We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff, wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Staff, wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I went for a long weekend in January and had a fantastic time. It was very quiet which is what we were hoping for... The hotel is spotless and rooms are fantastic. We did an all inclusive package and the staff was still giving us great service (some places tend to ignore the all inclusives)... Super friendly and sweet, we will return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agianakouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear guest

We are delight it to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta: we are vey proud of our team who attend our guests with personalized service and of course a big smile. We value your business and thank you for choosing us for your vacation in Puerto Vallarta

Our very best regards

Cristina Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    648
    245
    105
    67
See reviews for
425
746
73
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Meals expensive, wifi expensive and of limited quality and pool too cold
Housekeeping is poor
Too much focus on club members and not enough on providing excellent services
Grounds are nice and hotel is comparable to others Marina area is quiet and the variety of restaurants good

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your recent stay in our hotel, we found your opinion very valuable. We will work on these points to improve our services to our guest

Our very best regards

Cristina Castillo
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I got a package from Expedia for air and hotel for a reasonable rate. The Westin is in a good location, our room was very clean and we had a great view of the ocean as well. You can take a bus from the airport to the marina and then another bus which does the rounds of the hotels,etc in the marina as well as heading into Puerto Vallarta, which is a lovely city and quite safe.
This was not an all-inclusive stay, either and we were able to get breakfasts, lunches and dinners within minutes, walking.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a room with a view of the ocean. The person checking us in put us on a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 80526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta during your recent visit to Puerto Valllarta, we hope to have the opportunity to pamper you in your next vacation.

Our very best regards

Cristina Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I cannot remember ever having been to a hotel before where ALL the staff exceeded our expectations. Our entire seven days was an immense pleasure in this beautifully situated, laid out & well managed and maintained resort. The amenities are terrific & the food quality as well as selection is superb.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollashelfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Well we got their on the Thursday and only had to wait about 20 min for our room. It was a nice Ocean view on the 8th floor. Didnt get bugged once for time share.
Pool is nice for kids and adults, Drinks and food service was great and quick. Ate few meals at resort were all fine. If you need supplies the OXOX across the street has every thing.
Seems this trip got best deal using Mexican Pesos for payment than US or Canadian dollars. Only few times got the correct change back. Safe resort. Nice location. On beach their are vendors lots. Oh the beds are like a Hevenly bed back home but not quite.
Over all great stay and will do again. Large group 17.

Room Tip: We were over looking the end of big pool so clear view to Ocean. Nice for fireworks on newyears eve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noshitreview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I got this hotel using Priceline for an extremely low price (less than 1/5 the rack rate) due to the slump in tourism in Mexico due to the economy and Drug Cartel violence - but Puerto Vallarta is a perfectly safe destination. The Marina area is a great place to book a fishing boat, and there are numerous nice restaurants, but the beaches there are not among the nicer ones in Banderas Bay. The rooms at this Westin are like most other Westin Resorts, very colorfully decorated, with first class amenities and a very comfortable bed. The hotel had a very large, clean and attractive pool area with a swim-up bar. The quality of the pool helps to make up for the lackluster beach, which had very grainy, brown-grey sand, not the soft powdery sand of the better beaches in other parts of town. Also, the nearby Marina may be the source of some pollution of the ocean as well. The hotel's restaurants and mini-bar items are very pricey, so I skipped them entirely. There is a convenience store across the street where beer and soft drinks and snacks can be bought for about 10-20% of what they would cost at the hotel. One nice thing about the hotel was that they gave an exchange rate that was the same as the banks, a rarity, in my experence.

At the Priceline/Hotwire prices this resort is going for presently, it's a great deal. At the regular rates, not so much, as I would expect a better beach at a minimum. If I returned to PV, I would stay in the Zona Romantica, not the Marina Vallarta area.

Room Tip: Wifi is way overpriced at hotel, but its free in the breakfast spot across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D1andonlyDman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Hotel and Puerto Vallarta. As you have mentioned our pool area is very attractive with beautiful palm trees, we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed this area. We will review our food and beverage prices to offer a better value to our guest.

Our very best regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed at The Westin in the Marina in Puerto Vallarta and really liked it. Way better than most hotels in the marina and an excellent beach. Would definitely return. Hotel Restauarants food was really good but a tad pricey. Honestly probably the best room I have stayed in for Puerto Vallarta. Staff were excelent and friendly. I would definitely return and I am picky about food and room. Beach was the best one on the marina because they blocked it with rocks to prevent rough surf and foamy water. All the other beaches on the marina, which I walked the entire way were not as clean or as groomed. I would say the only reason I gave them a 4 instead of a 5 is because they have many glass tables throughout the hotel lobby that have chipped corners and damaged glass and my 9 year old daughter cut her leg on one of the corners and we had to tell the hotel staff to get rid of the broken glass table which they did promptly however my thought is they should have removed it ages ago before someone got hurt as it was obviuosly an accident waiting to happen. They offered us medical assistance which we declined as it was not needed. View from room was amazing!
There is a fence running down between the Westin Hotel and the Timeshare part to keep guests seperate which I did not like because it made the property feel limited. Still very happy and would return. If you get a decent price gop for it you wont be disappointed. Very modern and lovely lobby.

Room Tip: ask for a full ocean view as opposed to an ocean view. The higher the floor the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkers666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We are taking notes about the glass tables in the lobby, very good feedback.

My very best regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,764 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing