We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, neither more nor less”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok, neither more nor less”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, very well maintained and clean with a very nice pool area under palmtrees. The location is quiet and nice, but it takes you 20-25 min to get to downtown by car. The hotel's small beach is quite modest compared to all the beaches around - which are however mostly not accesible by public. What we did not like is the pricing of the breakfast buffet (285 MXP) with mostly tasteless fruits (completely strange as every local market offers much better quality for a couple of pesos - do they import their fruits from the U.S.?). In general, the hotel seems to try to compensate their reasonable Internet tariffs by charging each and every detail - one especially ridiculous example is theat they rent inflatable water toys for 100 MXP per day (I am sure you can buy them for a similar price in every supermarket). Staff was friendly and helpful but was continuously ignoring that we speak Spanish fluently (not all guests are Gringos, verdad?). To summarize: Hotel is ok and can be recommended - neither more nor less.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phbrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your experience in our hotel. We are happy that you liked it and definitely we will do an action plan to improve our buffet breakfast.

Thank you for your preference, we appreciate your business

General Manager
Eduardo Ballesteros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    641
    245
    105
    66
See reviews for
423
738
71
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Upon arrival unpack your swim suit, shorts & a top take off the shoes and put your flip flops on.
Go to the beautiful pool area get your fluffy beach towels find a lounge chair (there are hundreds) order a margarita and RELAX.
For 7 days I enjoyed 4 hours by the pool and an hour in the fully equipped gym each day.

Personal Observations: No LEAKS in the lobby! each evening I dressed up (took my flip flops off and put on my sneakers) caught the bus into town for 65 cents and enjoyed the extensive nightlife/restaurants of PV. Wonderful housekeeping. The 5th Floor housekeeper kept my room supplied with towels, wash cloths and little bottles of shampoo/conditioner and body lotion. I left a few dollars each day for her efforts.

You are at a beach resort leave the lap top/tablet/smartphone at home. If you need the internet there are internet cafes in town which will hook you up for a $1.00 an hour.

The OXXO store across the street from the hotel is a good source of drinks and snacks.
A WALLMART is nearby. I bought a short sleeve at WALLMART since it was cheaper then sending my dirty shirt to the hotel laundry.

Like every other reviewer I found the staff to be very gracious.

Finally, notice how many reviewers are repeat visitors! Me, I already booked my trip for October.

Room Tip: The Zona Rosa is located 4 KM from the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty; we are delight it to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel.

I love your suggestion of go to the pool, get beach towels, lounge chair and relax, it sound so refreshing and this is our objective when you come to The Westin…relax.

We are looking forward to have you back next October, I am sure you will love it again

Thank you for your preference, we appreciate your business

General Manager
Eduardo Ballesteros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of vacationing at the Westin Puerto Vallarta for 8 days at the end of July where the staff was wonderful and the grounds were lovely. The resort was well maintained, 3 gorgeous pools, soft sand beaches and warm ocean with beach food/drink service. Our stay was a fabulous experience! Roberto the waiter, so warm and caring, Manuel the Activities Director whom had a vivacious personality and the ability to engage guests in pool and athletic games, Carlos, the beach side bartender who's passion was "family" and Ishmael the Palapa restaurant manager, very professional and caring toward his staff.
We loved our stay so much that we would like to return to the Westin Puerto Vallarta for our Christmas vacation. We fell in love with the staff, the warm family atmosphere, the lovely grounds, beautiful beach, sparkling pools, and scrumptious food. Especially the corn chowder with white chocolate truffle at the Palapa restaurant, to die for! We will be working our return stay over the Christmas vacation around the Thurs/Fri/Sat schedule of your specialty restaurant we loved the food and service so much!
Thank you for making our vacation wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted it to learn that you enjoyed your vacation at our beautiful resort, The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

We are very proud of our staff, they are very committed to provide memorable and personalized service; we will share your nice comments to Manuel, Roberto and Carlos, they will be very happy.

Thank you for your business and we really hope to see you back for Christmas.

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Without a lot of planning, my family ended up taking advantage of an offer from Travelocity for a combination of airfare and hotel. We had a direct flight from San Francisco to Puerto Vallarta which was very convenient. Just three hours and forty five minutes each way which is closer than Hawaii. The Westin Resort and Spa was in a good location for us. We enjoyed being on the ocean, near the Marina, and within a $6 to $8 taxi ride of the town of Puerto Vallarta. The hotel itself is a nice structure with a good layout. The pools and bars are nice with some great people there to take care of you. Our room was nice and had a sixth floor view of the pools, ocean and a slight view of the town. I'll attach some photos so you get a feel for it. The only trouble we had was with getting the room cleaned each day. One day they missed it, and several other days they were quite late in the afternoon - which was inconvenient for us. But overall, I would say it is a good hotel for a Westin and a nice place to hang out when visiting PV.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pools and ocean. I'd recommend being up a bit higher so you can see a bit fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalPeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta for your recent vacations; we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in cleaning your room; I will follow up on this matter to avoid this type of experience in the future.

We are looking forward to have you back in the near future

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for a week in an upgraded ocean view room. Although the rooms/hotel can seem a bit dated ~ the staff and service far outweigh it. We loved the incredible service from the beach side bar... especially Jacette. He is WONDERFUL !!!

The balcony on the room was divine. It is a great place to sit and sip a coffee & stare at the ocean for hours.

The beachside lounger beds are really relaxing to stay at. We stayed on the great big loungers for hours, read books,listened to the ocean and talked to Jacette. It was a spectacular vacation. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to a ocean view room. It is worth the beautiful view. The 9th floor SPG rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our beautiful resort, The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

It is great that you enjoyed sitting in the balcony with the beautiful view of the bay of Bandera’s as well as the beds in our Arrecifes Beach Club. We are very proud of our staff and we will share your nice comment to Jacette.

We are looking forward to have you back in your new home in Puerto Vallarta

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I returned from a 3 night stay at the Westin Resort and Spa Puerto Vallarta on Thursday. I brought my mom to celebrate her upcoming 60th birthday. They staff was incredibly sweet and welcoming. The women at the front desk, especially Carina, were very knowledgeable and helpful. Changing US dollars into pesos was a piece of cake. The property is beautiful. It rained a few times while we were staying and the staff was quick to clean up the rain and fallen leaves as soon as the rain stopped. The staff at El Palmar Restaurant was wonderful, especially Jorge. The thing that I most appreciated was the fact that staff members remembered who we were and why we were visiting. We felt like we mattered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMD118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your loyalty to Starwood, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very proud of our staff, they focus in providing personalized services and creat memorable stays to our guests; we will share your comment to Eloy and Josefina, they are great and do a wonderful job.

We hope to see you soon in your new home in Puerto Vallarta

My best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
441 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had pre-booked at the Westin Resort & Spa (Paseo de la Marina sur #205, Puerto Vallarta 48354, tel. 322-226-1100) a room for US$141.71.We really liked our one-night stay at the Westin. Our room was large and had a 2-person comfortable chair. It also had a desk and a king bed. There was a mini fridg and a coffee maker. The bathroom was large and had a tub as well as a shower. We had a balcony but didn’t use it. We went down to the pool and beach area and went into the ocean. The temperature was perfect and it was calm because we were in the Bahia Banderas. It was very enjoyable. We felt like we were having a beach resort vacation! Breakfast was included and opened at 7 a.m. with a full, huge buffet. We had the cook make us omelets and they were very good and made the way we requested. We have only one criticism: we hate paying for Internet. The charges for Internet at the Westin are high and annoying.

Room Tip: High floor, ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel and thank you for your preference; your feedback is very important to us.

In regards the internet charge I would like to mention that our lobby is providing free wireless service to our guests as an alternative.

We are looking forward to have you back soon

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing