We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Los Arcos Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Carroll IA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Playa Los Arcos Hotel”
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I have stayed at Playa Los Arcos in PV three times and have a trip booked for August 2009. Important to note that this is NOT one of the big, glitzy resorts that caters mainly to American tourists. If you are looking for the amenities of the Mayan Palace then I suggest you book a room there at three times the rate. I have never had any difficulties with rooms, or any services offered by Playa Los Arcos. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. This hotel is located right in the middle of the "old town" part of PV, close to great restaurants and nightlife. If you are planning a trip to PV, determine what you needs and wants are, research the options available to you (many websites available to do this) and book your rooms accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Washoe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    808
    369
    164
    124
See reviews for
843
858
135
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

This is the WORST stay I have ever had in PV. The rooms STUNK, the service was bad, not enough towels. I cut my toe and they wouldn't let a friend come to my room to help me. The pictures on line look so beautiful. It's all false advertising! I finally swiched to Torre Malibu which id much bigger and cleaner with a great balcony. I wouldn't recomend this to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pattydukeastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Photos of this hotel make it look bigger and prettier than it actually is. It is a dump, right in downtown and packed with people. The beach is also packed and loud. The rooms are very bare bones and they smell bad.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UStravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

This hotel was chosen and recommended by a travel agent. Playa Los Arcos is very noisy, old and not good value for money. The rooms are small, noisy and you'll experience sleepless nights due to the street noise (3 sides) of the building unless you're out partying (Andy's - Canadian-owned - across the street busy till about 2am). Beach is busy and dirty. If you "upgrade" to a suite at least you experience a little more peace as those units face inward (not enough towels and quite cramped - too tiny for 4 people although supposed to accommodate). Pool shaded most of the day. Hotel food, beer and liquor prices are high compared to the surrounding restaurants which are definitely superior, always specials and great hospitality elsewhere. Old town is not for us although because we were in sunny Mexico compared to frigid Canada, that's the spirit that kept us going.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We spent one week in January and during our stay checked with some other big name resorts north of town and decided to stay another week at Playa Los Arcos due to its location and alot of the good restaurants are all within walking distance. The price of the big names resorts was two to three times what we were paying and then you have a $11.00 cab fare for two people each way. They gave us our last night free which was nice. We stayed on the second floor on the south side so we had shade all day on our balcony. The rooms on the north side get sun from about 10 a.m. until 6"30 p.m. The same for the ocean front rooms except they have only a three foot balcony and full sun constantly.

Food was O.K. and we did not do the all-inclusive as there are too many good places to eat right around the hotel. The Fajita Republic, one block east from the hotel, was very good for dinner and inexpensive. For breakfast the best place that we found was 3-4 blocks east from the hotel called Freddies. Excellent! Another good place for lunch isa little sandwich/italian place just as the boardwalk starts. It is only two blocks north of the hotel. Pancake House not that good. Nostas for dinner was terrible.
We took the boat ride to Yelapa and saw a Gray whale with her baby. The boat came about 50 feet from them. Pretty cool! We also did the zip line canopy tour with Los Veranos and it was awesome. Be warned that there is alot of uphill hiking to get to the first seven platforms and then you go from platform to platform. We also took the tour to San Sebastion through Velarta Adventures and that was really good. Ask for Martin as your guide. There were only twelve people so we got to go in a van instead of a big charter bus which allowed to go a real hacienda.
The massages at the hotel were excellent. We would definately go back. FYI - the further south you go from the hotel the more gays there are.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnseattle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

The rooms were fine. The location and staff were excellent. There isn't a better location in PV. We had an oceanview room on the top floor. Although too small to sleep the 4 of us comfortably, it had an enormous balcony, and a rollaway went outside. It did have enough of an eave, that my son wouldn't get wet. The rooms on the lower floors are larger (but don't have the balcony!).

The staff was excellent. They knew us by name the moment we arrived. We did not opt for the MAP, but ate one breakfast at the hotel's buffet which was good.

Playa Los Arcos is located right on Playa Las Muertos beach, walking distance to the Malecon and Rio Cuale island. The town pier is there, as our a couple dozen fishing pelicans. Many fine restuarants are located within 6 blocks. We felt very safe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sportinggoodsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

The hotel is right on the beach in a great location in the old town but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. We booked a three-night stay and after having read some reviews on this site, I called two days before to make sure that our reservation was OK and that we were in the right hotel on the beach, and not one of the sister hotels. They assured me that everything was in order. Upon arrival they said they were full and could accommodate us at the sister hotel around the corner which is much lower class and no view -- our room didn't even have windows. The next day they were willing to upgrade our room for the remaining two nights but we were so put out that we found a different hotel (Hotel San Marino) a block down the beach and were much happier. The crowning blow for us was that for the first night they charged us the top price for the Playa and not the lower price for the sister hotel (Hotel Susana, I think). We had to put up a fight to get the difference refunded and it was an obvious sham. Just not what you should have to put up with on vacation trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurangoAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
768 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,873 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,678 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing