We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin better than Marriot Casa Magna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Westin better than Marriot Casa Magna”
Reviewed March 8, 2005

The Westin is a beautiful property with a very open feel to it. The pool has a very pleasing design and is surrounded by palm trees. The grounds are well maintained. Because of this, the view from the balcony of the hotel rooms is spectacular.

Before I went I was trying to decide between the Westin and the Casa Magna. I walked over to the Casa Magna and was glad that I chose the Westin. The pool area is not near as nice at the Casa Magna. Also, the Casa Magna does not have an open feel to it. The only thing I saw better at the Casa Magna was that the floors are marbel whereas they are orange tile at the Westin. The Casa Magna is not a bad hotel, it is just not as nice as the Westin.

These reviews helped me learn a lot about the hotels. It is true that the Westin is very noisy at night - the bar on the beach plays loud music. I was so tired from walking around the city, I was able to sleep through it.

The Westin (and the Casa Magna) are located in the Marina. It is a great location. There are many small restaurants over looking yahts floating in the marina. When you go downtown, you can take the bus ride for only 4 pesos.

It is true that timeshare pressure is relentless throughout PV. Just tell them right away that you are not interested and walk away. Be on guard: in PV everyone is trying to get you to buy something.

One thing that disappointed me is that the Westin charges to use the gym ($5 per person) and the tennis courts ($10 per hour). I thought that this was unfair because I was already paying full price for the room.

Restaurants in the Centro I recommend: Pipi's, La Valintina, and the River restaurant (below the bridge). The food was excellent and I didn't get sick.

One thing that surprised me about PV: in the afternoon winds start to blow, and the whole place cools down quite a bit. I went to PV at the beginning of March. In the middle of the day the temperature was in the 70s, but when the winds started blowing in the late afternoon, the temperature seemed to drop into the 60s.

One tip: The vans at the airport are a rip off. Do not get into a van. Go out onto the street and catch a cab there. We paid $26 to go in a van from the airport to the Marina, but on the way back we took a taxi which charged us only $3.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    630
    244
    105
    66
See reviews for
417
732
71
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 6, 2005

Thw Westin is by far the most beautiful hotel in the marina area. It is an oasis in a rapidly over-developing Puerto Vallarta. Our ocean view room with hot tub on the balcony was immaculate. The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds were also immaculate. The Nikki Beach restaurant and club is reminiscent of South Beach or Marbella -- the food is superb.
Our only negatives were that the beach is small, the timeshare sharks at the Mayan Palace refuse to take no for an answer. PV's zona romantica (old town) is wonderful and striking. Skip the Malecon altogether. Pve has terrific restaurants: Archie's Wok, Le Klif (in Mismaloya), Diaquiri Dick's and others. I don't get all the negative reviews but it may have more to do with where the reviewer is from and how old they are. This is clearly a four star resort in every sense of the word. Eat breakfast in the marina -- avoid the $20 buffet at the hotel. We did and were not sorry.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 23, 2005

Just returned from a short stay at the Westin. It is truly a beautiful hotel. Being in the travel industry, I have been in a wide variety of hotels. If you are a complainer, you can find something wrong with anything. But for Mexico, this hotel is top-notch. The rooms are lovely, the resort is well-kept, it is relaxing, peaceful and the beds really are heavenly. (If you have been to other Mexico hotels, you will know what I mean!) For those on this site who complain about the prices and service, it is Vallarta and it is Mexico. It is a top tourist destination and always expensive. Take a taxi to old town and perhaps find a better deal on food and drinks. But enjoy where you are instead of complaining. Vallarta is breathtakingly beautiful and the Westin has maximized this with a great outdoor bar, pool and cabana area. Puerto Vallarta does not have the white sand beaches of Cancun. The beaches and water are different. Don't expect something that won't be there. We found the staff to be friendly, accomodating and efficient (well, Mexico, efficient). Again, sit back and relax. We had a wake up call on time and room service coffee within minutes. They gave us another hour for check out and happily fixed a mistake on our final bill. Life is good! If we return to Vallarta, this will be the hotel of choice.

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2005

My wife and I just returned from a seven night stay at the resort. The first day was a little disheartening with being told we couldn't have an ocean view, the 25 requests in the first 24 hours to take a timeshare or some other tour, and the very high price for mixed drinks. The positives did outway the negatives though. The food, though expensive was very good around the pool. You can obtain 5 coronas for about $17 in a ice cold bucket (very nice). The pools are large and never crowded (good luck finding sun if you want it around the pool). The covered cabanas are a nice and unique touch but get there earlier to reserve a spot. Nikkis has incredible food, romantic setting, and great mood music. We ate breakfast and lunch in the marina area. We would highly recommend the following places for dinner: Le Kliff (simply the most stunning setting we have ever seen and we have been alot of places), Cafe' Artist (best food in area), La Panarama (downtown), and Los Milagios for the best mexican. I would avoid Oscars downtown and Pipis which seemed americanized. For couples we would recommend a trip to Las Caletas for a sunset dinner.
The resort is for those wishing to relax (don't expect to play much volley ball or other activities) and for a romantic getaway. Really the only thing we would change is somehow getting rid of the over 1000 yes 1000 salespeople around the resort trying to sell trips and timeshares.
Overall nice trip and nice resort!

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2005

The hotel was wonderful:

Rooms – Were great. Wonderful view, great service, and as always, a great heavenly bed.
Grounds – Absolutely perfect. Quite, tranquil, romantic, stunning. Lay in a cabana and watch the sunset. It’s a perfect moment.
Food – Wonderful! Buffet breakfast is amazing and Nikki on the beach has a wonderful filet.

Helpful?
12 Thank DenverTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood,Pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2005

We have been to a lot of places in Mexico & Carib. this is the nicest. We had a two story room on the 14th floor with balconies on both levels. One balcony had a very private hot tub the other lounge chairs. With it came club privileges. Free drinks, free breakfast and in the evening enough snacks to make it a dinner if you wanted to. The restaurants in the marina (five minute walk) are great.
The time share guys are there for sure. But they will give you $200.00 now to go on their tour. One of the locals told us to go on the tour in the afternoon because the tours are much shorter because the folks want to get home.
The beach has improved a lot with the new jetties they have put in. There was no construction when we were there 1/28-2/1/05.
Rooms very clean.
I would pay up to get the top floor.
Staff is super.
Went whale watching and saw many hump backed whales. $40.

Helpful?
15 Thank Pamelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 28, 2005

Have spent last few vacations here & will not return to Westin. Staff friendly, but sense that there is no one at the helm: hair dryer inoperable (2nd yr in a row, diff rm), small biting insects in room, room marginally clean & housekeeping requested when we checked in to clean dirty tub, food by pool fine, but restaurant (breakfast ok) & buffet terrrible! Room very attractive and comfortable. Pool nice, but not warm enough for us. We have friends who had a better experience. Prefer Marriott & found food to be good, but adjacent condo construction results in awful noise at pool & beach for time being.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,434 reviews
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,042 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing