We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel , marina area disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel , marina area disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Westin resort is well maintained , and in a very tranquil garden setting , near to the airport , but please avoid the time share sharks , when you walk into arrival hall at the airport , the staff and amenities are excellent. although the heavy duvet bedding is inappropriate , and they don't have an alternative !! Internet in the rooms is terrible , but around pool much better. The rooms are spacious , but bathrooms a little shabby , however walk in shower is nice, ! the nicer restaurants are a manic taxi ride into the old town , daquiri dicks , la palapa , are good but expensive , food at the Westin is good but predictable , however the main restaurant near the beach which was only open Thurs to sat in march is very good , and very romantic !! Good wine list and dishes beautifully presented, all together an enjoyable and relaxing place to stay , and recommend both the Westin and puerto vallarta.

Room Tip: Upgrade to upper floors , offer with complementary evening drinks , and nibbles, and continental bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfryd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, we appreciate very much your feedback, it is always important to hear the voice of our customer to become better. We are aware about our internet connection and we are working on it.

We are looking forward for your next visit to Puerto Vallarta

Our best regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    562
    213
    97
    60
See reviews for
347
637
65
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in February. Great hotel with exceptional service. The cost of the hotel itself was very reasonable but the food & drink are expensive. If you will be spending much time at the hotel you should consider the inclusive option. There are a number of pools and a nice beach so this place is perfect if you want to lounge around. The boys at the pool and lobby bars are very accommodating and will ensure you have everything you want/need

Short walk to the marina itself and close to bus-stops for downtown and Old PV.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing us the feedback about your recent stay with us. We are really pleased to hear you liked our hotel and appreciated the exceptional service we always commit to provide to our guests. We are going to inform the F&B manager of your review concerning the prices to see if any changes can be made.
Once again thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Westin Resort is a very well maintained property, conveniently located only 10 minutes from th airport. It is situated in the Marina District which offers a wide selection of restaurants, within easy walking distance.
The grounds at the Westin is perfectly manicured and we found all the staff, from the front desk to the beach bar waiters to be very friendly
The Lobby Bar has Happy Hour every nite from 6pm to 7 pm and offers a great view of the property.
The rooms are well appointed and the beds and pillows superb. our room had a lovely balcony , facing Bandarus Bay.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would definately stay at this resort again..

Room Tip: Room # 916 and #920 have lovely ocean views. I would assume 816, 716 etc would offer the same. Smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for providing us with the feedback of your recent stay at our hotel and for the valuable tips for our guest. Our Hotel was constructed with the concept of having all our rooms facing the Ocean bay, that’s why the views from the rooms or lobby bar are breathtaking.
We are glad to read that our mission was accomplished and that you had a wonderful stay. The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta can’t wait to have you back soon!

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had the most incredible vacation feb 2012 at the westin. The rooms were spacious, always clean, every rooms seems to have a good view of the ocean and pool.
The drinks are strong and tasty at the beach bar. We loved the big beds between the pool and beach. Great location near the marina. Don't bother with all inclusive, there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely return to this hotel next time in PV.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than pleased to hear your comments on our hotel and more importantly that you loved our property and services so much! The views, the rooms, the drinks and our facilities are all part of The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta experience!

We are looking forward to welcome you both in a near future!

Warm Regards from Puerto Vallarta

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for several weeks at the Westin, and absolutely loved the experience. We stayed there last year through Christmas and New Years, so were so pleased that the second experience was just as nice. It is very challenging to find "dog friendly" hotels and this hotel's staff treated our small terrier, Sailor, like one of their own. What others say about the staff being so gracious, from the door greeters to the house maids and gardeners, is true. The Starwood discounts on food and beverages really is a benefit. The restaurant's breakfast buffet has the best 'homemade' Mexican cuisine...we skipped the classic eggs and bacon!
As you drive into the area where the Westin is , you may think,"uh-oh!" due to a deserted construction site, but upon arrival you will be so pleased with your stay.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a spectacular view ofnthe harbor and ship arrivals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayornancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are more that glad to hear that you absolutely loved the experience of staying at the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta twice, thank you for your loyalty.
Our hotel is dog friendly, even the dog beds are made especially for their comfort, I hope Sailor enjoyed it! Once again thank you for your feedback about our hotel and staff who really appreciate such comments. Being a member of SPG, Starwood Preferred Guests, brings numerous advantages to your stay in any of our Starwood properties, we are glad to hear that your part of our community.
Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squamish
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Westin in PV was relaxing and lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and beautiful and the beach was great. Also, it was quiet and the pool and beach weren't busy at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessabut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice review, we are happy and glad to read that you enjoyed your vacations here with us in Puerto Vallarta. We really appreciate your comments about our staff, which will clearly be happy and motivated to read this.

Please come back to visit soon; we will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

In our first visit to Puerto Vallarta in March 2012, I chose the Westin after a careful search of Trip Advisor reviews. It was such a positive experience that we decided to repeat it this March, despite pre-arming myself with Marriott credit cards and discount opportunities. The Westin offered a deluxe room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony for a reasonable price. Given last year’s good experience, I decided to go with the Westin again. I am glad I did. Everything worked well, including the Jacuzzi. The “heavenly bed” matched its name. The Starwood discounts on poolside drinks and snacks made a difference. The staff (with the possible exception of whoever was in charge of refilling our coffee supply) was wonderful -- around the pool, cleaning our room, serving our breakfasts, helping us with cabs, and checking us in and out (thank you, Josefina). It’s just a $10 cab ride to all the town center restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta for your two trips to Puerto Vallarta, and for being such a loyal customer. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed the services we provide. Please come back to visit soon; We will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#45 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,493 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Property: Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing