We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a wonderful week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just back from 7 days at the CasaMagna and had an absolutely wonderful vacation! This Marriott property is first-rate -- clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and with friendly and expert service. The beach location is stunning, as is the pool area. We ate most meals at LasCasitas, the open-air restaurant on the beach, next to the pool -- superb food, wonderful service, and lovely vistas. The staff were very accommodating regarding all requests.

We booked the breakfast-included option, and ate at LasCasitas rather than La Estancia, the indoor restaurant. Estancia has a very substantial buffet, but we opted for LasCasitas because we wanted to be outside as much as possible. Now that I know the prices for the restaurants (much more reasonable than I expected), I would skip the inclusive option next time and just pay out-of-pocket for meals.

It was nice to be in the Marina area, rather than in the heart of Puerto Vallarta -- much more peaceful! And with a cab just 80 pesos (around $6.50) from the hotel to Centro, it was easy enough to go into town whenever we wanted to.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, in a garden room -- I was afraid it would be noisy, but it wasn't at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cccavicch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,884
    804
    178
    61
    49
See reviews for
931
1,083
94
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

If this is your first trip to Puerto Vallarta you will love this place. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. Our room was clean and nice. Bring your own coffee, they don't supply it. However, if you spend enough money in their place, they will send you some coffee for free. The breakfast buffet is good, but very high. I think it was $47.00 for two. Take a walk down to the marina area and the food is awesome and resonable. Eat breakfast at a place called Mr. Cream's Pancake House. Great food, but pretty busy. Great town. I really, really like it. Take a taxi or a bus to the boardwalk area. Great food down there as well. There are a lot of American's living down there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Well, my sister and I just returned home last night from staying at this hotel for 5 days. We had a great time!!! From the time we checked in, (which was very easy with the bellboys help) to the time we left, the service was very good. The hotel itself is a traditional Marriott with pretty grounds and clean rooms. We had a nice ocean view room with a small balcony that I watched the sun go down every evening on the ocean waters, quite lovely. My favorite part though was the daily breakfast. Gracias Andrea for making my omelet, french toast, waffles and pancakes every morning of my stay. Yummy!! The beach was nice and clean, though rocky. Now, the beach vendors selling their wares could get on one's nerves, however, we for the most part just said "no." The Marriott is located in very close to the Marina and the surrounding community reminds me of Palm Springs in that it has many retired seniors from the states. I felt very safe walking to and from the Marina in the evening. I also felt safe downtown. We even took the local bus to get downtown without blinking an eye. No problems. Downtown is filled with shops, restaurants, bars and tourists (cruise ships too). Overall we had a great time and will definitely return in the future for a quick trip (we live in Southern California).

Room Tip: If your flying from LAX, wait to exchange your money to pesos at the hotel. Believe it or not, the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelscry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

My husband and I went to Puerto Vallarta in November and had the absolute best time at Marriott CasaMagna Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is superb and the food at the resort was excellent. You could not of asked for a better beach, a little rough to swim in especially for small children but an endless clean expanse of sun and sand. The only problem that we had was getting out of the airport, the endless array of people who hassle you is a detriment to the location because PV is paradise.

Room Tip: face the ocean on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We chose to stay at Marriott because we've always had a great experience. This was no exception. This hotel is right on the beach . . . beautiful. The pool is wonderful . . .the service is outstanding, and the food in the restaurants is terrific. The spa service is also outstanding. I can't over emphasize enough the professionalism and friendliness of ALL the staff. The rooms were nice and comfortable. We are grateful to them for making our vacation memorable. Room 1041

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is the fourth year in a row to stay at Marriott's CasaMagna in Puerto Vallarta and also our eighth visit to PVR in the last ten years. We have found a favorite place here. We were there right after the holidays which is a great time to go as there is usually a lull and good deals can be had. We always look for what Marriott calls their Sand Dollar rate, every fourth day is free and they even through in free breakfast. This is not just any free breakfast. It is the most marvelous spread you can imagine. It is all buffet and you can fill up on very good, custom cooked food that will last you until dinner. Even at $19 USD it is a good deal that is even better when free of charge. The rest of the food in the hotel is only fair and priced the way you would expect in a resort hotel. After that breakfast, we would skip lunch, or get by on nachos and a Pacifico until time for dinner. For dinner we would take the short five minute walk to the marina where there are dozens of restaurants or for something special take a cab into downtown PV at a cost of about 80 peso which is about $5.84 USD at an exhange of 13.7. The rest of the hotel is what you would expect from Marriott. Well kept grounds and gardens. The rooms were very clean and the staff well trained. We were also very happy with 85 degree weather and beautiful sunny days in the dead of Colorado winter! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Some roooms face the neighboring property to the north. You will be happier if you ask for a differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solidfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Probably everyone said the good things, so i will limit the I stayed at the hotel over the new years for a week stay.. I paid for pool/ocean view but was offered ocean view rather no view of ocean unless your standing at the balcony on 1st floor. I asked for a higher floor every day (Nick, front desk) for the week but the front desk didnt want to give anything other than garden room for a higher floor. On the fifth day, finally Nick had the audacity to say you paid for a ocean view, if you want a ocean/pool view and you have to pay for it. I informed them the same thing that I said for all five days that I paid for a ocean/pool view, had to bring my confirmation notice again to show that i paid for ocean/pool view and was offered the room for one day out of seven days. Another bad part is Nick didnt even wait till I saw the room on the ocean/pool view room and left for the day. I was there on business/personal trip to check out the place for one of our customers and they lost the business.

Room Tip: Stay atleast in the second floor for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.4 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#10 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#13 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing