We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Serene in the Marina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #30 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Many of my friends in PV say this is their favorite resort in the area, and I can see why. It's smaller than many I have seen thankfully, with beautiful pools and a decidedly Westin feel with higher end finishes and accents. The staff was lovely, including maintenence who fixed our falter AC in less than 10 minutes. The food service was limited but good, and the Marina is a short walk with excellent dining options. I can see why so many of my long time ex-pat friends love this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmeraldMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Westin Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We are more than happy to read your comments about your satisfactory stay with us and also know that your friends have been enjoyed their time at our property.

Once again, thank you for all your comments and hope to receive you soon on this beautiful Paradise!

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at the Westin PVR for a few nights this past May. The all inclusive rate was very reasonable so I chose to go that route. When I arrived I was handed a 2 page document explaining all the exclusions to my all inclusive stay. I was immediately put off and frustrated by this I didn't hesitate to pass that on to the Desk Manager who clearly didn't care.I believe I paid around 150 US a night for the all inclusive package when i could have booked for about 79 US for the standard rate. This property is a bit older and while I was there was undergoing a few upgrades. The pool area is a bit weird with a fence cutting through the middle of it to separate what apparently was at one time a Westin time share. The staff was very nice and always helpful. The location of the property is close to the marina where you will find lots of great food. But if you want to head downtown you will need to grab a cab.

I would return to this property again but by no means would I waste my money again on the not so inclusive all Inclusive rate.

One plus as a Lifetime Gold member I was upgraded to an ocean view room.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money on the all inclusive rate!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank griffids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your important feedback; your opinion is very valuable for us.

We are a hotel that manages the European plan and as alternative, offer our guests a meal package, which, thanks to the comments of our guests like you, is being evaluated for improvements.

We hope to see you soon in your new home in Puerto Vallarta.

My best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recently stayed back at the Sheraton Vallarta after a year without visiting Mexico. I really must say the renovation of the lobby is fantastic. An amazing welcome as always. The views from the Balconies of the rooms are stunning, the food was great and the staff were so attentive (Hotels in London take notice)

Overall a fantastic Trip and fantastic Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub on the balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your preference.

We are very happy to know that you liked and enjoyed our lobby remodeling.

Our company cares about providing quality services and spaces for our guests to enjoy them to the fullest.

We hope to visit us again to this your home in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were lucky to have 3 days of plenty of sunshine during October! Westin Puerto Vallarta is located at the Marina, with nice options of Restaurant nearby. For us, was the best area in town.
Location: Very close to airport! Safe area with nice restaurants in the neighborhood. Marina is just across the street with a lot of option to rent a boat to Marieta Islands (must go). There is an OXXO (like 7eleven) in front of the hotel and a Starbucks within walking distance. The beach is not the best, but still nice to sun bath!
Facilities: The pool is fantastic. Huge area with nice spots to be. Gym is also another positive of the hotel with large area and nice equipment’s. Lobby was under renovation, but we saw at the checkout. Nice renew but still very hot with no AC. Parking lot is FREE and big.
Service: Spa was the negative, since we tried to have a massage but they preferred to have a kind of course while we wanted the service. Waiters are always ready to serve you, but it could have 2 mores to have no chance of wait to be served. Special thanks to the Teodulo for the empty refrigerator to accommodate some of our GF and Lactose Free items. The towels were always available by an employer in a Pool House.
Food: As other reviews, I always like to point out the outstanding service related to my GLUTEN ALLERGY. Even with no Special GF Menu, they always gave us special attention for our requests related to food. Thanks Westin Team for the great Gluten Free food!
Room: Nice ocean view and large size. Negative for the 2 double beds instead of a King. Bathroom is huge, with shower and bathtub separated. Nice amenities.
Price: A bit overpriced as most of the Hotels in front of the beach. Drinks should have the price reviewed, it’s so expensive!
Tip: Don’t miss Marieta Islands!

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms to have ocean view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoStruve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Especially thank the description that will help more people to know in detail what they can expect when staying with us.

Regarding the air conditioning at the lobby and spa appointments, we have taken the necessary steps to resolve it.

We wish to have you as our guest soon.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a little nervous prior to checking into this hotel as we had read some not so great reviews. This property exceeded our expectations. We had a room on the 12th floor and paid for access to the club lounge. The room was spacious and very clean and housekeeping twice daily kept it immaculate. We found all staff to be so friendly and accommodating.
We travel with a child that has severe food allergies and all restaurant staff were helpful.
The club lounge closed after our first day due to low season but we were able to use the main restaurant which afforded us even more choice. Amazing value for money.
Pool area was great with lots of kids pool toys to rent. Some work was being done around the hotel but we never felt overwhelmed with noise. Miguel at the in house tour office was wonderful and booked us an amazing trip to see the sights of Puerto Vallarta.
We would recommend The Westin.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 12th floor - great views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate every comment that we get from your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Even more, to know that you had a memorable westin experience.

We hope to host you very soon at this beautiful paradise in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and were greeted with chocolate dipped strawberries. GREAT first impression! Everyone was very professional and although the hotel could use a little TLC it certainly does the job if you are in search of some nice couple time. We opted to pay for the upgrade to the Grand Deluxe room with the jacuzzi on the balcony and we are so glad we did.

Each day as we returned very achy from all the sight seeing and walking around we would fill up the tub and enjoy the beautiful view. Our air conditioner worked perfectly and the inclusion of a room dehumidifier was a nice touch. The bed was quite comfortable with nice freshly laundered bedding. The workout area was bigger than at most hotels but we wished it stayed open later. The breakfast buffet and beach club restaurant had pretty tasty food.

Although we really liked the room and the hotel in general there are some things that we were not crazy about. In room internet usage at $15 per day, perhaps a bit much? If not free altogether perhaps pricing this at half that rate would be more tolerable.

I realize that most of the resort is outdoors but is there a way to pretreat the property or have bug zappers to decrease the amount of mosquitoes snacking on us while at the pool or on the 3rd floor lounge area? We both left the resort with many painful bites.

Marina Vallarta, although no fault of the resort is very boring and we opted to cab into town each day. Perhaps a better resort for those more interested staying in bed, lounging around by the pool, or working on your tan.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Grand Deluxe for the jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandRloveParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We appreciate your feedback and inform you that we have a pest control program but we will talk about mosquitos with our team to take the necessary measures to eliminate it.

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros,
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Don't expect typical 'The Westin' standards, this hotel has seen better days! It has a lot of potential and could be amazing, it just needs some TLC to bring it back to its former glory.

It has a beautiful large pool with lots of sunbeds and the rooms are quite nice. However the customer service leaves a lot to be desired (we had to move rooms 3 times - one of the times was because water was dripping through the light, another because the aircon didn't work...each time we were made to feel like a huge inconvenience and were not offered any help to move!)

Also one other thing to know - you are a decent taxi drive from the main town, The Westin is in quite an isolated area with lots of empty timeshare apartments around.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liz_brendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your important feedback; your opinion is very valuable for us.

Regarding the hotel, would like to comment that it is constantly being updated; in fact, the next week our guest could experience the renovation of the principal lobby.

On regard to the rooms, please accept our apologies for the inconvenients with the room; we assure you we had a meeting with the houskeeping and guest services departement to avoid this experiences to our future guest.

We hope you give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Best regards,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,678 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,692 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,706 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $114 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing