We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, we would go there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside, MT
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, we would go there again.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We felt that this was a wonderful hotel, especially for what we paid, which I guess I'm not allowed to state. It's right on the bay with a beautiful beach, but also a fine large pool with a swim-up bar. The building(s) itself is very impressive, suggestive of much more expensive digs. We had an ocean-facing view from a decent-sized balcony, well-insulated from those of our neighbors. The room itself was smallish but adequate and very nicely furnished. Flat screen hi-def TV. The computer work area/desk accommodated two chairs and I particularly liked the fact that there was a bank of four electrical outlets at the area as well as a panel that connected through the wall to the TV, that would allow you to plug your computer, cameras, accessories, etc. into the wall without having to mess with the back of the TV. The bathroom was modern and immaculate, with the toilet in its own separate room. They folded a Kleenex into a rose (pic) and even folded the end of my toilet paper into a cute little triangle!

There was no microwave. The only refrigerator was the minibar and this was locked??? Just as well...I'm always getting charged for stuff I didn't consume. There was a coffee maker but no coffee and I had to ask for coffee twice before any arrived.

WiFi or internet was outrageously expensive. I forget exactly how much but something on the order of $20 or $30/day.

So let's talk about the restaurants. We ate on two consecutive nights at the Las Casitas, under a thatched roof looking right out onto the ocean. Both nights we had the lobster taco appetizer, which was basically a soft taco containing, among many delicious ingredients, a small lobster tail. The coconut shrimp appetizer was only so-so. My wife had the sea bass the first night and the tuna the second. She was particularly fond of the sea bass. I had the rib-eye steak the first night. It was a beautiful looking steak and quite large. However, it was overcooked and tough. Can't win them all. The second night I had the seafood linguini and it was good, not great. The desserts, including cheesecake and key lime pie came in little cups and were nothing special. No dessert the second time around. Service was terrific and the guy reacted like he had never received a 20% tip before.

Breakfast after checking out was at the Estancia, outside, overlooking the ocean but a little further from it than Las Casitas. They offered a buffett that was pretty upscale for about $25, similar to the ones you see at the better casinos in Vegas. Little islands with the chef cooking your omelet or waffles to order, etc. We ordered off the menu the Mexican omelet and the American breakfast with ham steak. Both were fine, but the "ham steak" was interesting. It was basically about four pieces of something that looked like Oscar Meyer lunchmeat rolled over and fried into a little mass (see pic). If I had been at Denny's, I would have sent it back but you probable don't want to antagonize these people. There were dozens of crows flying around helping themselves to leftovers when people got up and left. The waiters are apparently aware of this problem as they didn't waste much time emptying vacant tables.

Having said all of this, it was a very enjoyable stay we will undoubtedly go back. Just avoid the rib-eye steak and "ham steak", the desserts and the internet. BTW, you can get a can of Coke in their "deli" for about three bucks.

Room Tip: Spring for whatever extra it costs for the ocean view. I think it was about $20-30 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,974
    831
    185
    62
    49
See reviews for
986
1,126
97
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from a way-too-short but oh-so-great stay at the Casamagna Marriott in Puerto Vallarta! This is really a lovely property ... our ocean view room was clean, well appointed and spectacular -- overlooking the fabulous pool and beach area, with the mountains in the background. It was quite a sight to wake up to every day. We left our balcony door open at night and enjoyed the sounds of the gentle surf! Big change from downtown Chicago! The resort also features beautifully manicured grounds, huge infinity pool with swim up bar, fabulous fitness center and spa, onsite restaurants and shopping, and lots more. We loved the location a short cab drive away from the airport and a safe and easy walk to the marina district where we found lots of great restaurant choices, all reasonably priced, all delicious. From this property, it's also an easy cab ride to the Malecon, a must-see destination a little further south with countless dining and shopping options, great sunsets, and the best of people watching. But back to the hotel..... we found the staff, from the gardeners to the housekeeping staff to the front desk personnel, all to be warm, friendly and accommodating. We're going back next year and staying longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaS3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I love the hotel,the staff, the food and the view! The pool is beautiful and the spa is top notch. Oscar the bell man is always very helpful and somehow seems to remember everyone. There is a wonderful place to eat downstairs called the mango deli and the food is great. They have sandwiches, pizzas and ice cream.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaylessWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Marriott in P.V. My bags were delayed by the airlines and the concierge staff were all very helpful in checking with the airlines and making sure they made it to my room. We were especially impressed by Simon, the head concierge. He gave us great restaurant recommendations each night and even steered us away from some of the more touristy spots. The hotel has a lovely beach, wonderful pool with swim-up bar and a beautiful spa. We used the tennis courts (which were a bit shoddy but manageable) and they import a pro from one of the local clubs who is really quite good. We also had an ocean view which I think is worth paying up for. We really enjoyed the hotel restaurant where breakfast is served and the tortilla soup at the pool restaurant is incredibly yummy, (my kids had it every day!) The Marriott is a family friendly resort, but not one overrun by kids. It has a nice relaxed vibe and I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a relaxing vacation in puerto Valletta, before we got to Mexico there had been some debate as to making the right call by staying at this luxury property versus an all inclusive.... I am so glad we stayed at the Marriott. The location was perfect I read other reviews on trip advisor and got some great tips. However one fact I didn't read too much about was how close the property was to the marina. It was wonderful to be able to stay and enjoy the hotel, the beach, and the pool all day and walk around the marina at night. Back to the Marriott, we really enjoyed how welcoming everyone was. The food at the hotel was wonderful, the Japanese restaurant was delightful and you can save money by going Monday night and getting the 2 for 1 chicken or beef hibachi. The breakfast buffet was great, and I really enjoyed the poolside service or lunch. Two other great attributes of this hotel was the state of the art workout room, and the comfort of the beds. They were by far the most comfortable in Mexico.

Room Tip: The ocean view room is worth the extra money, especially for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank charisma2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is located next to Marina Vallarta which had many excellent restaurants and about a ten minute taxi ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta. Everyone at the hotel greeted with a smile and went out of their way to assist you. The beach was clean, the pool inviting with a swim up bar, several restaurants within the hotel each with a different menu and one restaurant had an incredible breakfast buffet. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathoranberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
425 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Marriott has three pools with even a bar in the pool and is located on a quiet beach. The breakfast is one of the best I have seen in any hotel. You can taste real authentic Mexican dishes for breakfast included in the price of the room..special AAA rates are available. The views are q amazin("

Room Tip: 8059 -8063. Sunset rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
4.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing