We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price of admission”
Review of Marina Golf Club

Marina Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 18-hole golf course features a clubhouse with dining facilities, lounge, lessons, putting green, golf range and pro-shop.
Playa Las Tortugas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price of admission”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This course is the little sister of the courses at Vista Vallarta. It's obvious they put all there effort into the big boys and have let the Marina course deteriorate to a very sad state. And yet they still want to charge your resort prices. Also the pro shop staff is indifferent. They really don't care if you play there or not. Your money is much better spent at El Tigre or Flamingos. Don't waste your time or money on this course, it is the worst one in Puerto Vallarta. BTW this is a local talking. I have played this course a number of times and it just keeps getting worse. I will not go back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ggcorazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Round”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I just wish it was not my first of the season. Course is not long, but plays challenging because of the bends and water. Some nice view, I think 14 (maybe 13 or 15) is on the Bay.

Would play again, but only after twilight starts or else it is a bit pricey.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy but okay”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Some holes, very good and some not so much. Holes near the flight-path of PV airport were nice but very loud.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tough Club”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Beautifully maintained course. Tough holes with water and a couple of crocodiles just to add some more fun!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tjocCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Threadbare”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I played Marina Club de Golf in August of 2009. This is *not* the tourist season in PV to be sure - it's hot and humid, and everyone crazy enough to play this time of year tees off shortly after dawn. I did, and myself and one other single were the only two players on the course.

The course itself is in very poor shape. The greens had large areas of bare dirt, and a few places where it looked as if someone had taken a divot with a wedge! To be fair, there was a worker on each of the first 10 greens with a large hose watering them, so they're trying. But the place just looks and feels run down. Weeds in the rough areas, etc. Also, keep your headcovers on -- the cartpaths are made from cast concrete pavers and are as bumpy as the cobblestone streets in downtown PV!

Other issues: I made a tee time reservation via the club website, but it gives no confirmation, and the pro shop seemed to have no record of it. So, call rather than book online. (Although at this time of year it doesn't matter as the course is empty).

Also, while dawn is 7:30 or so, the pro shop didn't open until 8:00AM. The grounds crew was very friendly and let me hit balls until they opened up.

No drinking water available on the course despite the heat - you have to purchase it from the beverage cart.

The course itself winds through a residential development. One highlight was a couple of sizeable iguanas sunning themselves on one of the bridges. There was one par-3 hole along the ocean, and quite a bit of water in play. Overall it's fairly narrow, and I'd say it would be an interesting challenge if it were maintained to a high standard. So far the only other track I've tried here is El Tigre, but there's no comparison - the latter is a beautiful course and definitely worth a bit of a cab ride. As it is, Marina is not a course I'd play again.

Helpful?
4 Thank xxx_jhd_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Golf Club also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Marina Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing