We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but $$$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wife and I was at Casa Magna Marriott in Puerto Vallarta--

+ Very nice property, clean, pool and beach are great, great service and staff very friendly
food is really good--breakfast buffet is excellent. Close to airport-$5.00 cab ride. Gym is well equipped and plenty of room to work out.

Two major drawbacks--it is very pricey, Hotel charges for WI-Fi and coffee that you make in your room. Restaurants have excellent food but you will pay for it. Breakfast buffett is $22.00.

Hard to relax on beach due to all the vendors that harrass you to buy Mexican souvenirs (don't think Hotel can control this however because it is a public beach) a real hassle.

However, I would go back to hotel because pool and view is beautiful--if you stay here check out the Marina district--a short walk from hotel--you will find very good and affordable restaurants in Marina district.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillycold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,038 - 2,044 of 3,410 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I took our 6-month old to Puerto Vallarta and we stayed at the Marriott for 7 nights. The resort grounds were beautiful, the staff was superb (and VERY friendly), and our room was everything we would have asked for. Being in Marina Vallarta we had several restaurant options nearby, and it was just a $100peso cab ride to the downtown area in case we wanted to venture out further.

The pool was very big (and heated), and the staff around the pool were all very attentive. They all learned our son's name and enjoyed visiting with him throughout the trip. The landscaping was beautiful, and was constantly being maintained.

Our room was nice, and suited our needs (for those who complain about the room needing upgrades or a better TV I'm not sure what they were thinking...besides, who travels to Mexico and spends time in their room for more than sleeping/showering?).

The restaurant options were nice, and not too expensive (much less than I would have expected for a resort restaurant)...though we still preferred to go off-site as much as we could.

Our only complaint was that the pool area was not considered non-smoking. I know the smoking laws/rules in Mexico are different than in the US, but it would have been more relaxing if we could have enjoyed the pool/beach smoke-free (and not have to worry about our baby breathing it in either).

If/when we return to PV we will be staying at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRockTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been staying at The Marriott Casa Magna for close to twenty years and when the greeters in the driveway say "Welcome home!"--it really feels like it. The staff is beginning to age along with us---we recognize them and they recognize us.

The location is perfect for us--less than five minutes from the airport and a relatively short cab ride (or bus) to the city center, romantic district and the malecon. In December and January, when we are there, the temperature is around 80 during the day with a steady cooling breeze coming off Banderas Bay.

The hotel breakfast buffet is sumptuous with plenty of healthful choices available. Fresh fruits and juices, cooked or cold cereals, made-to-order omelets, pozole and/or miso soup, fresh tortillas and an array of salsas that's dazzling.

Before-breakfast exercise earns us a big and leisurely breakfast and we rarely eat again until the evening meal. The Marriott has a wonderful restaurant with an interesting menu and it's a good value but we LOVE to go into the city just about every night for dinner. There's an abundance of wonderful restaurants in Puerto Vallarta and the Chief Concierge, Simon Coulson, and his staff are always helpful and available to make recommendations based on their experience. (They know about dolphin and whale watching experiences and such. Two years ago my husband needed dental surgery and Simon connected us with a fabulous state-of-the-art specialty dentist.)

The one little "caveat" we have relates to the uneven WiFi access which has been an irritant for several years. Maybe this will be the year they add boosters or whatever is necessary to improve the system. No matter, we'll return next January like we've been doing for two decades!

Room Tip: The hotel is 100% non-smoking. We prefer a room on a higher floor NOT overlooking the pool. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classof60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I spent the last week at this resort and we can't wait to go back there again. Everything about the resort was First Class. From the very beginning with the personalized shuttle service from the airport and the expedited check-in when greeted at the hotel it was obvious the staff wanted to serve us. We ate every meal but one at the resort because the food and the service was so great! The staff was as good as any staff I have seen at any hotel! And the ambiance and the beauty of resort were fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobMcMillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a five night stay at this resort and would not hesitate to stay here again. I agree with some of the reviews about showing some age, but it wasn't anything that would've spoiled my stay. All the staff was helpful and the service was great. Prices were even more reasonable than I expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just returned from the best vacation ever. I had never visited Puerto Vallarta and loved the town. The Casa Magna Marriott is just fabulous! All of the staff from the housekeepers to the pool attendants, the front desk staff, concierges as well as the waiters in the dining rooms and the persons in the little store selling sandwiches, bottled water and other amenities were so friendly and attentive to our every needs. Special kudos to Grace, who is at the front desk. The food is great and the location of the hotel is very convenient. The hotel is set back from the streeet and has a wonderful view of Banderas Bay and the Sierra Madre mountains in the distant. It's just a short 3 block walk to the marina and 2 short blocks to the bus taking us to the center of town. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I loved having a room overlooking the pool with the bay and mountains just beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I spent the day at the Marriott and was very impressed with the Ohtli Spa onsite. It has been upgraded and expanded to a spacious and tranquil sanctuary, equipped with Vichy shower, steam room, four plunge pools with varying temperatures and sizes, lap pool, well-equipped gym and large locker room. Several specialty massage rooms are arranged around a dipping pool and throughout they feature art and healing techniques from local Huichol Indian tribes. They offer couples massage, Thai, Swedish, hot stone and other types--so much to choose from! My friends enjoyed their massages very much, while I had a paraffin mani-pedi. My cracked heels never looked so good after the CND Cucumber Heel Therapy (and the Marine Mineral Bath, Salt Scrub, Healing Masque and paraffin). We enjoyed lunch at the open air Las Casitas Restaurant where Chef Fred Ruiz is doing amazing things with local ingredients, including the hibiscus margarita. The seafood was so fresh that it hardly needed any embellishment and the lobster tacho, shrimp ceviche and mango salsa were delicious. The grounds are beautiful and I would definitely rank this property high on my list for my next stay. I've stayed in the Marina Vallarta district before and though it is a cab or bus ride to downtown, the Marina itself offers lots of different restaurants and shops, and there is a pickup spot there for all the activities offered by the popular tour company, Vallarta Adventures. The Marriott is setting itself apart from its competitors through the quality of the restaurants and spa, and its in a great location right on Banderas Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IngasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
811 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,822 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,796 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#36 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,919 reviews
9.3 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#34 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly Casa Magna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $165 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condé Nast Traveler named Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa one of the top 10 Pacific Riviera hotels. Experience gorgeously appointed accommodations here at our hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico offering relaxed and family-friendly luxury in the Marina Vallarta near top shopping, entertainment, golf and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing