We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place but not a WOW hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea
Ranked #121 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place but not a WOW hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there several times over the past ten years. Thought there has been some improvements (reception desk, top floor club) this year the water went off a couple of times on the same day (morning and afternoon) No apologies not even any mention of it unless you ask what is happening. They are expanding so the noise level of workers and machines is a bit annoying. The removal of large fresh water bottles on each floor, makes it difficult to make some coffee with machine and coffee in the room. Two small bottles of water does not cut it. Maybe make the bottles bigger so it can be used for washing teeth, drinking and coffee.

On the positive side, staff are very friendly and try to do their best to be helpful. The continental breakfast was very good (fresh fruit, sweet bread and coffee) and kicks off your morning nicely

Room Tip: Higher floors bring you too close to the club/bar which can be noisy on certain nights should you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    109
    82
    81
    171
See reviews for
6
192
98
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I spent 10 nights at Blue Chairs. Feb. 6 - 16, 2013 to be exact. After reading most of the recent reviews, I must say some are true, but most are not quite accurate. We stayed in Room 302, which is an Ocean Front Room. I booked the reservation through Delta Vacations, which was 20% less than though the hotel. This rate also included continental breakfast (this is coffee, juice, toast, and small fruit plate). Nothing really substaintial.

Now to compliment those that were extraordinary. Erika, the concierge, who not only booked our jet ski safari and horse back riding, but also with discount due to the construction noise. Kenny who works the Blue Chairs Beach Club. Always prompt and such a schmoozer. Frederich, the massuer at the Spa. Absoulutely amazing! This is a true legit massage. 600 pesos for 60 minutes ($60. US). Andres, manager of bar, Chris and Tony, waiters absolutely wonderful. Everyone within Blue Chairs is very polite and always willing to help you.

The water issue(s) in previous reviews. Yes, we lost water for 2-1/2 hours on Wednesday the 13th. But, I've also spoke with a local resident in Zona Romantica and the water pressure is an issue throughout the entire area. The infrastructure is old. The loss of water was at an inconvient time, but was rectified quickly. EVERY DAY we had HOT water. Our showers occurred anywhere from 8:00am to 10:00am and the again as late as 7:00pm.

Miss Butterfly and The Dirty Show is certainly worth going to see. It was a blast! Katherine is awesome!

The rooms are cleaned every day around 2:00 to 3:00. So if you're at the beach, this is not an issue. Mirabel was our housekeeper and did a great job every time.

Warning: There is no dresser in room 302, only a desk with 4 small drawers, 2 end tables with 1 small drawer and 1 small cubby and a closet. There is a drawer under the bathroom sink.

We have decided that we will be returning to PV next year and will stay at Blue Chairs again. Hopefully the construction will be completed by then. The noise from construction wasn't bad the entire time. I would say it was actually noticeable about 30% of the time we were in the room.

If you've made it through this review and would like to know more, just drop me a message.

Room Tip: Rooms 301, 302 and 303 are all Ocean Front. 301 has a full fridge, so I think this is a jr. suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butler46203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've used their Beach Food Service, Massage and the bar... This is usually the "go-to" place for Gays. However, the beach is often crowded and the service can be slow or non-existent. We've started beaching at our local hotel, or if we want to meet others, we go to the less crowded, better service beaches next to the Blue Chairs, which are the "overflow" for Blue Chairs.

The upper level bar often offers go-go boys, who are basically prostitutes... they gyrate a couple of times on stage, and then hit you up in the audience. If you state your not interested, then they respond with an offer of leaving for a tip.

The massage service was excellent and the therapist was professional, asking for my feedback on the massage.

We have not stayed at the hotel, but friends tell us the rooms are average, at best, but pricier due to the draw of the gay crowd. We found other hotels were very accepting with better prices, a pool and better service.

We have not eaten here, other than beach service. The snacks for the beach are OK. Typical run-of-the-mill. Drinks are fine. Our friends tell us the food is average.

Ask for a receipt before paying. If you're entitled to a discount, you'll have to remind them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I read lots of "not so flattering" reviews of Blue Chairs... Even people I talk to say avoid it. But having stayed there four times, I still cannot stay away from this place... Key reason is location. When I vacation, I need a place to sleep and a place to shower... I spend very little time in the room. I don't need a view, breakfast in bed or anything that you would find at a sanitized Marriott or Hilton... People have always been pleasant at Blue Chairs, reasonable price, convenient and clean. I want to roll out of bed and be on the beach... I got that at Blue Chairs. I had one morning without hot water, but so what!?... I showered late when everyone in the hotel was doing the same. If you stay here expecting a sanitized American experience, then you made the wrong choice... Not Blue Chairs fault. Only yours.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on a high floor... Music from the top floor bar and club can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luchtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from PV, and I had a blast. I certainly would not recommend staying at the Blue Chairs again though. The hotel was pretty terrible. We stayed in room 503 which, along with 502 is directly underneath the lounge/drag bar on the 6th floor. It's not so much the music or the talking, but anytime anyone moves one of the heavy metal chairs up there it is deafening in our room. And they start moving/cleaning up the around 12/1pm and it goes on to 11pm some nights. Thanks god we brought ear plugs. Also, the whole hotel was without running water on Monday and a good amount of Tuesday. And we had to keep the lid off the toilet in our room to make sure that it was working. The staff was quite courteous however. our toilet over flowed a bit and got my roomates clothes wet and the maid offered to have them washed. They were dired and folded and back up in the room in about 90 minutes. You can't beat its location either. I would certainly caution anyone who stays there in the future not to stay on the 5th floor and to lower their expectations of the building.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MessyPharm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Such a disappointment! Was told Breakfast included, when we got it, it was a coffee and a pastry.
CONSTRUCTION EVERY MORNING starting at 730am. No water for 24 hours. Nothing in the room, no fridge. One pack of coffee the first night, you have to pay for every day after that. We asked for a FULL OCEAN VIEW. We were told we would get it by Chantal, the reservationist. We got a partial view.

The only good thing about the place was Erika and Hector at the front desk. We paid our bill at check out...then were told we didn't pay enough pesos and hour later when leaving. I recommend NOT staying at this place...there are amazing condos around the same area that are AMAZING, and you WILL get more for your money.

Room Tip: Make sure you get confirmation and a pic of hotel room. We did not get what we asked for! The 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is worn, tired and in need of some work...
The hotel is dated and rapes their visitors; where does the money go, because its certainly not on making the rooms and bathrooms comfortable.
This could be the ultimate holiday hotel but its just a complete let down.
I have been to PV numerous times and this was the 1st hotel I've stayed in... Never again! :-(

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Marino Hotel
San Marino Hotel
#81 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#55 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury All Suites & SPA
Almar Resort Luxury All Suites &...
#71 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea

Property: Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea
Address: Calle Malecon y Almendro #4, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Chairs Resort is located on the beachfront in the "Romantic Zone" of Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico, just a few short blocks from the center of town and entertainment.This beachfront resort is a few steps from restaurants, bars, shops and some of the most popular night clubs of Vallarta. When you stay at Blue Chairs, you will be in the heart of the gay zone in a luxuriously renovated resort in an elegant Mexican style. The Blue Chairs Resort, known throughout the world, is incomparable to any other local gay hotel and is the only such lodging in Puerto Vallarta with direct beachfront access and with deluxe services at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Chairs Resort by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chairs Resort By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Blue Chairs Beach
Blue Chairs Beach Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing