We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,895)
Filter reviews
3,895 results
Traveler rating
2,551
982
219
78
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,551
982
219
78
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa magna las casitas champions sports bar victor aguilar marina area breakfast buffet swim up bar ocean view short walk to the marina chief concierge great pool close to the airport pool concierge minutes from the airport ceviche great property cab ride
Filter
Updating list...
2,534 - 2,539 of 3,895 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here in October 2006 and found it pretty average. However, upon reading some great ratings in Conde Nast and Travel & Leisure this year, we decided to give the upgraded version another try in December 2012. It was worth it--very affordable and quite clean and modern. Food was above average, and it is within walking distance of the marina restaurants (some of which are lame and touristy, others of which are pretty high quality). The little coffee shop/convenience store can save you some money if you aren't looking for the large (and often expensive) hotel breakfast.
We came during a big golf event (at the golf course right across the street), so the place was flooded with golfers and some wives. Nice big pool.There was not a single child at the pool during our entire stay--not sure why, but I sure wasn't complaining. The beach is nice but has some relatively subdued souvenir hawkers lurking just outside the ropes.
We were lucky enough to be there on a day when the resident marine biologist was releasing day-old sea turtle babies into the ocean. That might sound kind of unnatural, but after you hear the speech about protecting the turtle eggs from human interference, you'll realize that these are truly wild animals. You may want to inquire at the activities desk to see if a "release" is planned at any point during your stay. I learned of it by dumb luck.
One issue to be aware of is that the hotel is in Marina Vallarta, which is definitely NOT in "el centro" Puerto Vallarta. You are an 80- to 100-peso cab ride away from el centro. Not the end of the world, but it is away from the action a bit. Definitely a good location if you're interested in golfing, though.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dsullivan-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed 6 nights late January 2012. Very comfortable hotel with nice beach and swimmable surf. Easy walking distance to scads of decent restaurants and shops at the PV marina. Great breakfast buffet but pricey- cafe closest to beach a better deal and much nicer ambiance. Very friendly and helpful staff. Had a ground level room facing beach- nice but no screens so couldn't really leave door open to hear surf at night.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtnbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful nine days here. We had two rooms that were large and very nice. The staff were so great and helpful. The kids loved the pool, it is large but needs to be updated. The swim up bar had great drinks for all of us. We all loved the baby turtle release in the evening.
We looked at the breakfast buffet but we did not think it looked all that great. We loved walking to the marina at night and in the day. Most of the restaurants are very good. We also felt very safe!!! The only complaint would be that they did not clean our room everyday and when they did it was not the best.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Marriott has a decent breakfast buffet and most of the rooms have been renovated but it's the little things that matter. Check in is slow and unfriendly, the pool is crumbling, and when we invited some locals to spend the day at the pool with us they insisted on charging them $30 each. I guess they must be hurting or stupid cause these folks were hungry and thirsty.
There is lots of choice in PV to stay so this should get a miss. And the beach here is mediocre...go to nuevo for a decent span of beach and hotels that really understand service.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iank616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us as they are a very important tool to improve our service.

On behalf of the team at CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, please accept my most sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.

Regarding the check in, I understand this is the first direct contact you may have with a hotel and I am sorry to hear we did not provide you with a good first impression, however please rest assure that the Front Desk Manager in joint with Human Resources personnel will provide with further training to the front desk staff concerning guest services.

On the subject of the pool, once again I appreciate your point of view and will make sure our Director of Engineering gets this observation and take the needed measures to improve it.

Finally as of the $30USD charged to your guests, this is a Day Pass fee for the use of our installations; however I ask you to please consider that part of this fee is returned as credit for Food and Beverage within the pool area.

We hope to have you again as the value guest you are and get the opportunity to vindicate ourselves as the high quality hotel we are.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any additional comments or assistance you may have at +52 (322) 226 0010 or at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com please refer to this review when contacting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent three nights at this Marriott Resort. We loved it. We had an ocean view room. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. Staff were very attentive. The pool staff checked in just enough to see if we needed anything. The concierge staff were very helpful. We especially enjoyed checking the status of the turtle eggs each morning.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews