We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a little nervous prior to checking into this hotel as we had read some not so great reviews. This property exceeded our expectations. We had a room on the 12th floor and paid for access to the club lounge. The room was spacious and very clean and housekeeping twice daily kept it immaculate. We found all staff to be so friendly and accommodating.
We travel with a child that has severe food allergies and all restaurant staff were helpful.
The club lounge closed after our first day due to low season but we were able to use the main restaurant which afforded us even more choice. Amazing value for money.
Pool area was great with lots of kids pool toys to rent. Some work was being done around the hotel but we never felt overwhelmed with noise. Miguel at the in house tour office was wonderful and booked us an amazing trip to see the sights of Puerto Vallarta.
We would recommend The Westin.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 12th floor - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate every comment that we get from your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Even more, to know that you had a memorable westin experience.

We hope to host you very soon at this beautiful paradise in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and were greeted with chocolate dipped strawberries. GREAT first impression! Everyone was very professional and although the hotel could use a little TLC it certainly does the job if you are in search of some nice couple time. We opted to pay for the upgrade to the Grand Deluxe room with the jacuzzi on the balcony and we are so glad we did.

Each day as we returned very achy from all the sight seeing and walking around we would fill up the tub and enjoy the beautiful view. Our air conditioner worked perfectly and the inclusion of a room dehumidifier was a nice touch. The bed was quite comfortable with nice freshly laundered bedding. The workout area was bigger than at most hotels but we wished it stayed open later. The breakfast buffet and beach club restaurant had pretty tasty food.

Although we really liked the room and the hotel in general there are some things that we were not crazy about. In room internet usage at $15 per day, perhaps a bit much? If not free altogether perhaps pricing this at half that rate would be more tolerable.

I realize that most of the resort is outdoors but is there a way to pretreat the property or have bug zappers to decrease the amount of mosquitoes snacking on us while at the pool or on the 3rd floor lounge area? We both left the resort with many painful bites.

Marina Vallarta, although no fault of the resort is very boring and we opted to cab into town each day. Perhaps a better resort for those more interested staying in bed, lounging around by the pool, or working on your tan.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Grand Deluxe for the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandRloveParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We appreciate your feedback and inform you that we have a pest control program but we will talk about mosquitos with our team to take the necessary measures to eliminate it.

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros,
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Don't expect typical 'The Westin' standards, this hotel has seen better days! It has a lot of potential and could be amazing, it just needs some TLC to bring it back to its former glory.

It has a beautiful large pool with lots of sunbeds and the rooms are quite nice. However the customer service leaves a lot to be desired (we had to move rooms 3 times - one of the times was because water was dripping through the light, another because the aircon didn't work...each time we were made to feel like a huge inconvenience and were not offered any help to move!)

Also one other thing to know - you are a decent taxi drive from the main town, The Westin is in quite an isolated area with lots of empty timeshare apartments around.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liz_brendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your important feedback; your opinion is very valuable for us.

Regarding the hotel, would like to comment that it is constantly being updated; in fact, the next week our guest could experience the renovation of the principal lobby.

On regard to the rooms, please accept our apologies for the inconvenients with the room; we assure you we had a meeting with the houskeeping and guest services departement to avoid this experiences to our future guest.

We hope you give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Best regards,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been participating at a conference, and the Westin Hotel was used primary hotel for the event. It was a very good experience, and the hotel has got all required facilities including great pool area, spa, fitness center etc. Rooms were sizable with ocean view. Great room service, aircondition etc. I did not manage to check out the pool, but looked ok to me.

The only improvement area will be the internet. Why do you have to pay for this service. Must be included in the room charge.

I will not consider the hotel as perfect for family vacation, but for business it's very good

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfrasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for you comments regarding your last visit to The Westin Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We specially appreciate, you sharing your experience as a business customer because actually, the hotel have beautiful areas for meetings, expositions and even more.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope to have an opportunity to host you soon.

Cordially,
Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at this resort. It is beautiful with wonderful views, gardens, pool, and beach. The bed was very comfortable (sometimes hard to find in Mexico. We purchased a package which included breakfast, which was a buffet with many choices of great food. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room had a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyinMexico75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your last visit to The Westin Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We appreciate your loyalty towards our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon, to this your home in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our hotel stay last week was pleasant. It is low season so we were upgraded and had a beautiful ocean view room. It sucked to get hit with rain due to the tropical storm, but hotel staff were trying their best to keep the grounds/pool clean due to debris from trees. The beach was wonderful! I also left 2 items in the room after checking out, and they were returned to me when I went back to look for them. Would def stay here again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank your feedback regarding your last stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We appreciate all your comments, especially knowing that we could give back the forgotten objects.

We look forward to host you in the near future,

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This property straddles the 4/5 star line. First, the service is really great, almost across the board. From the restaurant staff to the front desk staff to the bellhops and doormen, almost every single staff person was exceptionally friendly, attentive, and spoke English fluently. I had only one (small) less-than-perfect experience, which was a late-night front-desk staff who kept us waiting while she finished a personal phone call. But even that was very brief, as the rest of the service was really great. The staff showed great training and was very quick about everything. Front desk staff also followed up to make sure various departments (housekeeping, IT, etc) took care of our requests in a timely fashion.

The Westin is not in central PV, it's by the Marina, so be aware of that. There is starting to be more development around the Marina, including some good restaurants and coffee shops. Depending on your interests, you could stay by the Marina with a few excursions to DT PV without problems.

Hotel room: we had an upgraded room on the Starwood floor, it had a wonderful view as well as a hot tub. We requested that the staff clean out the hot tub each day so that we could use it in the evening. Great to have our own hot tub!! Water pressure excellent, housekeeping excellent, and flexible as well. We had to request that our room be made up in the late afternoon, and they were prompt and timely about it as well as having good attitude. Every day they did a thorough job cleaning our room, we were pretty slobby. The room had a Westin look, with the Westin-quality furniture, fixtures, and decor. The only less-good thing that I noticed was that some of the construction details on the shower were not up to international 5-star standard - but that may be a country-construction-quality issue because it was true of all 3 hotels we stayed at on this particular trip. Wifi was free and strong in the lobby and public areas, but pay-wifi in the rooms. Signal strength was good, but the software was limited to 3 IP addresses per room per agreement. They have different packages with various prices, we went for the all-day $15-USD equivalent. I note this because the marketing info makes it seem like the limit is for 3 devices at a time, when really the limit is for 3 devices total during the package you pick. Both days we called the IT department, only figuring out after the second day that the limitation was not the number of devices on at any time.

Only had breakfast at the restaurant, but the buffet had a reasonable selection and was fairly well prepared. Apart from the standards they also had occasional nice Mexican cuisine specials like roasted pork trotters - we were happy about that. Everything prettily presented and beautifully kept up by the staff, so always looked appetizing as well.

Would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend to those travelers who are okay with the location (Marina Vallarta). They were doing renovations on the function rooms, so I would expect that any conventions will really enjoy the space when they are done.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your loyalty, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and warm service of our staff.

We value some of the points you recommend us with your comments; such as internet access and location.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We love having the opportunity to serve you again in this home.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,768 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $133 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of a vibrant Mexican city from accommodations at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta. Our beachside resort in Puerto Vallarta sits just 15 minutes from downtown, where you'll find quaint cobblestone streets, lively shops, excellent dining, and a pulsating nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing