We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“1 night stay!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked last minute as we were staying in a house in litibu and the rains started and didn't stop. We were getting flooded in and needed to get out as we were flying home tomorrow. We were put in 2 rooms together as we had 6 of us and from the moment we called on the phone till when we checked out we couldn't fault the hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,012
    840
    185
    63
    49
See reviews for
997
1,150
100
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rooms need updating and a refresh. Restaurants mediocre and overpriced.We had their Xmas buffet and it was not done well and the food was unappetizing and disappointing. Well located but far from town center.

Room Tip: Rooms need updating.Restaurants mediocre and overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time of writing a review for our Hotel, for us it is very important to know any comment our guests may have regarding their stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for the bad experience you had with our food; I have brought to the attention of the Chef your observations, which we both appreciate, and will consider them to improve the quality of the food we provide.

As well we both hope to have you as our guest once more and get the opportunity to rectify the opinion you got of our meals.

If you need further assistance or if you have further feedback that you would like to share with me, please do not hesitate to contact me at +52 (322) 226 0010 or at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com I kindly ask you to please refer to this review when contacting us.

Kind Regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from Puerta Vallarta staying at the Mariott from December 24th through December 29th. The Mariott is a beautiful well maintained hotel. This is the 3rd time we have stayed there and I will keep going back because they never disappoint and they always provide the best of service. Check in took about 5 minutes and we never had to wait any length of time even at the desk if we had a question. The hotel is always maintained including the pools and the surrounding areas. The service is great with the staff always stopping to say hello and ask if there is anything they can do to help. The staff go out of their way to help by the pool even if only to bring you cold water whether you are buying drinks or not. They are constantly cleaning up and you never saw garbage or even empty glasses out in the pool areas. The security in the area around the hospital is teriffic and you never have to worry about your safety. The hotel itself is older but is kept well updated and you can see it. My one complaint would be that the jacuzzzi by the pool seems to be used as a mini-pool by the children so the adults cannot get near it or use it. The resturants are not overpriced so staying at the hotel for meals even if only for breakfast and lunch is great. The location itself is perfect because it is by the marina where there is an abundance of restaurants should you choose (which we did) for dinner. We did go into town twice for dinner and it only took about 15 minutes to get there and it was no problem at all since the taxis go back and forth and all the drivers speak English and when they pick you up at the big hotels you know what the charge is because they tell you at the desk exactly what you should be paying and there is no playing around. The concierge makes all of your dinner reservations and this was a busy week and yet we had no problems getting into the restaurants that we wanted. I can happily say that we would go back again and we would go back to the Mariott with no hesitations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed with our kids twice at Casa Magna and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. This is a top notch hotel. The hotel is beautiful from the moment you enter the open/airy lobby. Rooms are very nice, not huge but large enough by hotel standards. Very nice huge pool with a swim up bar. We had the buffet breakfast every day (it was included in our room rate) which is outstanding. We also enjoyed lunch at the pool every day. Love the shrimp Vallarta burritos! We did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurant as we enjoy going in to town in the evening. We like the location of the hotel by the marina as it is a very short walk and a pretty short cab ride into town as well. This is a very good choice if you are planning a trip to PV.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Casa Magna and was even better this year. The staff-from the check-in to the bar people to the buffet staff was beyond great. We ended up opting to stay at the hotel for their Thanksgiving Buffet which was delicious...something for everyone-from turkey to fish to pork chops plus live entertainment. Definitely worth the $$. Also loved the breakfast buffet...lots of items to choose from. Definitely will go back next year again...love the location, the staff and the food. Would definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Casa Magna is a large hotel, and is spread out over a pretty large compound. Even so, the staff makes it seem smaller and friendlier. From the bell hops, to the front desk, to the restaurant staff, housekeeping and everyone else, I was pleased with how friendly, responsive and courteous the staff was.

The rooms are somewhat small for the money, but the conveniences of the hotel make leaving it during the day kind of pointless except for the tourist stuff. The food from each of the restaurants was very good, but the star of the food was the breakfast buffet each day, which was fantastic!! It had everything for everyone. Everything was fresh and tasty, right down to the coffee.

The pool is large and the beach is convenient. If you want a good seat for sunning, you'll need to have one claimed by about 9AM, as they go quickly. There were plenty of servers for poolside drinks.

Internet was strong. $10US each day or $20US for 3 days. Most all the staff spoke very good english.

Room Tip: Bay views are ok if you are on a very high floor. Best views are pool/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaterboyGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our second visit to this resort, and we enjoy it thouroughly. Check in was a breeze, ride from airport was uneventful and we were in our rooms 15 minutes after we left the airport. As folks have mentioned the property is an older property that has seen numerous renovations but the rooms themselves are decorated nicely and clean.

We did hear a few folks complain about minor issues but we never had an issue that was not resolved immediately. We truly appreciate the effort all of the staff put into making the experience genuine and we always look at the fact that we are in a foreign country as guests and need to understand that each country has their own beliefs and standards. We did see some folks berate the staff and lose their cool not understanding that they were asking for the world or thought they were better than everyone else.

Food on the property was on par with what we expected, we ate at Mikado twice and had great meals both times(2x1). The restaurant by the pool/beach was really good, enjoyed Shrimp Ceviche, margaritas, and other meals all 7 days. There is a gentleman that waits on folks poolside that is just amazing, attentive and will do whatever he can to help out. His name is Victor and you should make an effort to sit in his area at least once on your trip. He helped us with our spanish, gave us ideals for meals over at the marina and downtown.

We ate the rest of our meals over at the Marina 2.5 blocks from the hotel. It is worth the walk and they have some good restaurants for everyone. We liked Victor's Tacubar(yes, the spelling is correct) as the owner was spending time each evening with his guests and the food was very good. Save room before dinner for a shot and then after dinner for a complimentary drink as well.

We also ate at Senora Prime in the Marina and had some very, very good steak tacos and food.

Spa was one of the best we have been to, had a couples massage and then spent over an hour in the wellness area. The spa does run specials different days of the week so don't hesitate to ask.

The room can be damp depending on the time of day and your tastes in regards to the settings on the air conditioner. We brought a 'Damp Rid' with us and it worked perfect, we placed it in the closet with our clothes all day to keep things fresh and then took it out and left it in the room with us at night. Anyone going South should consider bringing one as they really do take the moisture out of the air, keep your clothes dry and fresh and make the room comfortable. You can get the hanging ones(3 total) for 10 dollars at Home Depot in the states.

For the Marriott Rewards Elite Members:
- Check in is right where you get dropped off outside at the hotel when you arrive from the airport. You will get your room keys and other details and then your bags will be brought to your room where the porter will scan your credit card for incidentals and provide other information. Don't go inside and wait in line at the normal check in place.
- We did get a room upgrade with our Gold level and faced the pool/ocean but not ocean front.
- Internet access was complimentary with our Gold level and worked perfect the entire time. Do not forget to ask your porter for information on how to access it and make sure it shows complimentary when you login the first time.
- We did not get complimentary breakfast since this is a 'Resort' property per the terms of the Rewards FAQ, this was not a deal breaker, everyone just needs to know that breakfast is not included as a elite Marriott member unless you book a deal with it included.

For the folks like us that are on a budget:
- Our room rate included $50.00 US credit per day for on site restaurants, spas and other limited activities.
- The hotel offers happy hours at different times across the different restaurants, most have posted signs stating the hours and details.
- Mikado restaurant was offering 2x1 for specific table meals during our stay on Monday/Thursday, we understand that it is normally only on Monday but since we visited during a slow time they added Thursday as well.
- Mikado offered 30% off from 6pm to 7pm daily.
- The spa had various offers, we ended up utilizing the 30% off for the entire spa package as long as we booked 3 days in advance. We booked as soon as we arrived and definitely helped us save money.
- Multiple restaurants at the Marina offer specials for drinks and food, don't be afraid to ask or stop and read the signs. The folks running the restaurants will bug you a bit to get you to go in, but it is worth it.
- Get your water, soda, beer and other needs at the OXXO store in the marina instead of the hotel. The hotel is expensive but they look at it as giving their guests convenience over having to lug stuff back to the room. We went to OXXO nightly and bought water, beer, snacks and other things each night for the following day and saved quite a bit of money.

We are planning another trip to PV next year and the Marriott for sure as it was a great overall experience for us.

Room Tip: Ocean front is limited, the only other options are pool/ocean view and garden view. You don't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,382 reviews
7.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,660 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing