We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel near the marina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, wa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the marina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here 10 nights as a babymoon prior to our daughter being born. The weather was not the best, so we ended up utilizing the hotel services more than would have been expected. We were able to get the all inclusive option for much of our stay, and I would definitely suggest this if you typically go this route in Mexico. All of the restaurants were great and provide plenty of variety.

The marina is just a short walk, and there are even more things to do there if you get bored with the beach and pool. We were upgraded to a beach front room, which was beautiful. I would definitely suggest this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: the ocean front rooms are great, and can usually be had for a small fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    782
    172
    59
    48
See reviews for
885
1,010
92
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wife and I was at Casa Magna Marriott in Puerto Vallarta--

+ Very nice property, clean, pool and beach are great, great service and staff very friendly
food is really good--breakfast buffet is excellent. Close to airport-$5.00 cab ride. Gym is well equipped and plenty of room to work out.

Two major drawbacks--it is very pricey, Hotel charges for WI-Fi and coffee that you make in your room. Restaurants have excellent food but you will pay for it. Breakfast buffett is $22.00.

Hard to relax on beach due to all the vendors that harrass you to buy Mexican souvenirs (don't think Hotel can control this however because it is a public beach) a real hassle.

However, I would go back to hotel because pool and view is beautiful--if you stay here check out the Marina district--a short walk from hotel--you will find very good and affordable restaurants in Marina district.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillycold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I took our 6-month old to Puerto Vallarta and we stayed at the Marriott for 7 nights. The resort grounds were beautiful, the staff was superb (and VERY friendly), and our room was everything we would have asked for. Being in Marina Vallarta we had several restaurant options nearby, and it was just a $100peso cab ride to the downtown area in case we wanted to venture out further.

The pool was very big (and heated), and the staff around the pool were all very attentive. They all learned our son's name and enjoyed visiting with him throughout the trip. The landscaping was beautiful, and was constantly being maintained.

Our room was nice, and suited our needs (for those who complain about the room needing upgrades or a better TV I'm not sure what they were thinking...besides, who travels to Mexico and spends time in their room for more than sleeping/showering?).

The restaurant options were nice, and not too expensive (much less than I would have expected for a resort restaurant)...though we still preferred to go off-site as much as we could.

Our only complaint was that the pool area was not considered non-smoking. I know the smoking laws/rules in Mexico are different than in the US, but it would have been more relaxing if we could have enjoyed the pool/beach smoke-free (and not have to worry about our baby breathing it in either).

If/when we return to PV we will be staying at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRockTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been staying at The Marriott Casa Magna for close to twenty years and when the greeters in the driveway say "Welcome home!"--it really feels like it. The staff is beginning to age along with us---we recognize them and they recognize us.

The location is perfect for us--less than five minutes from the airport and a relatively short cab ride (or bus) to the city center, romantic district and the malecon. In December and January, when we are there, the temperature is around 80 during the day with a steady cooling breeze coming off Banderas Bay.

The hotel breakfast buffet is sumptuous with plenty of healthful choices available. Fresh fruits and juices, cooked or cold cereals, made-to-order omelets, pozole and/or miso soup, fresh tortillas and an array of salsas that's dazzling.

Before-breakfast exercise earns us a big and leisurely breakfast and we rarely eat again until the evening meal. The Marriott has a wonderful restaurant with an interesting menu and it's a good value but we LOVE to go into the city just about every night for dinner. There's an abundance of wonderful restaurants in Puerto Vallarta and the Chief Concierge, Simon Coulson, and his staff are always helpful and available to make recommendations based on their experience. (They know about dolphin and whale watching experiences and such. Two years ago my husband needed dental surgery and Simon connected us with a fabulous state-of-the-art specialty dentist.)

The one little "caveat" we have relates to the uneven WiFi access which has been an irritant for several years. Maybe this will be the year they add boosters or whatever is necessary to improve the system. No matter, we'll return next January like we've been doing for two decades!

Room Tip: The hotel is 100% non-smoking. We prefer a room on a higher floor NOT overlooking the pool. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classof60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I spent the last week at this resort and we can't wait to go back there again. Everything about the resort was First Class. From the very beginning with the personalized shuttle service from the airport and the expedited check-in when greeted at the hotel it was obvious the staff wanted to serve us. We ate every meal but one at the resort because the food and the service was so great! The staff was as good as any staff I have seen at any hotel! And the ambiance and the beauty of resort were fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMcMillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a five night stay at this resort and would not hesitate to stay here again. I agree with some of the reviews about showing some age, but it wasn't anything that would've spoiled my stay. All the staff was helpful and the service was great. Prices were even more reasonable than I expected.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just returned from the best vacation ever. I had never visited Puerto Vallarta and loved the town. The Casa Magna Marriott is just fabulous! All of the staff from the housekeepers to the pool attendants, the front desk staff, concierges as well as the waiters in the dining rooms and the persons in the little store selling sandwiches, bottled water and other amenities were so friendly and attentive to our every needs. Special kudos to Grace, who is at the front desk. The food is great and the location of the hotel is very convenient. The hotel is set back from the streeet and has a wonderful view of Banderas Bay and the Sierra Madre mountains in the distant. It's just a short 3 block walk to the marina and 2 short blocks to the bus taking us to the center of town. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I loved having a room overlooking the pool with the bay and mountains just beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
7.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#12 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Valla...
#24 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing