them! We had delicious tempanyaki vegetables grilled in front of us, very fun!, (wish they could have had tofu in it), come on it's a Japanese restaurant! We enjoyed the all-veggie rolls from the sushi bar and the yummy saki, both hot and cold cream of saki that is so delish! Also a nice salad for the two of us to share was tasty.
The pool side bar is fun too.
Our room had a delightful ocean-front view but was a bit small. We had a rather frustrating fiasco with a pillow that I travel with disappear from the moving from our first sports court and pool view room to the room in which we finally settled. I was told not to worry the bellman would move all of our things, that night I realized he missed bringing the pillow and it took them another 2 days to find it! Oh well, I am very happy it came back to me!!
The spa was relaxing and our couples message was discounted because of the pillow caper and could not have been more enjoyable, except for maybe if it could last a few hours! LOL!
We look forward to going back some day and fell in love with Mexico as we only had the three nights in the Marriott and then when to a freinds penthouse in the Zona Romantica, further South of where the hotel was, which had a super-beautiful view too, and there we could walk to downtown Puerto Vallerta and along restaurants and shops along the boardwalk and beach. I loved it and will definetely go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverlyOOBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for such a kind review regarding your time at our hotel. I am very happy to know that your stay was really pleasant and that you really felt that you were taking care of.

Regarding the taxi service from the Airport, we understand how you feel; however we do want to let you know that, due to Federal policies, only the taxis with a special permission, which they need to pay, are allow to provide the service from the airport to any place at Puerto Vallarta or Riviera Nayarit; however any taxi is able to provide the service from Puerto Vallarta or Riviera Nayarit to the airport and as they do not pay for this special permission the taxi fare is lower.

I will gladly extend your congratulations and thank you message to Angelica for the great job she did coordinating your meals as well as the great service she provided, we are really proud to have her on the team as well as the marvelous staff we have.

I am as well happy to know that you got the chance to enjoy our spa and that this was a great experience for you.

We hope to have the chance to have you as our guest once more, in the meantime please feel free to reach me if you need further assistance or wish to provide further feedback, you can contact me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com

Kind Regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, but if you go in January or February, be sure to pack some sweaters and sweatshirts. The lobby of the Casa Magna is an open air wind tunnel and much cooler than the temperature outside because of the cross-winds. We would freeze every day walking to our conference room (and we are from Minnesota). Also the breezes destroyed our hair styles. The flowers and grounds are exceptionally inviting, but the icy breezes in the lobby walkways are uncomfortable. The hotel is centrally located, so it is a 10 minute taxi ride for sight seeing in the "old town" part of the city. I would choose another hotel next time mainly because of the uncomfortable and breezy lobby.

Room Tip: Try to stay out of the wings that are far from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptravel2597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your thoughts regarding your stay at our property. I want to thank you for such a kind comment about our flowers and grounds.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not feel as comfortable as we would have wanted you to be due to the weather conditions. As you mentioned, winter season at Puerto Vallarta may get a little windy, making the temperatures to decrease.

We hope to get the opportunity to have you once more as our valuable guest. Please feel free to contact me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com if you wish further feedback, it will be a pleasure to assist you. I kindly ask you to refer to this comment when contacting me.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,717 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,767 reviews
9.3 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly Casa Magna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $161 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condé Nast Traveler named Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa one of the top 10 Pacific Riviera hotels. Experience gorgeously appointed accommodations here at our hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico offering relaxed and family-friendly luxury in the Marina Vallarta near top shopping, entertainment, golf and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing