We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a fantastic short stay at the Westin PV. Check in was fast and with a smile. We paid a for a room with an ocean view and got one on the 8th floor. The Hotel is a short taxi ride from the airport ( set prices) and a short ride to downtown PV (105 pesos) The marina is a 5 minutes walk with nice restaurant along the Marina. Pool at the Resort had enough chair and shaded area. The food/Bar service at the pool and near the beach was very poor but we still had great time and ate twice , once at the bar and once at the pool restaurant. Both were good. ( Bar type food) Rooms are very comfortable and open, bed was comfortable and room was clean. There is a coffee maker in the room so you can brew your own coffee ( we brought our own from home).
Internet in the room was extra ( I believe it was around 200 pesos per day) later on we found out that you can get free WIFI at the Lobby bar, so if you don't need to do any business from your room the Lobby bar is just fine to surf thru Facebook. Beach area is small and the water is not too inviting, after all it is the pacific so don't expect the blue water of Cancun but the view of Bandera bay is gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruisenerd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your comments about your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are also pleased to hear, that you enjoyed our room at eight floor and the food service at pool.

We hope we can be at your service in a near future in Puerto Vallarta

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    648
    245
    105
    67
See reviews for
425
746
73
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I spent a week at this property from 3/6-13. The resort property is beautiful, the pool is large, and the views at the beach are amazing. The sunsets you can see on the beach are picture perfect. All of the staff at the hotel were very nice and accommodating.

From a resort perspective, my expectations were met, however there were a couple items I'd like to address as I'm platinum with SPG and have stayed in numerous properties and resorts, about 100+ nights a year.

The Room:
I applied Suite Night Rewards and the upgrade provided fell short of my expectations. We upgraded our room and upon arrival were told we were receiving one of their premium rooms. I was provided a description of the room which included a terrace with ocean view and a hot tub outside. I came to find near the end of my trip, that the room was not really an upgrade at all. Fellow travelers had an identical room, with the only difference being a lack of outdoor hot tub. In every other property that I have upgraded utilizing my upgrade rewards, the room was substantially better, and at the minimum would equal what is expected as a suite. This was definitely not. I did have a conversation at check in with the customer service rep and was promised this was an upgraded room over and over, so I felt there was no reason to try and complain after the fact, or be one of the people that demanded a better room. I do however feel that i was somewhat cheated out of 7 of my upgrades for not receiving very much in return for redeeming them. I would be very cautious of redeeming your suite night rewards at this property - do not fall for the room with the hot tub, it's no upgrade at all.

An additional complaint regarding the room, is that the bathroom is not completely able to be shut from the rest of the room. There are these window shades that bend in and attempt to close it off from the bathroom, but it doesn't leave you full privacy. Light still gets in through the cracks and it's not in any way sound proof - you can hold a full conversation with someone that is in there. This could be an issue for someone sharing a room with friends, etc.

The Pool and Pool Bar:
While the pool was great, there were ample chairs and umbrellas, there was not ample service at the pool or on the beach. I read another review on here that essentially said you need a flare gun to get service... it's absolutely accurate. I analyzed what seems to be the issue, and it seems to me that the bar is not staffed appropriately, and the runners to the chairs are too few. There seemed to be 1-2 runners/servers going around the pool and they were overwhelmed with delivering items and could not be as attentive as possible to the customers. There was a day where a full hour went by without a single staff member passing by our chairs around 11am, which is completely unacceptable. If this is only a self-serve bar I can understand that you would need to go up to it to get service, but it's a pool bar and restaurant. The individuals working here were extremely friendly so I don't think this is their fault at all, more of a staffing issue.

Overall, the trip was nice and relaxing. I did enjoy my time at the resort, it just needs some tweaks.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the ocean, the view of the mountains, pool, and ocean are definitely wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

I appreciate your feedback about your experience in our hotel, please accept our sincere apologies.

We will definitely make an action plan with our pool bar department in order to avoid this type of situation for our future guests; thank you for your help in sharing your opinion.

We wish give us the opportunity to offer you a memorable experience on your next stop in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Due to Delta's change in routes we had the choice of spending an extra day in Puerto Vallarta or spending the night in Detroit. Lets see snow and cold, or sunset dinning by the bay. The outside of the hotel and the public spaces are very clean and kept up. The room on the other hand was pretty worn. The restaurants on site are very nice and the food is great. The staff is very attentive. The bar where we were eating did not have Modelo Negro on tap so they sent a runner to bring a supply for me to have with a wonderful surf and turf pasta. Walk to the Marina or take a bus into town. The buffet breakfast is great, they even wrapped up items for those in our party who did not want to eat just nuts, cookies or pretzels on the flight home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experiences about your recent stay at our property.

We really appreciate it to hear from you, that our restaurant Arrecifes which is located in front of the beach offer you a special location to enjoy the spectacular Sunset from the Pacific as well as an exquisite cuisine.

We hope we can be at your service in the near future at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta soon.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This trip is my 2nd time in Puerto Vallarta. I'm quite pleased to have chosen The Westin because it is modern and that all the rooms are partial and full ocean view with balconies. It is located in the Marina close by restaurants & shops throughout. Across the resort is Oxxo where you can purchase anything and everything you need and they're cheap! There's a public bus that stops right in front of the hotel which will take you to Centro/downtown PV for 7.50 pesos ($.60 cents) one way -compared to $20 cab fare.
Now about the resort itself: The Westin is very clean, the pools are small but there are tons of lounge chairs, very comfy memory beds for lounging outside, clean beach, roomy rooms, friendly staff, and NO TIMESHARE fiends!
The convenience of this location is phenomenal and the fact that you can walk around without being bothered to be sold anything makes for an even better stay.
Tip: Sign up for Starwood preferred to get a room higher up in floor for a better view. Most "regular" rooms are on the lower floor hence, partial ocean view because you'll mostly see the trees on the way with a peek of the ocean. We stayed on the 9th floor and this had a great view of the ocean.
Take the bus straight out from the airport instead of paying $40 one way to travel 2 miles! Cabs are a rip off everywhere in Mexico. Be brave and take public transportation if you're traveling light.
There's an activity booth outside of the hotel, don't be afraid to haggle as you can most likely get the sticker price for half off once you start waking away =).
I have reviews for a couple of activities in PV. I hope this one helps! Enjoy and buenas Dias!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marQ_Qram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your visit to The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and experienced the advantages we have because of location.

We love having the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

As far as larger hotels go the Westin Vallarta still has character. Not overly manicured, but very comfortable in every way. Breakfast is unbeatable, with lots of local fare. Buffet style but with great quality at s very reasonable price. Restaurant service is second to none. Very attentive, transparent and efficient. Only downside is that Internet costs 15 used per day.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdenman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank for your preference at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Thank you for your good comments to our restaurant El Palmar, we are pleased that you enjoyed the service and breakfast foods and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great staff, very comfortable room, and totally worth the extra money to use the club lounge for breakfast and evening appies. Breathtaking views, and wonderful pools. More of an older crowd, which made things nice and peaceful. Steps away from the ocean, with plenty of beach to walk along. I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunmama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are pleased to receive your feedback and more than happy to know that facilities of the hotel were to your liking.

Hope to continue with your preference and receive you very soon and thus enjoy our once again of the service and spectacular view of our Royal Beach Club at twelve floor.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I give this hotel high ratings. However, it had some drawbacks. On the positive side, our room had an ocean view, was comfortable, and bright with a cute little balcony good for watching sunsets and sailboats against the dramatic sky. Room temperature control was great-unusual for many hotels, where the air conditioner roars like a jet engine. The staff was terrific—English excellent, responsive, very helpful with needed odds and ends and travel advice. This was true from front desk to waiters to bell hops. For example, hotel has a deal with the taxi companies so outbound fares don’t need to be bargained. Clearly the hotel management has imbued the staff with an ethic of making guests comfortable and happy.
The exercise room is astonishingly well-equipped for a hotel. There are three separate, adjoining rooms. It included the most complete set of machines, treadmills, free weights, mats and other accessories I’ve ever seen in a hotel. It adjoins a spa for massages and the like which looks nice but which we didn’t try.
We didn’t notice any of the signs of wear other reviewers mentioned—quite to the contrary!
I include the following criticisms more in the hope that Starwood/Westin/hotel management will take notice than to warn people. None of these are deal-breakers; we would definitely come back to this hotel. That said:
The bathroom is bizarrely designed so that a person showering has a panoramic view of anybody using the toilet. And there is no front door or curtain to the shower, so the bathroom floor gets soaked. We wondered what school of design the interior designer graduated from or whether some clueless executive mandated these “features”. The smoke detector strobes on and off all night, so we found eye masks a necessity. Drawer space is unnecessarily scarce as there’s plenty of room for a 3-high dresser vs. the smallish 2-high we had. No microwave; just a coffee maker.
The pool is beautifully designed but too shallow for actual swimming and pervaded by inescapable music. So forget it if you want to swim for exercise or lounge and read something a little more demanding than a mystery novel. Couldn’t the hotel at least have one area without bubble-gum music/Musak? Sometimes at 10pm the hotel decides to try to attract a different demographic with loud techno that’s neither to everyone's taste nor actually successful in drawing that demographic. This caused us to button up; that evening we couldn’t enjoy the evening breeze in our room.
The beach itself in front of the hotel is nice with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The beach itself is narrow and the roped off swimming area is short.
This Westin has "fully-priced" its hotel meals to US luxury hotel levels--expect to drop $40 for two at breakfast. Lunch and dinner priced on the same philosophy. Internet in the room is very costly. The free lobby wifi can’t really be used in the lobby—you have to go to the lobby bar which is loud and dominated by an enormous TV screen tuned to all-sports channels. Since most people are turned off by the in-room wifi prices, bring your own coffee while you wait for your favorite websites to load.
Overall we felt this hotel was just short of a 5. Too many of the above drawbacks could be easily remedied with a bit of attention.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view on a top floor to get the best outlook and the least noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback, this information will help us to improve our opportunity areas by making an action plan based on your comments, we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in our hotel.

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,764 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing