We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things you should know about this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Things you should know about this resort”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The Westin is the perfect place for people who like to get out and explore the city they're visiting. There's a lot of local restaurants and shops nearby so after you're done hanging out at this beautiful resort, you can easily get out to go exploring. You always here people talk about it's not safe in Mexico but they forget, Mexico is a whole country! Every country has it's bad parts but this is not one of them. Use common sense of course but generally, this is a very safe area bring your family to.

The grounds are awesome. All the mature trees and winding pools make every room have a great view. The photos don't lie! The beach and the interiors of the resort are exactly as they're pictured. I like the way they incorporate the minibar into every room. The beds are plush and comfy too. If you can swing the cost of an upgraded room, the Jr. Suite or Grand Deluxe is well worth it.

Every resort is a totally different experience for different kinds of people. This resort appeals to a certain type of guest expectation. Contact me before you book your trip. I'm a travel professional and can give you direct advice on this and hundreds of other resorts that I've checked out personally. For more pictures and trip ideas, check out our Facebook page and website.

Thanks for reading,

Ray
Onboard Travels

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onboard_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    648
    245
    105
    67
See reviews for
425
746
73
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

The Westin Puerto Vallarta is a great place to go if you want to just kick back and relax. It is located in the marina area, so it is not within walking distance of downtown Puerto Vallarta. It is a short taxi or bus ride into town. However, there are a lot of great shops and restaurants in the marina within walking distance of the hotel. Plus it's only 10 minutes from the airport so you can maximize your time by the pool! If you're inclined to work out while on vacation, they have one of the better hotel gyms I've seen. There is quite an assortment of equipment. The staff is very attentive and overall the service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinghillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed at the Westin for Thanksgiving week 2010. Starwood Platinum, so were upgraded to 728, which was pretty much a regular room with a King bed, but it did have a balcony with its own hot tub. Also included access to the Club floor, which I think this hotel also sells as an upgrade.

Service/Checkin/etc: Checkin was a regular checkin experience like at any hotel, no cold towels or drinks like you get at nicer places. For the rates they charge I frankly didn’t expect anything over the top. Service was very nice, good all around. Housekeeping was on the late side (4pm one day). Waitstaff was friendly, particularly on the club level. Restaurants were fine, not great, not too expensive. Regular resort prices. Poolside waitstaff were readily available, not intrusive.

Facility: The physical plant was fine, maybe a little aged but well maintained. I don’t get the hot pink décor but whatever. The grounds are well maintained, the pools cleaned frequently, lots of trees and foliage, etc. The beach sand is more soil-ish than sand-ish, and the beach is fairly small with a lot of vendors.

Gym: The gym is tucked away and has 2 fake-grass tennis courts. A pretty decent gym with new equipment, spacious, has everything you would need. I was really surprised to see any complaints about this gym. I wok out every day for 20 years now and this is at the way high end of hotel gyms. I think there's a small charge ($7 maybe) for the gym unless you're Platinum.

Pool: The hotel was built as 3 buildings, and somewhere along the way the hotel sold 2 of them to a timeshare, though you can use the timeshare pools which are better maintained, nicer, and warmer. They’ve erected the Berlin wall between the hotel’s pools and the timeshare pools. So as you exit the door to go to the pool, and you want to go to a warmer pool, you’re about 5 steps away but you have to walk about ¼ mile to get to it, due to the fence. It seems that if you’re allowed to use the pool, they should take down the fence. Or, just heat the hotel pool. Overall, the pools were nice and quiet.

Club Floor. Kind of a standard club floor of a lower end Westin. Breakfast had hot food like eggs and pancakes and then cereal and oatmeal. Nothing fancy – no smoked salmon, muesli, no decent pastries, etc. There’s not even a toaster, but they’ll take stuff in the back and toast it for you. Lots and lots of families and screaming kids every day. The staff was good.

Tips: As mentioned countless times, Beer &Tacos across the street is good, but not really much cheaper than the resort. We went to the sushi place at the Marriott and it was really expensive (NY prices) and not good at all. Save your Money. The OXXO across the street has drinks and water if you want. Went to Café des Artistes downtown ($7 cab ride) and ate outside-great setting, decent food. You can walk to the movies (a nearby mall) in about 20 minutes or $5 cab ride. Starbucks is a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2010

let start off with the hotel staff was amazing! they were always there and fast and helpful. thats the reason we would go back to this hotel. the rooms were clean and nice but standard even for the upgrade we dished out for. not bad but not amazing. the food wasnt that good but not gross. i would upgrade the room so you can get the breakfast and happy hour menu with drinks well worth it. we ate dinner at the hotel twice but we tried the Taco and Beers about 1 block away and it was very cheap very good food. we ate there most of the time. we didnt go to the beach because you get hassled even sitting in the resort area( you get that enough just steping outside the hotel anyway). the pool was ok with the swim up bar but you get a lot of birds bathing in the pool tan beds so that was kind of gross and it had a lot of leaves and junk but we did see it get cleaned often so we knew it was just from the trees. in all the hotel was good. the marriott down the road a bit looked way nicer but the staff at the Westin made up for the hotel not being a nice as we thought. i would give it a 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEAFENTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I traveled to PV with my wife for a wedding that was held down the street at the Marriott, which is a beautiful hotel. My wife and I used points and cash then went for the upgrade to the ethereal Royal Beach Club, which basically just means brunch and some cocktails. We were given a room on the 11th floor that smelled terrible. The entire hotel has a problem with mold, which they try to address with the liberal application of bleach - thus lending a healthy funk to the whole place. We were then moved to the seventh floor, which still smelled a little funky, but we were tired and wanted to get on with our vacation. Brunch was crowded and a wedding party usurped half of the tables. The staff was very apologetic but we were just annoyed. PV in general is just terrible - aggressive beach sellers, drunks everywhere, and tourist pricing. Having traveled throughout Mexico, I can safely say that PV is a second-rate locale.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We love and travel to Mexico 3-4X a year. 2nd time in PV and staying in the Marina this time rocked! No cruise ship tom-foolery passengers or throngs of tourists & locals. The Malecon was a $8 dollar cab ride & the bus was also an option.

That said, we stayed at the Westin in the Marina and had a fabulous time. Most hotels in Mexico are a bit dated, however they are constantly working to update facilities and rooms, which explains the constant presence of construction. This is a normal ocurrance in all the resort areas of Mexico. Just accept it.

JOIN THE STARWOOD PROGRAM AND BOOK A ROOM ON THE CLUB LEVEL!!!! Its what I would describe as "semi-inclusive", meaning you have breakfast and a happy-hour each day in your own members-only lounge. Angel & Dalia took total care of us, never badgered us for tips (we tipped them well) and it freed us up from having to look for all our meals out. We stayed in room 1207, which was great & had a decent view and private balcony. The maid created different animals with towels each day for us. The staff at the hotel was helpful and not arrogat at all.

Ok, the pool does have its fair share of palm trees, but you get plenty of sun during the day. We found ourselves moving around a bit, however it was fine. We went out for dinner each night, having access to the Club Level hook-up. We emailed staff ahead of time & had our gym use comped.

In all, the Westin was great and it would be fine for couples or families. Avoid the typical pitfalls of time-share and other hucksters and once you are "Mexico-proofed", you're have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverenoughtime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This hotel was away from everything and when we were there, there were hardly any guests. The breakfast buffet is delicious!! The bar overlooking the pool has good food and is a nice place to relax in the cool shade. The beach in front of this hotel is just okay. You have to take the bus or taxi to get to downtown, where all the shops are. There are some restaurants (which are good) in the marina which is walking distance, but the marina is not all that exciting and the shops are overpriced. This place is perfect if you want to be away from everything. It is amazingly clean and nicely remodeled. Despite how great it is, if you want to be close to action and things to do, I recommend a hotel that is not on the marina side.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carebearrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,765 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing