We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool. Pool. Pool. Oh, and large rooms :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #28 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pool. Pool. Pool. Oh, and large rooms :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Yes, it is an older property, but don't you want to feel like you are in Mexico when you pull up to a resort and not have the property look like South Beach? The stucco, the plantings, the large lobby area--it was beautiful and so well kept up! The pool area though scores 100 POINTS from me. We never had a problem finding a great lounge chair and the service pool side was wonderful. We visited during Spring Break and anticipated a crazy rush for the chairs, but a stroll down after breakfast and it was never a problem. Beach chairs seemed to be ALWAYS free, though I preferred the pool side. Breakfast buffet was wonderful and the Royal Beach Club was a fun perk if that is available! Great tip---ask for when happy hour is poolside! (2-3 p.m. daily I believe)--but the two for one drinks were a great deal and the swim up bar was easy too!

Room Tip: The Starwood Preferred Guest level was very quiet--even near the Elevator--and we placed pillows dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CJBolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iliana J, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your important feedback; your opinion is very valuable to us.
i'm glad to learn that you enjoyed the buffet and the happy hour.

We are very proud of our staff, they focus in providing personalized services and create memorable stays to our guests.

Warm regards,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    622
    235
    103
    66
See reviews for
408
723
69
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed our 3-nights stay in Westin in April. Our room was on 11th floor. Clean, comfortable, wonderful view. Our reservation included breakfast that wasn't great, but very decent. Loved the pool and grassy area right above the beach. Had to reserve spots in shade a little earlier in the morning but this was not a problem. We love staying in Marina area, but not all resorts here are ocean front. This one is perfect for those (like us) who like to stay close to water. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle between elevators on 11th floor. Couldn't ask for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iliana J, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback about The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We love to hear that you enjoy the pool and the grassy area.
Hope to see you soon.

kind regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed in this hotel and their upper management. We suffered an accident while on the property and had to go to the hospital for x rays. Had to stay in our room for the remainder of the trip due to doctors written orders. Hotels upper management refused to give us a credit for the last days of our trip that obliged us to our room. Starwood did give us star points to make up for the loss and they were understanding of the severity of the situation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YRamos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iliana J, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience and we appreciate very much your feedback, this information will help to improve our services avoid this type of experience.

We really sorry to read about the accident, but we hope to have the oportunity to have you here again in The Westin and have a better time than this one.

My very best regards,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
491 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel and other local Vallarta marina hotels many times in the past ten years for both business and pleasure. Although getting a bit older, the resort and property are well maintained, clean and enjoyable. The pools and beach areas are excellent with separate pools for children provided with beach toys; the vegetation is mature and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful, most are at least bi- lingual. The main restaurant, beach restaurant and pool bar/restaurants are reasonably priced for a resort with excellent quality food and service.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are situated with either the garden, or sea view, and nice views of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iliana J, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your loyalty to The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very proud of our staff, they focus in providing personalized services and create memorable stays to our guests.

We hope to see you soon in your second home in Puerto Vallarta

My best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

It was my first visit in Puerto Vallarta last week and we chose to stay at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. With our status, we got upgraded to the Junior Suite with our own ocean view and a jacuzzi right outside our room. The room and view were gorgeous!! The facilities are very nice and clean. The food was not that bad and the location is very close to the airport (5 mins) and to go to downtown is not that bad since we had our own car (20 mins). The staffs were nice and professional. The cabana and all the landscape was beautiful. However, the WIFI was very weak everywhere we went. With Westin name, I think they should be able to afford more WIFI transmission to make our experiences in the room, at the pool or on the beach better. It was quite annoying that it was very slow or sometimes our mobile devices could not even pick up the signal at all even in the hotel property. I would totally recommend my friends to stay there but I would also tell them if WIFI is important to them, they might have a big problem...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagicaprio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iliana J, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback about The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the instalations and your suite.
I sincere apologize for the problem with the connection wifi, we will do an action plan to avoid this type of incidents in the future.

And we hope to see you soon again

kind regards,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Westin during Semana Santa, the busiest time to be near the beach by far in all of Mexico. This trip surpassed our first trip in quality and pleasure, and I really didn't notice the crowds at all. I love the rooms, they are so quiet, you don't hear any of the music from the pool or hallways. This visit, I took advantage of the spa and workout facilities, both were excellent. As an added bonus, they have a male massage therapist working at the spa named Raul who was amazing. I went twice to see him and it made a great trip nearly perfect. For anyone who prefers the strength of a male therapist, I hope you go see Raul at the Westin Spa, you will be happy that you did so. I love the staff at the entire hotel, and look forward to returning in June.

Room Tip: The higher floors have phenomenal views of the Bay and fireworks on display in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmeraldMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding of your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially the service provided by Raúl at our Spa.

We look forward to receive you next June!

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We just got back from a nice 5 day break at the Westin. The hotel is "Modern Mexican" in style so has a charm and charisma about it.
The entrance lobby is welcoming and airy and the reception desks and concierge are well manned. Our checkin was very quick and the room was ready for us upon arrival meaning we could dump the bags in the room and head straight to the pool, unpacking can happen later!
We have stayed at this hotel previously and were put off by some of the negative comments written about it on TA.
We opted for the breakfast included option which was excellent and ate around the pool most lunchtimes. The prices were cheaper than what i had expected so that was a nice surprise.
We ate in the hotel a couple of nights and out at the marina the others. The marina is close enough to walk and very safe with great views of the boats and plenty of dining choices. We were fortunate enough to see a crocodile on the last night.
Travelling with young kids we didn't need to head downtown at all.
The pools are big enough and the kids pool has plenty of shaded areas so you can get in with babies and not be too exposed to the sun.
The other (bigger) pool was pretty quiet and it was possible to get some laps done (if that is your thing) early morning around 9am when no one else was around.
The waiting staff were ok and Manuel who ran the activities kept us entertained with bingo, volleyball etc.
Another thing to add is that there is an OXXO mini mart opposite the hotel so you can top up on water, cokes, sweets, creams, chips etc and bring them to the hotel, in fact quite a few people had coolers with soft drinks and beers around the pool and on the beach.
We would definitely return to the Westin however one thing that the management need to sort out is the lack of baby cots. We had to wait until the 3rd night before they gave us one which is appalling! They said this was due to an unexpected high number of families arriving - what do they expect when its high season over Easter???
All in all and despite the cot issues we had a great time and hope too get back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest:

I would like to thank and appreciate all your comments about your satisfactory stay with us; in particular that you have enjoyed some of our services, pools and activities with Manuel.

We apologize by the lack of cribs but we take note of this very important point to look for a better solution for our guest.for the crib

We look forward to make your next stay with us and will be happy to provide you a revitalizing and refreshing vacation at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing