We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL RESORT WITH THE BEST SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #30 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cinnaminson, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL RESORT WITH THE BEST SERVICE”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 5 days at this beautiful resort and we had the best time. The employees were consistently friendly and always providing the best service possible The room are very nice with balconies. We stayed in a full bay room and it was wonderful. Food at the hotel was delicious with beautiful presentations. The hotel has a good workout area with tennis courts and spa area.
Hotel is about 15 minutes out of town. It is about a $80 pesos cab ride to Puerto Vallarta. I loved PV and I loved returning back to the Westin in the Marina area where it was quieter in a gorgeous tropical oasis. Beautiful views of PV with the Sierra Madre Mountains in the background from the beach or balconies.. Westin is in the Marina area where there are many restaurants and stores for shopping. OXXO convenience store is across the street for basic drinks and food items. Once again, the hotel staff is A+. Tell them Tom sent you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    652
    245
    105
    70
See reviews for
430
753
73
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just spent 6 nights at this Westin. The room was very large and had a beautiful view of the ocean with a large balcony. The staff could not have been more helpful everywhere in the hotel. I booked the room with access to the Royal Beach Club with continental breakfast and appetizers and drinks in the afternoon. The breakfast had hot items and the appetizers were enough for dinner. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demandingdivatexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I would recommend this hotel. Decent beach, nice pools. The amenties like the gym need updating. Despite having reserved many months before our trip, it seemed like they didn't have the accommodations a family of 4 would need. They had a king bed only available. After having driven all the way from Guadalajara (through Tequila), we got there around 6pm. We were surprised they didn't have our reserved room available appropriate for our family. They even suggested we try another hotel... rather than find us something that would work. But we insisted and eventually they found us (miraculously) that would work.

We felt put off and lied too. It took two hours to get the issue resolved. Not a good way to start off our visit to PV. What a contrast to the staff at the Westin in Guadalajara! But after that was resolved, it was OK. We felt we had to argue for compensation for the stress and delay. Only after complaining the SPG did something happen in our favor.

But, our room was nice with a balcony with a good view of sunsets and the ocean. Our shower would not drain well, but oh well. I wish they would let us have a blender to make margaritas in the room. Nice hotel, which I hope they continue to improve. Mostly with the staff!

Room Tip: Hope you have at least Platinum elite status with SPG... you'll need it. We have gold, and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beds were, indeed, heavenly, as were the shower and the spectacular view from our10th floor rooms. Service was warm and attentive in all areas. Location is on a nice stretch of beach in the Marina area. Rooms, bathrooms, and facilities were up to the Westin standard. For the rate we paid ($105 USD/night for a room for two, including terrific breakfast buffet for two), I would return in a heartbeat. We also hosted an event for approximately 70 people at the hotel, to coincide with a conference that was taking place at the convention center, and the events and catering department was wonderful to work with (thank you, Grecia!) -- allowing us to host a classy event while staying within our restrictive budget. The spa was also inviting and professional.

Room Tip: Because of SPG Gold status, we were upgraded to the 10th floor which had spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We frequent Starwood hotels around the world. The Westin in Pto. Vallarta is beautiful, modern, clean, easily accessible, comfortable, and private. AMAZING ocean views. Cabanas on the beach were wonderful and the massive pools offer an alternative to the ocean.

Of course the bedding was "heavenly" and service was spectacular. The hotel is in Marina Vallarta which is quite far from the Malecon and Zona Romantica. Marina Vallarta is geared toward more affluent travelers and is quite Americanized....BUT Old Town can easily be reached with a cheap taxi ride.

Only draw back for this (and other) Westin Hotels, NO FREE WI-FI.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view upgrade --> COMPLETELY worth it! During low season you can often get free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyRoseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I must say I was qa little worried about staying in this hotel after reading some of the reviews... Im glad I took some of the reviewers advice and booked the Junior suite because WOW!!
Please do yourself a favour and upgrade to this suite.
The room was very spacious, it was on the 11th floor so we had BREATH TAKING veiws of the ocean and the town in the distance. Air conditioning worked great, and thank goodness for that.
A Jacuzzi on the balcony was such a treat, we spent many days lazing in the Jacuzzi with drinks and snacks... you just look around and think 'is this real'.
Upgrading to the Junior Suite also gave you access to refreshments (including alcohol) and food at no cost at certain times of the day. Breakfast was my favourite.
The pools were amazing, and a pool bar made it even better!
The staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful... they did whatever they could to make your stay a great one. Even the house keeping ladies would leave little animals made from towels around the room which was a lovely little touch.
Great location too, right across the road was a convenience store, and a little further down the road was a little restaurant called taco's and beer if i recall... and we had some of our favourite meals there. To get into town was just a 15 minute taxi ride which cost only a few dollars.
Overall this property was fantastic! So glad we stayed here, and I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are large and have a Jacuzzi on the balcony, these rooms are on the top floors so view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krystal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed at Westin locations, both nationally and internationally, several times and always found the service and facilities top notch. This Westin location while good was not up to their usual standards. I stayed two nights and had to change rooms because the AC was not working. While the situation was resolved to my satisfaction it took longer than I had expected.

In general I felt that the personnel at the front desk was not as professional as expected at a Westin location. They were not able to answer simple questions easily (directions to renown local restaurants) and seem to lack the initiative or willingness to resolve issues. In general, it felt like this location was staffed with the Westin junior team.

Said the location was nice and the grounds were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giovanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,606 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,543 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
757 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#31 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing