We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely , dog friendly, resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #23 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely , dog friendly, resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for several weeks at the Westin, and absolutely loved the experience. We stayed there last year through Christmas and New Years, so were so pleased that the second experience was just as nice. It is very challenging to find "dog friendly" hotels and this hotel's staff treated our small terrier, Sailor, like one of their own. What others say about the staff being so gracious, from the door greeters to the house maids and gardeners, is true. The Starwood discounts on food and beverages really is a benefit. The restaurant's breakfast buffet has the best 'homemade' Mexican cuisine...we skipped the classic eggs and bacon!
As you drive into the area where the Westin is , you may think,"uh-oh!" due to a deserted construction site, but upon arrival you will be so pleased with your stay.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a spectacular view ofnthe harbor and ship arrivals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayornancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are more that glad to hear that you absolutely loved the experience of staying at the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta twice, thank you for your loyalty.
Our hotel is dog friendly, even the dog beds are made especially for their comfort, I hope Sailor enjoyed it! Once again thank you for your feedback about our hotel and staff who really appreciate such comments. Being a member of SPG, Starwood Preferred Guests, brings numerous advantages to your stay in any of our Starwood properties, we are glad to hear that your part of our community.
Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    569
    216
    97
    60
See reviews for
356
647
65
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
squamish
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Westin in PV was relaxing and lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and beautiful and the beach was great. Also, it was quiet and the pool and beach weren't busy at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessabut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice review, we are happy and glad to read that you enjoyed your vacations here with us in Puerto Vallarta. We really appreciate your comments about our staff, which will clearly be happy and motivated to read this.

Please come back to visit soon; we will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

In our first visit to Puerto Vallarta in March 2012, I chose the Westin after a careful search of Trip Advisor reviews. It was such a positive experience that we decided to repeat it this March, despite pre-arming myself with Marriott credit cards and discount opportunities. The Westin offered a deluxe room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony for a reasonable price. Given last year’s good experience, I decided to go with the Westin again. I am glad I did. Everything worked well, including the Jacuzzi. The “heavenly bed” matched its name. The Starwood discounts on poolside drinks and snacks made a difference. The staff (with the possible exception of whoever was in charge of refilling our coffee supply) was wonderful -- around the pool, cleaning our room, serving our breakfasts, helping us with cabs, and checking us in and out (thank you, Josefina). It’s just a $10 cab ride to all the town center restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta for your two trips to Puerto Vallarta, and for being such a loyal customer. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed the services we provide. Please come back to visit soon; We will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines, OR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the time we were assisted out of the taxi until we left we felt very welcomed and comfortable at the Westin. Our every need was attended to with speed and graciousness by all. We would definitely return should we find ourselves back in Puerto Vallarta. Being on the grounds of the Westin is a world all of its own, very tranquil. 1st TIMERS to PV...Upon arriving at the Puerto Vallarta Airport (PVR) getting your luggage and going thru customs takes a bit of time. Go potty before getting off the airplane or use the closest one as you journey thru the airport as several flights may be coming in close together. Use the inside taxi booths to pay for the taxi voucher, ours cost $14 for the drive to the Westin for 2. ALWAYS ask what the taxi cost will be to your destination before getting in. We were unable to exchange US dollars at the Phoenix airport so did a very small amount (taxi & tipping) at the PVR airport, terrible exchange rate. The Westin gave us the best exchange rate during our stay when cash was needed. Spent 4 nights at the Westin and ate 3 of our breakfasts and several evening meals at the hotel, so much food we only ate 2 meals a day. All food at the hotel wherever eaten was delicious. Try the Tequila Bar Lounge on the lobby floor, happy hour with a nice light meal menu with plenty of choices and cozy atmosphere. The resort has many options of where to hang out on lounge chairs near the pools or on the property in front of the SMALL beach area. We were unable to go into the ocean the first 3 days because of rough waters. We were disappointed with the lack of beach area, however we were very pleased with the pools and spent most of our time there when lounging, towels available at the pool area. Nice gym equipment available for guest use at the Fitness Center. Landscaping is beautiful and a joy to view from our balcony or anywhere for that matter. We are SPG members and offered several free amenities on arrival, we opted for free room Internet during our stay. If you are a SPG member ASK about the current 20% discount on food and beverages after the breakfast serving hours. The Westin has a concierge who can book anything you desire, including restaurant reservations as well as activities. When you walk the nearby streets locals are coming at you wanting you to listen to a timeshare presentation and then give you free or discounted activities, politely say no and walk away. The Westin isn't really very close to anything other than other hotels and a big marina down the street a ways where you can walk to other restaurants. Would require a taxi ride to go to Old Puerto Vallarta Plaza area for shopping and dining. If you have AAA buy their Mexico tour book for valuable info about the area.
Desire fine dining experience and a splurge, check out the Vista Grill in Puerto Vallarta up in the hills overlooking the bay and city lights, marvelous experience.

Room Tip: It appears all rooms have a small view of the bay, balconies and face the hotel's interior pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the amazing comments and for all the valuable tips you gave to everyone who will come to our hotel or to Puerto Vallarta. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant menus, as you confirmed our delicious food and that you were given an outstanding service.

Being a member of SPG, Starwood Preferred Guests, brings numerous advantages to your stay in any of our Starwood properties, we are glad to hear that your part of our community.
We look forward to Welcome you in a near future,

Kind regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my 4th stay in the past year at the Westin. I love the hotel! The staff is fantastic! The rooms are great, especially the bed! The location is perfect, beach access is great, very close to Marina and very short taxi ride to old town Puerto Vallarta. I visit Puerto Vallarta often and the Westin is the only place I stay!!!!!

Room Tip: The top two floors have awesome views, but all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lramirez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are very glad to read that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations and that you feel like at home.

Once again thank you for your nice comments! We really look forward to welcome you back in a really near future.

Kind regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Twenty-five members of our family, including 14 children and teenagers, enjoyed a week at the Westin Resort & Spa. The staff, the waitpersons, the food/beverages, and the pool/ocean areas were excellent. The children and teenagers were treated with kindness and respect. Although the rooms, including the beds, were comfortable, they could use some renovation. Rather outdated and the lamps didn't all work. However, we were in our rooms very little so it wasn't a problem. The bathrooms are large and well-equipt. It was quiet in the room.

Room Tip: All our rooms were on the 8th floor with great views of the pool area and ocean. Elevators were rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret36Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and for choosing our hotel for your vacations. It is true that our hotel is perfect and very convenience for families and couples so we are glad to hear it did meet your expectations. About the rooms, sorry for the inconvenient of the lamps, we will notify housekeeping and maintenance departments to check all the rooms, thank you for letting us now. However we do hope to welcome you back in a near future

Kind regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The wife and I stayed at the Westin for an all-inclusive trip. We have an amazing time. As expected, the service and people were wonderful and so friendly. The Westin is a huge resort so there are plenty of areas to relax and hang out at. They have two giant pools where you can enjoy swimming. We also made good use of the gym during our stay. Got a massage at their spa which was very nice. Their spa area is nothing impressive though. The best of part of this trip was the food and drinks (including alcohol) of course. We did the all-inclusive (AI) package so all foods, drinks, gratuities, wi-fi, and room service were paid for.

My expectations for the food were not very high, but boy was I wrong. The presentation of the food, the portion size, the freshness, and the taste were excellent. Only the steak and sea food restaurant is not included in the AI. We even ordered room service multiple times which was so nice. (Got a taste for how rich people travel) The only down side to an AI trip for me is that I ate way too much. I have no self control when it comes to food so I just kept eating every couple hours! Now I'm working hard to lose those extra pounds!

Going out to the city of Puerto Vallarta is easy because there is a bus stop right across the street from the Westin.

TRAVEL TIP!!! If its your first time going, don't get duped at the airport like we did. As soon as you walk out of the terminal, you'll be bombarded with sales guys for activities, other resorts, etc. Just say no thanks to all of them and keep walking outside. Then you'll be hit with another wall of taxi folks selling a cab ride for $18 US which is roughly 225 pesos - Don't take it!! You need to walk out of the airport over the bridge and then take a cab ride from there. We found out at the hotel that a cab ride only costs 50 pesos which is what we paid for our ride back to the airport.

All in all, this was a wonderful trip and we would definitely come back to the Westin!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay at The Westin Puerto Vallarta, your detailed feedback and for the tips you gave for future travelers.

We are glad to know you specially enjoyed the food and drinks during your stay. We will inform our F&B team of your wonderful comments regarding their food, as they will be really pleased to hear them.

We enjoy creating life-long memories for our guests, so please come back soon. We are waiting for you.!

Kind regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.2 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,601 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#45 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#32 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,554 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Property: Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing