We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Las Caletas Vallarta Adventures”

Vallarta Adventures - Las Caletas Beach Hideaway
Book In Advance
More Info
$138.99*
and up
Las Caletas Day Tour from Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Las Caletas Vallarta Adventures”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I went to Las Caletas this past Saturday. The boat ride on the way out was rough and by the time the boat docked we did not feel very well. We took some time out to sit shade drinking only water.
Use bug spray before leaving the hotel, the Puerto Vallarta Marina has lots of mosquitoes/flies and then when we were at Las Caletas, I was bit on the back of my leg by something. It's quite red and swollen; not like the other bites I have.
We felt better and decided to go on the snorkelling tour. I've been snorkelling in Hawaii, Green Island off the coast of Australia, Fiji and the Florida Keys. Nothing wowed me here. There were a few fish hanging out under the dock but nothing amazing. The ocean current was strong and visibility wasn't great at all times.
LUNCH WAS AMAZING. Ribs, chicken, baked potatoes, delicious. I give this a "very good" just because of the food.
The boat ride on the way back was hot. Puerto Vallarta's average temperature is around 33 but with humidity it's around 45. Drink lots of water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoneWolf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,440
    513
    182
    70
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for kids, too!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We really had to work to get this all-inclusive excursion because it was listed on Celebrity's website for ages 4 and up (the tour company said that was an error...). I only mention this because we finally arranged to include our 18-month-old granddaughter, and we were so glad we did! The boat was docked very close to where the cruise ship docked, so we were able to walk with the guide who met us at the ship. We were on the little boat for about 40 minutes during which we were offered drinks (included with the tour). It was raining, and the crew closed tarps to keep us from getting wet. It was a comfortable ride with lovely scenery. Upon arrival at the island (rain stopped) we were taken to eat lunch at an outdoor area where a very good and varied buffet had been prepared. We were offered drinks and dessert as well. Everyone in our group of 6 enjoyed the meal. There were plenty of fun activities for all. The beach had a large number of beach toys scattered around for little ones as well as chairs and a nearby bar. There were parrots and a monkey for photos, face painting and donkey rides for kids, and a zip line for kids big enough to fit the harness (our just turned 4-year-old was too small). Equipment and guides were provided for those who wanted to snorkel or kayak. The snorkel guide brought up some interesting specimens for snorkelers to look at.
There was a place to rinse off and change at the end, and our trip back to town was full of merriment and friendly joking around. All of us enjoyed this excursion thoroughly. If you are looking for a modern facility with all the amenities (such as modern bathrooms and changing facilities), this excursion is not for you. We were perfectly content with a hose to rinse off and clean but modest bathroom facilities. This is supposed to be an island hideaway, and so it was! There were no more than 25 people on our tour, so we really had a chance to do whatever we wanted without any waiting and to enjoy the beach without a crowd!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahuac, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“take Vallarta Adventures here”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

we were blown away by the beauty of this place. staff was amazing. there was a wedding that night and we wished we could have seen it because i'm sure it was gorgeous. we snorkeled and swam with the sea lions, be sure to request Victor and crew for your trip!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AliGator14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best excursion ever”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was by far the best excursion yet, first time we went from the Barcello but second time we went from the marina in town which is a much better ride there as you go by a catamaran versus a speed type boat. The island is amazing only accessible by boat. Spent the whole day there wish you could spend the night as well but no resorts or hotels there just set up for a day of activities and adventures plus they have the evening excursion "rhythm of the nights"

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank canadianbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best beach trip in PVR”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Los Caletas is far superior to all the other beach villages on The Bay of Banderas, and I've been to most of them over the years.
I went to Calatas twice this week. The first day it has rained the day before, so the water was murky, but two days later was crystal clear. Saw lots of fish, sting rays and a scorpion fish.
The facility is beachy, comfortable, and clean. The food was excellent, as well as the waiters and beach crew. Activities included were snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boards and swimming. There are some extras available like scuba and spa treatments. The kids program seemed great as well.
The crew of Vallarta Adventures work very hard to make sure the guests have a memorable experience.
If you go to PVR, check out Calates. Take sunblock, sturdy beach shoes, and towel. Remember to tip the crew on the way to the boat, and at the dock.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rexiep2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Adventures - Las Caletas Beach Hideaway also viewed

 

Been to Vallarta Adventures - Las Caletas Beach Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing