We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot hotel, hotter locaiton...can't stop the hotness!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hot hotel, hotter locaiton...can't stop the hotness!!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2006

Just got back from a 6 night stay at playa los arcos with my girlfriend, and must say that we both loved it. Don't listen to the haters on this board, there seems to be a sense of snottiness coming from them. Now, this hotel isn't one of the obnoxious all-inclusive mega resorts in nuevo vallarta. However, that's what the best part of it is. Staying here gives you a great feeling of mexican culture...call me crazy, but isn't that the point of visiting mexico?? That said, all of the amenities of a top notch hotel are still present here. The staff there was always friendly, attentive, and courteous. One of the staff even let me borrow his own boogie board to use during our entire vacation!! We never had a problem using the beach lounge chairs after hours. The location can't be beat. We were able to walk just about anywhere we wanted to go...shops, restaurants, Also, the vendors in PV aren't that aggressive; a simple 'no gracias' will suffice. I really hope that the sentiments of previous posters don't detract potential tourists from PV, as it truly is a great place. Would recommend this hotel highly to anyone that wants to experience PV at its fullest, instead of holing themselves up in a resort the entire time.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank fresh2def
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    778
    354
    158
    122
See reviews for
775
826
128
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2006

This was our sixth trip to Puerto Vallarta and we wanted to stay in the old part of town. Based on some of the reviews we read we decided to try Playa Los Arcos. To say our stay started out badly is a bit understated. The check-in was nice and things looked okay until they took us to our room. Located over the busy front street it had no windows that would open and smelled terribly of mildew. The room was small, dirty and two people couldn't be in the bathroom at one time. We went to the desk and requested a new room which was granted (overlooking the pool) for an extra twenty dollars a night. It wasn't going to be ready until the next day so we had to spend the night in a room that had no ventilation, stank of milder and had the constant noise from the street below. Upon changing rooms we ran into the couple staying next to us. With a chuckle they asked what room they had put us in first. They mentioned how bad there room was and told us of another couple that had met the same fate. Please be aware of this tactic when staying here as I can only imagine how often it must go on. Not to mention that our upgraded room wasn't all that great either. Shower wouldn't drain and in general the bathroom was just unpleasant. The beds were like bricks and the walls so thin you could hear everything that was in the hallway. The staff themselves were actually quite nice and we appreciated how hard they worked to keep us confortable. Even with this and the great location we simply would not stay there again and would not be confortable recommending it to anyone considering it. In the end though we did have get a laugh out of the whole "bait and switch" tactic. We shared a taxi with someone when we went back to the airport....guess what, the same thing happened to her.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ksharpe98021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2006

Stayed 12/25/05 Holiday vacation: Not only did they run out of beach towels all the time- had to wait an hour sometimes- but the beach staff will kick you out of the beach at 6pm sharp even before sunset- to retrieve the loungers off the beach. I asked them nicely if they can wait/extend it for 30 minutes, at least until the sun sets(6:30pm) since we enjoyed watching the sunset by the beach. He said that his shift ends at 6pm and no one else will retrieve them. We even offered to bring back the loungers back in ourselves, but the beach staff guy even threatened to get security to kick us out. I demanded to talk to the manager who never arrived but the whole experience is so inconsiderate and not what I expected on a relaxing vacation by the beach. The room is really small, noisy and dingy and the our room toilet did not flush properly the whole time we were there. We had to call the front desk to fix it everyday. Some days, we had to go to the common restrooms in the lobby. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who needs/expects a relaxing vacation.

Helpful?
7 Thank jadekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

We went to Puerto Vallarta and stayed at Playa Los Arcos in Dec because of the Hurricane that hit in Cancun. I have been to Cancun several times and absolutely love it. Puerto Vallarta on the other hand "been there done that" and will not go back. You could not walk the beach, or the boardwalk without being stopped every 5ft. someone wanting to talk to you about a time share, or someone trying to sell you something, or begging for money. They should put a stop to that. It is a embarassment. We were even eating out at a small Italian restaurant and kids were sent in there trying to sell, it was crazy. My husband got so mad one day he went back to the hotel and stayed in the room all day. When I go on vacation I don't want to be hounded by adults or kids trying to sell me something everytime I turn around. Also it was a nasty place I like a clean place to look at there was trash everywhere not clean like Cancun. Now the hotel was pretty nice looking it was clean, they do blow up the pictures to make it look bigger than it really is, but I really can't complain about the looks of it. When we booked the place the brochure said there was 3 restaurants there is only one and a grill at the one bar they have. The food at the restaurant was terrible, but the food at the grill was very good so if this is where you stay eat there. It don't open til 12:00pm and closes and 5:00pm. Even though we went all inclusive we eat out every meal. They shut down the pool,hottub, and the bar at exactly 10:00pm so if you want to drink or party you have to go out. The room was very small and the bathroom didn't have a tub just a small shower, and you didn't have enough room in there to hardly sit on the toilet it was so small. I have seen broom closets bigger. Now lets talk about the bar. If you wore a band for all inclusive they really didn't want to serve you, we talked to other customers who were staying and they felt the same way that if you had all inclusive you had the plaque. But if you was having to pay cash you got really cool looking drinks and not in a plastic cup. Even people who were paying even noticed the difference. I guess they feel like you have already payed so it don't matter how they treat you. So in closing take my advice and stay somewhere else.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank msdenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2005

This was our second stay at this hotel, we were here for a week: Dec9-16th,2005.
Everything was pretty much the same as last year, which is a good thing. We love the location; not having to use cabs and being able to walk everywhere is very convenient. Plus the beach is right there. The water is just OK here, being in town, but I and several others swam without any problems. Not as nice a beach as up the coast tho'. I will say that the price of this hotel is a little high, as we scouted out the town and there are several nice, but modest little hotels for much less money.Unless you are coming at Christmas time, you can always get a room here somewhere without booking ahead-I suggest booking one nite online, then find another cheaper place for the rest of your stay. Many people on this site say if you want an authentic Mexican experience, stay here. This is somewhat true, but it is still an upscale hotel in the middle of a very touristy Puerto Vallarta. Better than an all-inclusive in Nuevo, to be sure, but nothing like driving down(or up) the coast and staying in a little posada in Sayulita or Barra de Navidad. Now that is real Mexico! And cheaper and better, I might add.
I am getting weary of the condo salesmen and the high prices of PV, but we do love Andales(across the street from this hotel). Say hi to King David if you go(but beware, he may try to steal your woman!).
This hotel is a good compromise between the all inclusives and a little hotel in a dusty Mexican town, so I recommend it to anyone looking for great location, friendly staff, and rooms with nice authentic Mexican touches. The pool along with its resident iguanas, is real nice. Avoid the restaurant and the expensive drinks on the beach; less pricey drinks can be had almost anywhere else. Even Andales is much cheaper. Overall, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank weasel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 24, 2005

We just returned from a "real" Mexican vacation, largely thanks to the great accomodations. The only other time we had been to Mexico we stayed in a fancy AI resort, and ended up feeling like we were in Disneyland the whole week, as everything was so contrived. This setting, overlooking cobblestone streets and tiny shops, was a perfect springboard for experiencing another culture.

We originally booked a superior room (via a SunTrips package), which was small for our family of four, but had a nice view of the pool and beach. After the first night we were moved to a deluxe suite (for $30 more per night) which had a kitchen and dining area, a huge bedroom, and a balcony overlooking the ocean. Wow! Room 403 couldn't have been better, and was fairly clean (except for a few miniscule bugs that concentrated around the bathroom sink and the ever-present sand on the floor) with an authentic Mexican feel. The bathroom had hand-painted tiles and sink, and there was much hand-carved wood throughout the rooms. The beds in both the rooms were harder than we liked, but the pillows were great. As a thank you for the $1 tip we left on the pillow, the maid fabricated cute little roses for each bed out of tissue. The front desk was helpful and pleasant throughout, particularly with the room switch, which I thought might be a problem. (There were some rooms overlooking the alley that were clearly not desirable; if you get stuck in one make sure you go to the desk early the next morning to ask for a switch.)

This is a low-key place, great for families, and not pretentious. The configuration of the hotel around the central courtyard area, with balconies all around, gave it a very Mexican flare. The huge iguanas in the garden were a real kick, too! I wanted my kids to have a sense of authentic culture, which this trip provided. We were able to walk all over, buy tacos and shrimp from the street vendors, and take buses out into remote surrounding areas. Just beware the time-share people who try to snag you into conversation and "cheap" tour tickets. Everything was easily accessible from our home base and several money exchange places were within 50 feet of the hotel lobby. We were careful what we ate and none of us got sick, and the water in the hotel was safe to drink.

The beach had beautiful golden sand and great waves for playing. The vendors were a little pesty but would go away after a firm "No, gracias". The hotel had staff to set out comfortable lounge chairs and big umbrellas wherever we wanted, and we got towel cards (which you have to return or get fined $15 per card). The kids enjoyed the pool, which is really just one fair-sized expanse with a divider in the middle, not two pools. My husband also appreciated the hot tub, which was right next to the beach. None of these areas ever felt crowded, even though the hotel was full.

The hotel food was fair, and the Saturday night "Fiesta" was disappointing. The posters implied a much wider range of entertainment than was actually provided (all they had were 4 couples dancing, which got monotonous by the end of the hour), and the stage-side table I was promised when I booked the tickets didn't materialize. After that we ate out for dinner (try Cafe de Olla around the corner!), and bought bread and cheese at the family-run market down the street for lunch, and had yummy pastries from the Panaderia for breakfast. I would strongly advise against getting the AI plan, as there is much better food available everywhere, and finding it was half the fun!

Choose this hotel if you want an unbeatable central location in the quaint old town area and a warm, authentic feel. This is no glitsy resort; it's the perfect place for those who are planning to immerse themselves in another country's culture and who are visiting Mexico to EXPERIENCE it!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2005

My husband & I along with 3 friends stayed at Playa Los Arcos from Nov. 4-12, 2005 and it was a wonderful experience. This was our first time to stay at this hotel as we usually rent a condo but we wanted to try something different this year. As long as you keep in mind that you are not staying at a mega resort and are looking for real Mexico, then you will be greatly pleased with this property - it's in a great location & you can walk to everything you need or want.

Joaquin at the front desk is a pleasure to deal with and he bent over backwards to do whatever we requested. We arrived on Friday and had requested a refrigerator for our room - we were told we were on the waiting list and it might be Monday before we got one - we went to breakfast on Saturday morning and came back to find the refrigerator already in place - this greatly pleased my husband as he could have cold cervezas in the room!! All other staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful, the rooms were cleaned every day & we were left flowers.

We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food - there are just too many other great little places to eat so we went out for all meals or had stuff from the "muffin man" on the beach. The pool is great and the beach area is a perfect size - not too large but plenty of room. The pool/beach staff were great and took wonderful care of us - we never went thirsty and they had happy hour from 1-3 and 6-8 every day and the prices were very, very reasonable. We will definitely stay here again and very probably this next year. I will recommend this hotel to anybody - price & location are great!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Magnolia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#30 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing