We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time in PV!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time in PV!”
Reviewed December 20, 2004

We just returned from an 8-night stay at the Westin on the 19th. This review is the Hotel, not the Club Regina. The hotel room and the grounds are beautiful. I will start with the pros: Bed, room and bathroom were awesome! There is a two-head showerhead! We were on the 6th floor and had a great view. The grounds are beautiful. There are 4 pools, two are like a lagoon, one is for children and the 4th has activities. There is a beach area before the public beach that has wooden pergolas, which if you get one on the end, you will get plenty of sunshine. The staff is friendly, especially if you try speaking some Spanish with them.

Cons: Prices of food/beer is high. They raised the prices on 12/18 just in time for high season and the Christmas crowd. We luckily had a 20% beer/beverage discount through Apple Vacations. They are utterly understaffed for service at the beach/pool. We would order a bucket of 5 Coronas to make life easier. Remember that it is not the server’s fault, but the hotel for making the servers cover such a large territory. Like a previous review, Jorge is the best server, as well as Karla. If you are a sun worshiper, this is not the place for you. I swear they think the sun is evil. There are a million palm trees, which makes it difficult to find a full day’s sun during the winter months due to the lower lying sun. We chose the pergolas, which were great! You have to reserve them early with your towels…they go fast. It can get noisy at night with Nikki Beach on the weekends, but it never bothered us.

I would highly advise to walking to the Deli across the beach for coffee in the morning. The time scam desk gives out coffee in the morning for the Club Regina, but I avoided them like the plague. Otherwise you will pay about $4 a cup at the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is about $19 per person. Mr. Cream in the Marina has great breakfast for under $15 total for 2 people. I recommend Porta Bella, Buenos Aires for dinner. Taxi to town is $45 Pesos or $4 American. Barcelona Tapas in town is a must, as well as Pipis!

We liked the Westin, had a great time, but probably won’t return. The hotel is geared towards the Regina Club. The Time-Share sharks tried calling our room for days and offering invitations for breakfast and their “Welcome Package”, but we ignored them. It is a great hotel, but somewhat overrated. We stayed at the Marriott 3xs prior and they were much more personable and reasonable. We will try south of town next time.

Helpful?
9 Thank Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    630
    244
    105
    66
See reviews for
417
732
71
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 17, 2004

My husband, baby and I stayed at the westin for a week. It's a very nice, clean hotel with wonderful pools and beach area. Our room on the 12th floor was very nice and clean and the beds were awesome. HOWEVER, this hotel is very noisy and the walls are very thin. My baby kept waking up at night from all the music that was playing and people above us that were walking as well as running in the hallways. Everyone we talked to at the pool had the same issues as us about the noise.

The food and drinks are ridiculously expensive. As a young couple we cannot afford $20 per person for breakfast buffet every day and $8 per drink, do not eat at this hotel if you do not want to waste all your money on food. The marina which is a 5 min walk from the hotel was great and we went there for breakfast and dinner every day. The hotel is quite far from downtown and if you're young and like to party you may want to stay closer to downtown. Another funny thing is that they have this great gym there but it's supposedly only for the people at club regina so if you want to use it you have to pay $5 per day...We refused to pay it but used the gym every day.

Overall this is a beautiful hotel, but we probably wont stay there again b/c it's too expensive. Last time we stayed at the sheraton buganvilias and will probably stay there next time instead.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2004

We stayed at this resort last June and it was fantastic! Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the pool and the beach and can't imagine having a better view anywhere! The pool area made you not even want to leave. We took the bus into town everyday for .40 and experienced many of the great eating establishments PV has to offer. If you splurge in one meal, let it be Le Kliff. The experience and setting was outstanding. The timeshare people are everywhere but the key is not to make eye contact with any of them and just ignore! Our vacation this summer is a toss up between Cabo or PV and it is a hard decision! We actually came back from vacation last summer and bought the "heavenly bed"! The Westin is the best hotel in PV in my opinion!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovetogoAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 14, 2004

We stayed at the Westin the first week of December-04.
Very excited to stay here we walked thru our last stay in PV and thought this looked really cool.
All in all the hotel was nice and the pool area was large and plenty of room to sit, the bad thing about the pool is that you do not get umbrellas buy you chair the pool is surrounded with hundred of palm trees that keep the sun blocked, there are a few choice seats that get full exposure but are taken up quickly.
there are cabanas in front of the beach but they also are covered, so if you want full sun your best bet is to go to the beach where the vendors hound you.
The maids or should I say 15 year old kids did a poor job, the rooms were all in all a nice rooms and the AC unit was the coldest I have ever felt.
I really do not try to be tight on vacations, I know you will pay a more for hotel food and drinks any where you go but I thought the prices of food and drink where the most outrageous I have ever seen, $15.00 for a quasadea at the pool, 12.00 nacho's that -----!
12.00 hamburgers shall I go on.
You can easily walk a couple blocks down and get some good breakfast for $5.00 at a couple of restaurants and the Taco and beer restaurant (this is what there sign says) were truly some of the best tacos I had in PV.
Drinks, 4 beers $20.00, 1 double daiquiri $17.00, 1 shot of Sauza hornitos tequila $10.00, give me a break!
So if you do not mind being out of the down town area and could care less about how much money you spend of food and drinks you will like this place, oh ya the breakfast buffet was good but $20.00 a head, if we would have ate there 5 mornings with 4 people that $400.00 just for breakfast, I would rather get some of the great tequilas Mexico has to offer and walk across the street to eat.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2004

This place was excellent! I really don't know why people are complaining. The service was great, the rooms very new and clean, and the resort grounds are spacious and relaxing. Look around at nearby hotels and the Westin probably has one of the nicest pools, lounge chairs, etc. People complain about getting solicited, but this is more a Puerto Vallarta thing than it is a Westin Regina thing. Admittedly, the beach bar does have music going into the night, but if you close your balcony doors, you can't hear a thing. Plus, for those reading this before their trip, might make sense to call the hotel and request a room more distant from the bar.

We had a really great time! Again, the beach and pool areas were spacious (never felt crowded - at least when we went in November), and the resort can connect you with numerous day excursions and tours. Also, on sight is a water sport company that lets you rent catamaran and other water equipment (snorkels, boogie boards, etc.).

Great place - we had a fabulous time and will be going back to the Westin.

Helpful?
3 Thank travelhanging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 4, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the westin during christmas break. We enjoyed the hotel. The rooms are great, the bed is very comfortable. The marina close by is a great plus, as there are many great resteraunts
to eat at. Don't get the full inclusive.
The pools are fun and the service is good.

Only a couple of bad things:
a) Music from nearby discos can get loud
b) The beach is small. Water no to good, and there are a lot
of locals selling goods, which forces you back into the hotel.

Overall though, a great place for a vacation.

Rocco

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2004

My girlfriend and I just returned from a week at the Westin in PVR and absolutly loved it. I dont know what people are complaining about the hotel was fantastic and the staff were extremely friendly. The room was excellent and the grounds of the hotel were amazing and very well kept(they did maintenance on a regular basis). The bars had loud music playing during the day and evening but it was good music by a live band and over by 11 pm. If you dont like loud music you cant hear it with the door closed and AC on(which you will need). The marina was beautiful and I recommend you go there and try the restaurants they are very good and the staff are very friendly. Mr. Cream is a great place to go for breakfast and go to Fajita Bannanas and try the ribs they were amazing. What you have to remember is everyone is a friendly to you as you are to them so these people compalining that no one is friendly try smiling and you will get a smile or a hello back. The time share guys are a little pushy bet they take a hint pretty quickly just dont be mean about it and they leave you alone. I loved it down there and will return ASAP and recommend it to everyone, It is also very family friendly.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,433 reviews
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing