We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent stay, only the beach needs some engineering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, only the beach needs some engineering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this is an excellent resort where they do truly appreciate your business. It's also one of only a few places where being a rewards platinum member actually means something.

My wife and I stayed for a week in late June using rewards points. The weather this time of year is hit or miss, you will likely see rain every other day if not every day.

What stands out the most here is the food and the appreciation of your dollar. The food at this resort is excellent, there was not a single meal that didn't impress. We were often impressed by the fact that the wait staff learned our names and thanked us for our business. It was a frequent occurrence, if it was a show it was very believable. Unlike traveling to some islands, they really seem to understand that you have travel choices and generally want to impress you and earn your money (contrast that to an island like Aruba where they just know you'll dump money into all sorts of things while you are there and there's no appreciation anywhere that you're investing in their economy).

Unless you're looking for a lot of stick time in the ocean (see below) this is an excellent choice.

There are some issues, however, that could be improved:

1. Unlike some neighboring properties, this hotel has no lagoon type beach protection and the waves are too big for many swimmers, there's a massive drop off and the majority of the surf zone is full of rocks (some people won't go in just because of the rocks). Take a quick walk down to the Westin and you can see how it should be done, the beach experience is far better than the Marriott. In addition the waves kick up a lot of debris making the water seem dirty. This is actually a solvable problem, I am not sure why they haven't addressed this by investing in a lagoon type of sheltering.

2. There are signs everywhere that the beach is a "rest zone" with no cell phones as well as signs prohibiting vendors from entering. This is sort of comical as the management of the hotel will not only not ask the vendors to leave, they will stand there talking to them inside of the "no vendor" area. As with any location like this, you will grow tired of addressing questions about buying goods for sale on the beach. I understand the vendors are making a living and I respect their patience but at the same time it gets old after a while and the management should do something about it.

3. Sometimes even the staff can get too aggressive about booking business. I was sleeping at the pool and a manager actually woke me up asking if I wanted to make a dinner reservation at Mikado. My wife said he actually asked twice, the 2nd time with more volume, until I woke up.



A few tips:
1. The first floor ceiling is really low. I wouldn't take a room on the first floor

2. If you book a room with points or without, at least during this time of year, they upgrade two room classes if you are a platinum member (obviously subject to availability). This is something to consider when booking.

3. Breakfast. We asked about a discounted rate at check in and they gave us a 2 for 1 deal. Breakfast at this hotel is truly awesome, honestly some of the best breakfast food I've had at any hotel anywhere.

4. Be aware that the ocean front and ocean view are not the same room type (despite what the room options may show online). Ocean front rooms are much better and directly face the water and are very close to the beach.

5. If you are platinum you are entitled to free drinks with dinner on property. Some restaurants will let you get a more premium drink like a margarita instead of a beer or glass of house wine as part of this offer, if you ask.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Austin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind comments about the pleasant stay that you had. It is very important for us to know our guests enjoy the time they spent with us.

I am particularly happy to know that you enjoy the service and food, also that you really feel appreciated; I will be happy to share your sentiments with the staff and let them know what a nice job they are doing with our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com if you wish to share further feedback or need further assistance, I will be happy to help you. I kindly ask you to refer to this comment when contacting us.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    755
    168
    58
    48
See reviews for
841
978
90
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this resort property in June 2013. Like many PV resort properties, it's huge, and has access to the beach, as well as a mammoth pool. As a Marriott, quality service can usually be expected, but at this hotel we were greeted with outstanding friendliness by each and every staff member, starting with the valet, all the way to the gardeners and housekeepers. Kudos to the general manager for such a wonderful staff. Breakfast buffet was great, with fresh fruit and local dishes. Dinner at Las Casitas was delicious, with a great view of the ocean.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It might be crowded during the high season but we were blessed with 30% occupancy and corresponding discount rates, making for a really memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seberrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippeville, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This resort is definitively a very good choice for leisure or for business (meeting rooms), with a very nice and well equiped spa area for relaxing. The service is very professional and caring to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are pretty spacious and in accordance with the Marriott standards regarding the comfort (especially for the beds) and the general design.

Room Tip: Rooms with front sea view at the highest floor are definitively a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickDebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family and I were looking for someplace to stay for one night before we heading north to Punta Mita. Being an Elite Platinum, of course I checked out the Marriott Casamagna PVR. Excellent property. I worked closely with the Head Concierge, Simon Coulson, to help me to coordinate the transportation for the 8 of us, who were all arriving at different times. He set it up seamlessly and met each one of us upon arrival at the hotel with key in hand---got to skip the line at the front desk! Simon also made sure our rooms were near each other. He also handled arranging taxi service for the 8 of us that evening and the next morning. The rooms are very nice here. I believe every room has some type of view of the ocean, even if it is called a "garden view". The pool bar was awesome as well as the food available at the pool. The buffet breakfast was included in our AAA rate---it was wonderful! I can't wait to return to this property!

Room Tip: higher up and you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wackypack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such lovely comments about the service you received at our property. I am very happy to hear your vacation here was great. I will happily extend your comments and gratitude to Simon Coulson for the help he provided organizing your family trip.

If you have further feedback or wish further assistance I will be happy to help you, please contact me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com I kindly ask you to refer to this comment when contacting me.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in late June and would definitely choose this property again. It was conveniently located near the airport (but we never heard airport noise) and marina and just a cab ride/bus ride from the boardwalk/downtown area. Closer to downtown the beach is not as nice or wide; further away is a longer trek to the boardwalk so I think this location is perfect for a trip to PV.

The pool and hot tub were large and lounge chairs were always available. Breakfast buffet every morning was superb with cooked to order pancakes and waffles, fresh fruit, and many other options. Beach was clean with nice lounge chairs. Bar service at the pool and beach were good. A few families with kids but mainly couples/friends. Not a loud night scene which was perfect for us.

This is not a brand new property but it has been well taken care of and the furniture, tv and bed were all updated. Only noticeable age issue was the bathtub was chipped in a few places. Great bed and pillows. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The room had a safe and service bar.

We were on the 7th floor with a great view of the beach and pool.

The service was great! From our check in at the front desk to the wait staff, housekeepers, concierge, bellman...you name it, we never had bad service! Wifi worked great in the room and lobby.

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this property for 9 days. Everything was perfect. They have many different restaurants to choose from which are all amazing. Jorge is Las Casitas offered world class service. I am a former server and was really surprised by the amazing service. Belen? The concierge was also extremely helpful. If I ever go back I will stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property for a week and loved every single day we were there. The open air concept of the hotel is beautiful and there were waterfalls in the middle of the buildings. It was cool when it rained because it came through in the middle of the buildings and that was awesome to watch. The beach itself does not look like the pictures on the website and we did not go swimming in the ocean at all, but there were beautiful sunsets. The marina across the street is walking distance and has many options for dinner or lunch. We loved Vincent's restaurant and went there a few times and had many conversations with Vincent himself! We utilized the local bus and went downtown to Nuevo Vallarta a few days and loved the shopping and beaches there. Everyday people were building amazing sand castles to look at right along the main walk and there was so much to do! We even took the bus to the local shopping mall on a rainy day and we had a blast looking through the stores and shopping. There is a night club right near the property that we did not go to because that's not really our scene, but it looked like it could be a fun night. The hotel runs a ea turtle rescue program and that was probably one of the high lights of our trips, we thought is was really awesome. Each night around sunset, the staff brings out tubs of baby sea turtles that have hatched that day and they allow the guests to release them int the ocean. Not only is this a wonderful program to help some turtles survive against natural predators, but it was very fun and entertaining. After dinner we either went swimming or back to our room most nights because there wasn't much around and we did not feel safe to go exploring at night. Overall we had a very good experience and the property was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#11 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Valla...
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing