We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATM fraud across from the Westin Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“ATM fraud across from the Westin Hotel”
Reviewed August 18, 2005

My husband and I went to the Westin over the 4th of July holiday. Hotel was wonderful. Great time. But they did not have an atm machine at the hotel. They suggested to use the one across the street next to the liquor store. It was a Banamex ATM machine. You went inside the door. Well on the 16th of August I checked my bank account and I had 4 ATM withdrawals from banks in Mexico totalling $1400.00. When I used that machine they collected all my information including my pin number and created a new card. I only used that machine one time, but thats all it took. Please be careful and for anyone who used that machine I would suggest to close your account and get a new card. My bank told me they are having lots of problems with this.

Either go to the bank itself to get cash. This machine is not monitored or no cameras. I recommend do not use any of those types of ATM machines. If you planning a trip to the Westin you might want to mention to them to not suggest people to use that ATM machine accross from the hote. My bank did credit our account and a fraud investigation has been started.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    649
    245
    105
    67
See reviews for
426
746
73
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 10, 2005

My family just returned from a very relaxing getaway at the Westin resort in Puerto Vallarta. We experienced excellant service from the maid to the concierge. The hotel has four pools to choose from and we never had a problem finding a lounge chair near the pool.
I also took advantage of their gym. They had plenty of cardio, free weights, and swiss balls for core exercising. Very clean, and very nice dressing rooms, showers and sauna. There is a $5.00 fee for each time you use the gym.
The food at the restaurant was average at best and a bit overpriced. We took advantage of the city buses and cabs and ate at some great restarants on the marina which is only a ten minute walk, and the downtown area a $6.00 cab fare.
The beach was a bit small but still pleasant.
The only downside to Puerto Vallarta is the time share salespeople, they are relentless.
We plan on returning to Puerta Vallarta again next year, best time of year is from December to April according to the locals.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2005

Recently brought the family for 5 nights. After reading the reviews regarding food prices - we booked the Royal Beach Club concierge floor and were not disappointed. Beautiful room on the 12th floor overlooking the entire sweep of the bay. Breakfast included eggs, sausage, cheese, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, and pastries. Each evening from 5-7 there was an open bar with 2 hot appetizers, sandwiches, chips and guacamole. Terrific value. We did both the Las Palmas Horseback Tour - amazing - beautiful ride through the jungles with swim at a waterfall followed by a fantastic lunch at the hacienda with open bar. Loved It! Also did the canopy tour which was a lot of fun but somewhat high priced.

The Westin has lovely pools - but the managment needs to lose the constant noise from the Nikki Beach Club. ANNOYING! Also, prices at the bars and restaurants are excessive - go across the street to the Marina.

All in all, a great vacation. Don't talk to any of the timeshare people - they start at the airport. Also - a cab from the airport should be only about $6 to the Westin.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank KalenFullerton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

My husband and I and our daughter and her fiance just got back from the Westin. We were there from 7/23 to 7/31. We read the weather reports for a few weeks prior to our trip and were very concerned about the weather as the forecast was for scattered t storms everyday. We arrived and it was sunny and warm. We had rain 1 time during our 8 day stay. The weather was humid but only bad if we were in a taxi that didnt have air conditioning (which was a majority of them). The rooms at the Westin were quite large. We had a queen bed, a chaise (which was great), an armoire, and a small 2 drawer dresser, 2 night stands and 2 closets. Much larger than the other Westins that we have stayed at in Maui and the Bahamas. The bathroom has a separate shower and tub. Shower is tiled and a walk in with no door. We loved the shower. The tub is small but nice, plenty of counter space in the bathroom. We were in room 901, had a view of the pools, ocean and the downtown area and mountains across the bay. We also had a view of cruise ships coming in and out of the Marina as well as the pirate ship that shoots off fireworks every night at around 9pm. We did not eat at the Westin other than the pool service which was good. Somewhat spendy but what you would expect from a resort. Several shops in hotel. Nice pools, there are kids is each pool though, didnt bother us much. Our daughter was in room 921 and closer to the Nikki Club, they could only hear the music Thurs Fri and Sat night, did not keep them up at night though. They saw dolphins in the bay from their room. The rooms were very clean, only problem was that sometimes we would not receive washclothes, etc. A call to housekeeping took care of that when we needed anything. Our daughter had problems with their TV and a new one was brought in for them, they also had a problem with their air conditioning leaking and it was fixed quickly. The front desk was very helpful. We booked golf through the hotel. We booked our tours through Tukari but found out we could have paid less for them. We did the dolphin swim ($129 and absolutely incredible), Las Caletas scua and snorkel tour (fantastic) and Rythms of the night. The show at Rythms wasnt great but the ambiance more than made up for it. The Marina course was better than Vista Vallarta and cheaper. We ate most meals at the Marina, very handy, had to walk past the timeshare people which is a little irritating but did not affect our vacation at all. We had no problems with the timeshare people in the hotel. Drinks at the hotel are a little spendy, $7.90 for a margarita, $4 for a beer. Much cheaper in the marina. We also went to the Malecon and downtown. Ate at Carlos O Briens which was really fun. Had the most incredible massages at the Marina, it is a spa by the silver store that has candles in the window area, cant remeber the name. Theraputic massage was $45 for 75 min, ambiance is fantastic. We went to book another couples massage and because we prepaid, we got it for $37 per person. The ocean can look somewhat brown in areas due to the rainy season and the river running into the ocean but we were able to get in the water in front of our hotel and it didnt bother us at all. We did not do the Pergolas on the beach as they appeared to be expensive but we found out that the price includes 3 meals per day you rent them. Would have been worth it. Meal prices were good in the Marina, breakfast for 4 was around $25, dinner was around $40 for 4 people without alot of drinks. We had a fabulous vacation and cant wait to go back. For comparison purposes we have been to Maui, Cancun, and Grand Bahama Island and we really liked PV. Would like to go in the winter in the future to avoid some humidity and see dolphins, whales, etc. I was very nervous about this trip and wanted to let everyone know that it was incredible. Hope this helps you decide.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 23, 2005

Stayed at the Westin...hotel was beautiful. Went with another couple and can base the review on 2 rooms. The grounds were very nice and clean. Pools were great with the only problem the first day only one pool was open due to huge rainstorm the night before. As a frequent stayer at Westins I found the room great. The only thing we noticed was that the level of service was slightly off for a "westin". Our bathrobes had no ties..room was cleaned great, but no new shampoo or soap, and several other small items that were not up to their usual standards. Our friends in the room 2 doors down had no problems at all.
Not sure what other reviewers were saying about loud noise from nikki beach next door. Couldn't hear a thing. If you do not like kids making noise, I suggest spending the day on the cushions provided at Nikki Beach. To use their cushions and towels all you have to do is buy a drink. I would not reccomend Nikki Beach for dinner as none of our dishes were very good. Lobster tails very dry and pasta not too good. Overall, I found the food to be the only disappointment for the money we spent. The best restaurant was La Palapa. Great stay and would go to the westin again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2005

We just returned from the Westin....okay hotel, the Marriot was absolutely gorgeous and we would try there next time. If you stay at the Westin, never turn off your air conditioning unit! We did one night when we decided the open door and the ceiling fan would be enough. I don't know what the conditioner does but after an hour or so we turned it back on because with the humidity as it is the whole room was soaking wet! It smells very musty. The restaurant was fantastic at the Westin, expensive, 750 pesos for two adults and three children for breakfast with one child only having pastry and hot chocolate but very good. The dinner buffet was amazing and children under 11 eat for half price although they told my 14 year old son he could have the same deal as well. Children under 11 eat for free during the breakfast buffet. Both are 250 pesos for adults and children older than 11. The service was outstanding. The only draw back and it is a biggie is that they have these beautiful pools but they are green with algae. I mean green, my daughters white swim suit is stained green! They were fighting this problem all week! I don't know if it is the fact that the palms are dropping pollen into the pool or the heat or what but you can see the algae all over the bottom of the pool. It went from bad to worse by the end of our stay. For this, I would try the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Needavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2005

We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Puerto Vallarta Westin and it was amazing! Abigail the wedding coordinator took care of everything. The food was amazing, the drinks were overflowing and you can’t beat the view. Approximately 70 of our guests stayed at the Westin and everyone couldn’t stop raving about the service. All the rooms were immaculate, the bathrooms roomy, and the beds really are heavenly. The drinks and food are good at the hotel, but expect to pay what you would at any resort. We walked into the marina and had several meals at Victor’s. They are very welcoming to large groups, Victor himself came over to our tables to greet everyone, and the beers are $1 (yup, one American dollar) and every beer comes with a tequila chaser. Try having a traditional Mexican breakfast at the taco stand across the street from the hotel and I hear the pizza in the same shopping center is pretty good too. For a nice meal at a good price try Andariego’s on the main road on the way to town. Every meal comes with a guacamole appetizer made at your table and a shot of their very own tequila for dessert. The forecast was for scattered T-storms but it didn’t rain the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank claudian429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
516 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,776 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing