We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #30 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

At this time, the hotel is being renovated. We got a room in the first floor with a King bed in the tower that was supposedly already finished. Well, they forgot the shower. There was one on the wall of the bathtub but no curtains, so no way to take a shower without flooding the whole room. We asked to be changed. They gave us another room on an upper floor of another tower with two double beds but at least with a shower. No coffee pot (you are supposed to ask for one). Cable TV and telephone were not working. We had to ask font desk to send a technician to fix it. The roof above was being renovated and debris, dust and of course a lot of noise starting at 8:00am. Nice pools, terrible beach front. Housekeeping was lousy. We had to request face and hand towels, a coffee pot (they only brought coffee, cream and sugar one morning). The shower was never cleaned, the balcony dirty and the beach beds old and disgusting. Too many vendors. Cannot compare to the Westin in Cancun that was great.

Room Tip: Check your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuck g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable and important to us in order to improve our services.
We definitely work on those issues and hope to have the opportunity to show you the difference.

My very best regards

Eduardo ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    652
    245
    105
    70
See reviews for
430
753
73
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The property is very well maintained and includes a large pool area. Prices are low in early December before the beginning of the seasonal rush. Our deal included a terrific buffet breakfast each day and pay for two, get three nights accommodation. The hotel is located in the marina area, at least 10 km from downtown but you can hop the local bus for only 6.5 pesos or about 50 cents US. Food is quite good at the hotel but overpriced. Also the internet charge of $10.00 US per hour is crazy. You can walk across the street from the hotel, have a cup of coffee and access free wi-fi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We just got back from the puerta Vallarta westin and loved this hotel, we enjoyed the spacious pool the spa and gym
The delicious breakfast buffet was great and also the pool side service was also good
We met some nice people that work for the westin such as Noe at the lobby bar, Pedro the bellman and Patricia pool service and of course the waiters that work the breastfast buffet nice people all round.a very relaxing time that we will not forget





  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This Hotel is ok but needs reno's the rooms are very outdated and really showing there age. They were painting the pink in the Lobby and hall ways. But they should be doing the rooms instead. Restaurant prices are crazy expensive. Go to the Marina and eat at Victor's. Happy hour prices are high but do-able. Staff is good, but all the Hotels in PV have great staff.

Room Tip: Only stay in the higher rooms, closest to the water.If you bring water or snacks to the beach, hide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldersyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I brought our 14 month old son to this large and beautiful resort. They were painting the buildings but they were so organized that you hardly even noticed the extra workers. The food was delicious and we loved the pool and beach. Oh, and the sunsets were incredible! Also, with the marina just across the street there was always somewhere to eat and shop without even getting in a cab :-)
Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a beach view, but that is a must for the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_TVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a nice hotel in an attractive setting. We have used this property on several occasions over the last eight years and would like to use it again but won't. With each passing year, this hotel seems to be more interested in catering to local parties (especially weddings) which the hotel allows to play ridiculously loud music until 2 or 3 AM. If you thought that you might like to fall asleep at night listening to the sound of the surf on the beach, forget it. The front desk staff simply smiles when asked about what time the music will stop and tells you that they can do nothing about it. DON'T STAY HERE FOR A RELAXING AND TRANQUIL VACATION. GO ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I understand your feeling about the noise during your stay in our hotel and I would like to share with you that we are changing our outdoor venues policy for events to avoid this type of experience to our guests.

Our very best regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 5 days at this beautiful resort and we had the best time. The employees were consistently friendly and always providing the best service possible The room are very nice with balconies. We stayed in a full bay room and it was wonderful. Food at the hotel was delicious with beautiful presentations. The hotel has a good workout area with tennis courts and spa area.
Hotel is about 15 minutes out of town. It is about a $80 pesos cab ride to Puerto Vallarta. I loved PV and I loved returning back to the Westin in the Marina area where it was quieter in a gorgeous tropical oasis. Beautiful views of PV with the Sierra Madre Mountains in the background from the beach or balconies.. Westin is in the Marina area where there are many restaurants and stores for shopping. OXXO convenience store is across the street for basic drinks and food items. Once again, the hotel staff is A+. Tell them Tom sent you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,606 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,543 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
757 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#31 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing