We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, Beachfront Hotel with Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Authentic, Beachfront Hotel with Superb Location”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Beachfront hotels are a dime a dozen in Puerto Vallarta; they vary in amenities and what each wants to focus on as well as price. Playa Los Arcos is not a perfect hotel; I am not sure one exists. However, when it comes to sheer value, PLA has to top the list, in my opinion. This was our 5th trip to Mexico in two years, but our first to the Pacific side. For the purpose of this review, I am NOT comparing sides of Mexico at all.

Playa Los Arcos is located on the south end of the Malecon. The whole area is very walkable and we never felt unsafe or even iffy during our whole week. It's location is right on one of the most popular and famous beaches in the area - Playa Muertos. Yes, there are beach vendors that will infringe upon your beach solitude and time. Yes, they are persistent. That is pretty much the same as all over the beaches in this area it seems. If you look at it as part of your Mexico experience, it's all good. If you absolutely hate this, I suggest you plan a couple of day trips to a nearby secluded beach and just avoid them. Beach chairs and umbrellas were plentiful and always placed wherever you wanted them. Yes, sometimes you had to wait a while for a drink, but not often and not long. And, if it was really an issue, just get up and go to one of the two bars at the resort. Not a huge deal and something we have also had at larger AI resorts double the cost. Pool chairs were more limited during our time, but we are not huge pool people so this was not an issue for us. The pool area is very large for a hotel of this size.

Check in was fast and efficient. We arrived at around 3 PM (their published check in time) and expected very busy. However, we must have been early by check-in standards because it was not busy and took only about 5 minutes before we were being shown to a room. Our assigned room was 439 and is the standard "Superior" room through Apple Vacations. The location of the room was perfect, top floor with a view of the pool and the ocean from a large balcony. Unfortunately, we did not receive the king bed we had requested but since it was only for one night since we contacted the hotel with a specific room request for the remainder of our trip. However, about two hours into our vacation, the air conditioning unit in room 439 began dripping all over the floor. Maintenance arrived promptly and set to work on resolving the problem. The fix was simple and took about 30 minutes. But, it did not last and an hour later we were moved to a new room.

The new room (319) was decidedly smaller with a less-desirable, but still acceptable, balcony and view. Several hours later, we realized the air conditioning in this room was not working properly either and had to be moved again. By this time it was late at night and the day staff had gone home. We we were moved to room 227 which was very tiny, had two small windows, no balcony and no view. But, the air conditioning did work. We were tired and it was only for one night. I cannot imagine spending a week in room 227.

The following day we arrived at the front desk at noon as instructed upon check in. We were shown to room 442, also on the top floor. I was shocked at the difference between this master suite and the room we spent the night prior. This room was spacious, with balconies on two sides of the two room suite. The bathroom was spacious and it has a kitchenette area. On the balcony, we had a table that seated four, two separate low chairs and cocktail table and a lounger. Lovely hibiscus covered our balcony railing. The view of the beach simply could not have been better. AND, it has a mini-split A/C unit in addition to the central air conditioning system all of our other rooms had. We were thrilled and felt it was more than worth the $40 per night upgrade fee.

All of our rooms were spotless. All had some minor areas where a paint refresh or snagged linens could be replaced. Unlike other hotels, tipping the maid did not result in the cute little towel animals on the bed.

The AI package included only buffet meals at the hotel restaurant. The food was repetitive, but, again, we have had this same thing at higher priced AI's too. The ceviche options were delicious (more choices at dinner than at lunch), the omelet station at breakfast was good, there was always fresh fruit and salad fixings. We really only ate two dinners at the hotel. The rest of the time we chose to experience the wonderful food options of Puerto Vallarta. The bar in the restaurant was okay. The pool bartender was much better. He was friendly and made several "special" drinks for us to try. His Michelada was the best I have ever had. It was nice to have both a light and dark beer option included in the AI package. It would have been nice to have a bar to get drinks at open later than 10 PM and a place to get snacks. The $100 per person we paid to have the AI option was well worth it in our opinion.

PLA is a family hotel. They make no bones about that. They do not try to bill themselves as a five star couples resort. If that is the vibe you seek, look elsewhere. If you want to hang out with North Americans and Europeans as the primary guests, pick something in the hotel zone or Nuevo Vallarta. If you want a clean room in an excellent location and to chat with Mexican families and get a taste of traditional Mexico, PLA fits the bill.

Because this was the second trip to Mexico within a 60 day period for us, we did not want to spend a lot of money on the trip. Our price, through Apple Vacations, was under $750 p/p. That price included air upgrades to preferred class both directions and the AI package at PLA. It did not include our room upgrade which was another $250 total. So, for under $900 p/p we had a beautiful ocean front, two room suite, upgraded check in and seating on the airplane, and all of our meals and drinks included if we opted to have them at the hotel. I am not sure there is a better value in all of Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: If they are available and your budget allows, get a Master Suite. They have ocean views and balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondewithabrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    779
    355
    158
    122
See reviews for
775
830
128
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

have stayed here for years close to everything. my 2 sons and i had dinner in the restraunt the first night, and my son had a seizure. i want to thank the entire staff and rogelio for going above and beyond to make a horrible situation tolerable. they even sent a doctor to make sure my son was fine, after that the vacation was great, i dont know how much they pay here but they all deserve a raise thanks staff your great

Room Tip: stayed in 144 biggest balcony here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellysnodCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorporativoLosArcos, General Manager at Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2014
Dear KellysnodCalifornia

Thank you very much for your kind words; we are so glad to read that you had a wonderful experience once again during your recent stay in our Hotel Playa Los Arcos. Thank you so much for your preference.

We will make sure to let everyone know that they really made a difference during your stay; thank you for mentioning it. It is our goal to make you feel at home when you are here. And we are so happy knowing that in this case we make it possible for you.

Thank you, for making us to be a part of your vacation experience. We look forward to have you once again as our guest for another wonderful vacation time here in your home away from home Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta. Be ready to be surprised for the bran new more Mexican look on our whole enterprise as we are already working on it.

Kind regards

Antonio Robles Rojas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My third trip to PV without hubby & as always, a lovely safe & secure feeling at PLA - 2 prior stays, also without hubby were in a side street room where you could see the water from the balcony that faced the side street - this trip i opted for an oceanfront room - wonderful!! spacious & airy feeling - i think it was on the top floor - the entire staff is so very nice there & always eager and happy to please - love their spa massages as well - the spa is much newer than the hotel itself & it is something that i appreciate when i am getting a massage - this is not a place for those who are looking for a high-tech modern hotel - this is a lovely, but somewhat basic Mexican hotel & for the price, i don't know think that its value can be beaten - will def stay there again for a solo trip -

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I got there and expected an amazing vacation by the pool and beach. Well that what it looked like until they had my reservation confused with another. The rooms are so small and AC sucks. Oh and be prepared to be woken up at 7am bc kids are playing in the pool that early and all the rooms surround the pool. Ok staff writes about you in the notebook. They reuse the shampoo bottles, Oh ya attention all gays: this is not a gay friendly hotel. Oh the things I liked about this hotel. They give you two waters a day for free hahaha. Never again will I stay here

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamming73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This is predominantly Mexican (we were the only white people I saw) which I don't mind. The facilities were nice and location is amazing.

We stayed here 2 days, @ Mismaloya for 2 days, and Casa Isabelle for 2 days - Casa Isabelle took the cake.

If you walk out to the beach immediately to your left are vendors with fresh oysters (bring your own beer and horseradish) and shrimp on a stick. Also the vendors sell things - great way to shop. We walked down to La Palapa for drinks (a little more expensive).

There are restaurants everywhere and cheap beach food so I would not do all inclusive.

Our room was a master suite and gorgeous - wrap around balcony and fully equipped. We ordered groceries in advance from Mikey's so we were good to go (get round coffee filters) and we made our own breakfast and coffee and are and had an amazing view on the balcony. I can't say enough on how amazing the room was .

Lots and lots of little kids in the regular pool and adults only pool. If you don't like that - consider using a sister hotel pool (I heard the rooftop pool is nice).

You can get a lot of basics next door at xoxo (Mexican 7-11). There is so much amazing food there - wow! The street tacos were so good and never had stomach issues & I ate it all.

Neat "Canadian" bar is Twisted Palm and it's close. Very very safe walking around. Walk to the Cuale Island and go across the hanging bridges.

Hardly anyone takes cc so get your Pesos. There is a large Canadian population and a big gay scene in PVR.

The hotel staff was wonderful and over and over I saw the elevator go to 4????

If you have any questions email me Ronda_Young@hotmail.com

If I go back with kids - I will def stay here. The hotel zone is out in BFE.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

When you walk into the lobby at Playa Los Arcos you are greeted with a 'Welcome Home'. For me this is true. I try to get to PV a few times a year, and with the exception of once, I have stayed with my Los Arcos family each and every time. The hotel is older, true. However, it has the charm that one would hope to find when staying in the Romantic Zone of Puerto Vallarta. The rooms are large and pristine.

The staff. Oh the staff. What an amazing group of individuals they are. If you need it, they have it. If they don't have it, they will get it. I consider so many of them my friends, and miss them in between visits.

You can't beat the location. PLA is located right on the beach, and if you play your cards right, you can fall asleep to the sounds of the crashing ocean, and wake up to birds singing and maybe an iguana or two on your patio. There are so many things to do and see right within walking distance. No need for a taxi...

Do I love Playa Los Arcos? Yeah, I do.

Room Tip: When you book your trip, contact the concierge Magda. Ask for an ocean front room. You will have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustytiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorporativoLosArcos, General Manager at Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2014
Dear rustytiky

We want to thank you for being our loyal client; we just couldn’t find any words to thank you for being a part of our family time to time. It is an honor for us to have been in your life, THANK YOU!!! Please recommend us with family and friends.

as you said in your comments, we couldn’t count with a better location, here right in down town Thank you for detail that; we are pretty sure that is going to be really beneficial for our customers to know about.

We will make sure each one of our employees know about your experience for this last visit you where home in Puerto Vallarta; they are going to be really pleased to hear from you. And also is going to be a big motivation for them to keep up with the service they provide to all of our customers.

We are looking forward to have you back soon, for another wonderful and relaxing time here, at your home away from home, Playa Los Arcos. You will find it even better with the new looking of the rooms since we are doing a full maintenance re-do on them!!!

Kind regards

Antonio Robles Rojas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very clean and quiet nice location firm mattresses friendly staff. May was a little too hot . I think March or April would be a better time.Location is within walking distance to bars and restaurants and the Malecon or boardwalk and riverwalk and is on the beach. They will probably try to put you in a room facing into the courtyard so make sure that you get a room with a view.The food is good and fresh but fequently overcooked and gets tiresome when you eat it 3 times a day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#27 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing